Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Trendy Mom Reviews receives complementry products in exchange for writing reviews. Our opinions are honest and our own.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Win it!: What school mishap would you like to erase and re-write? #PilotPen

As your children head Back-to-School, we thought that it would be fun to talk about trendy pens that they can use on a day-to-day basis and also mishaps that you would like to erase and re-write.  Let me share some trendy pens for the new school year that your children will love.  Then we'll share some school mishaps and a giveaway where one lucky winner will receive a trendy Pilot prize pack. 

These are some of the must-have trendy pens for the school year:

FriXion® writes smooth and erases clean, with no damage to the paper and no messy eraser crumbs. It’s a completely new kind of erasable pen with revolutionary thermo sensitive gel ink that makes erasing mistakes stress free. When the erasing tip is rubbed across writing, it creates a little bit of heat, and that heat makes the words disappear from the page. FriXion empowers students to write in pen and have it look like they did it right the first time! Now, any student, parent or master organizer can write, erase and re-write repeatedly to make every written ‘oops’ disappear. FriXion Light’s brilliant florescent ink highlights bright and erases clean. Key products in line include: FriXion® Ball, FriXion® Point, FriXion® Clicker, and FriXion® Light Highlighters. 
 

G2® is America’s Go-2 gel ink pen. Known for its smooth writing and comfortable grip, G2 is the #1 selling gel ink pen in America. The G2 product line includes four point sizes and fourteen color options ranging from black to pink to orange to teal. It is the only gel pen that offers this level of customization – because, after all pens aren’t one size fits all. G2 Fashion, the striking addition to the G2 line, is available with brilliant floral designs in a range of black and color ink. Now your smoothwriting Go-2 pen can be stylishly dressed, just like you. Key products in the G2 line include: G2®, G2® Mechanical Pencil, G2® Fashion and G2® Limited.

 

Bottle-2-Pen (B2P®) is the world’s first line of pens made from recycled bottles. With a barrel that resembles a plastic bottle and smooth-writing ink, B2P helps you write the next chapter for a cleaner planet. Approximately 2.5 million plastic bottles enter landfills every hour in the United States, and comprise close to 50% of all recyclable waste. Pilot manufactures B2P gel ink pens and B2P ballpoint pens which are made from 89% and 83% post-consumer recycled plastic bottles respectively. Pilot’s B2P pens write smoothly, have vibrant inks and are 100% refillable. Key products in the B2P® Line include: B2P® Gel, B2P® Ballpoint and B2P® Colors


School Mishaps
While some of the pens above make it easy to erase and re-write solutions, there are always going to be mishaps that a pen cannot magically erase and rewrite.  Let me share a couple of personal mishaps:
September 2014: One school mishap that I would love to erase would be the time that my son took a marker from the art table at school and drew a Batman Mask on his face. His teacher caught it a few minutes too late.  It took days of scrubbing before he had a clean face.
March 2014: Another school mishap was completely my fault.  I forgot my son's lunch at home. My husband called me to let me know that the lunch was left on the counter. I didn't have time to run home, so I ran to pick up pizza on my lunch break for him.  He was thrilled when I showed up at lunchtime with pizza. Unfortunately, other children in his preschool class started crying that they wanted pizza for lunch. I wish that I could erase that moment of causing other children to cry because they didn't have pizza in their lunch.  Nothing is worse than seeing sad children. I learned my lesson to be low-key when bringing lunch.
Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a fantastic Pilot prize pack that includes:
  • (1) FriXion Clicker pack
  • (1) G2 Fashion 5 pack
  • (1) B2P Ballpoint 5 pack 
  • (1) Varsity fountain pen 7 pack
  • (1) $20 Walmart gift card
Enter by September 29, 2014 for a chance to win by posting a comment with a school mishap that you wish that you could erase and re-write! Also share a way to contact you (i.e., either email, FB URL, or Twitter ID).

The winner will be selected using random.org.  The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to our email with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner.  Good luck!

This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.

Win it!: Trendy Mega Bloks First Builders Fast Track Raceway Set


We are excited to share this giveaway for a trendy Mega Bloks First Builders Fast Tracks Raceway Set because it is one of my son's favorite toys.  My son spends hours building and rebuilding the set and racing his little cars.  It's a fantastic toy that is meant for ages 1 to 5. I think that this is one of those must-have toys because they hold children's attention for extended times. The set offers children the ability to be creative and then the opportunity to be competitive as they race their little cars.  We also like that it is compatible with all Mega Bloks First Builders sets. My son has three bags of Mega Bloks, so he is able to get very creative by combining them with this set.
 
Here is the product description:
"Drivers, start your engines! Gear up and get ready for some high-speed adventures with the Fast Tracks Racing Team by Mega Bloks First Builders. Your little race car driver can build with the tracks and blocks and mix and match the race cars for endless play. Use the colorful stickers to create even more imaginary fun. Watch as they screech and vroom through the raceways, and the fans in the stands cheer them on! Who will be in the lead, as the checkered flag is waved?

Ideal for ages 1 to 5.


Features:

• Two mix-and-match buildable cars for lots of raceway fun!

• 50 pieces, including new easy-to-build tracks and three building plates

• Fun sticker sheet to customize your little racer’s blocks and cars!

• Compatible with all Mega Bloks First Builders sets for endless building possibilities and family fun"
 Do you have a little one that would have fun with this trendy set?

Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a trendy Fast Tracks Racing Team by Mega Bloks First Builders set. Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to our message with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Find out more

Visit the Mega Bloks First Builders™ Official Site

Visit the Fast Tracks Raceway Product Page

Follow Mega Bloks on Twitter and Facebook

Trendy Ellie Workout Clothing Makes me Stand Out at the Gym! #Exercise #Fashion

While I go to the gym on a regular basis, I can't say that I have perfected my shape quite yet.  However, I still feel confident and beautiful as my trendy workout clothing from Ellie helps to sculpt my body, enhance my booty, and flatten my belly.  I am completely in love with my trendy outfit that works wonders to make me look good at the gym.

The trendy outfit that I am wearing includes the Conquer the Dawn Tank and the Solstice Capri. Let me share the product descriptions and then a discount code for you to save 20% off your first Ellie order!

Here are the product descriptions:

Conquer the Dawn Tank


  • A bold criss-cross back and sleek, smooth design gives you the power you need to push your limits. Work out with confidence at dawn or dusk with moisture-wicking fabric, a comfortable interior shelf bra, UV50 protection and moisture wicking.
  • Fabric Content:
    • Body: 88% Nylon, 12% Spandex
    • Body: 72% Nylon, 28% Spandex
    • Lining: 85% Polyester, 15% Spandex

Solstice Capri


  • Let loose without sacrificing power or style. Foldover waistband gives extra support, flexibility and movement highlighting with piping detail at the side. Flaunt this flattering mid-calf cut with ease on the hottest summer days.
  • Fabric Content:
    • Body: 46% Nylon / 42% Micropolyester / 12% Spandex
    • Body: 88% Nylon / 12% Spandex
In my personal experience, I love the trendy look of these two pieces. Even better, I love the good quality fabrics that help to sculpt my body and make me look good.  They are also very comfortable, especially while working out. This is my favorite outfit for the gym because I feel more confident with this outfit.

Do you wear nice outfits to the gym?

Learn More
Visit Ellie.com.
Save 20% off your first purchase! User code TrendyMom20.

We appreciate the complementary products that we received and the affiliate opportunity for orders placed with the discount code above. All opinions are honest and our own.

Win it!: Trendy Reflexology Inspired Leg Wear for Fall 2014

Trendy Reflexology Inspired Leg Wear for Fall 2014
We love the reflexology inspired leg wear from Kushyfoot. No one makes fashion more comfortable than Kushyfoot.  You have probably heard of this brand because their products are available at 10,000+ stores. They are known for their trendy styles and reasonable prices. We have been featuring the seasonal Kushyfoot releases for years now because this is one of our favorite brands that knows how to combine style and comfort. The unique reflexology approach to their stylish leg wear makes it more comfortable to walk around throughout the day. The trendy padding that cushions each foot feels good as you walk. Let me share the details of the trendy fall releases and then the opportunity for one lucky reader to receive a trendy prize pack!


Here are the product details that you must know:
  • The Opaque (12200),  Rib (12201), Chevron motif (12202) and Diamond pattern (12203) comprise Kushyfoot's impressive grouping. There is a color and style in our range for every outfit and every woman,” says Brown.   
  • Brown also points out, "Our quality is made to last and even our Fishnet tight (12204) is solution-based, eliminating the “Curse of the Fishnet” by incorporating the incomparable comfort of Kushyfoot’s reflexology-inspired sole in place of the old open-mesh foot. In black, it adds a chic edge to every outfit."  A Fishnet trouser sock (3498) is also available in a 2 pair pack that includes a classic trouser sock for a retail of $7.99. This combo pack is great to have on hand to wear with pants. A little fishnet peaking enables a conservative customer to be a little daring.   
  • Rib (3499) trouser styles are also sold in a 2 pack combined with a classic trouser sock that provides the variety that women enjoy  for accessorizing. Newly designed combo packs for an updated rib and chevron pattern are 3673 and 3672 respectively, priced as the others. 
  • Shaping tights (12205) have the added benefit  of figure and leg enhancement. There are women that choose to wear this option on a regular basis so that they always project a streamlined figure and self-confidence. Other wearers may choose the product for special occasion, but either way, this new tight is a wardrobe essential, retailing for $9.99 and available in equally as indispensable, black. Worth noting is that this particular Kushyfoot product  has been certified as LYCRA® beauty fabrics, a certification program for shaping products that assures their comfort and performance features.  Fleece lined tights (12206) and Fleece lined trouser socks (3649) add the soft, rich comfort for which fleece is known without the bulk, retailing for $8.99 and $5.99 respectively. Each is super supple and certain to produce a relaxed and contented feeling for the wearer from the moment they step into these leg wear gems.  The fleece styles are particularly popular when temperatures dip.
  • The Flats to Go®  grouping is truly a signature Kushyfoot category.  Savvy women carry around this product in its mini-purse pack everywhere they go! Lightweight and ultra-portable, it’s the perfect solution to achy feet. Ideally used indoors and on smooth surfaces, women are even stashing an extra pair in their cars, suitcases (perfect for airport security and avoiding bare feet in yucky places!) and desk drawers at the office.  Ballet flats continue in a range of stylish and classic colors, textures and patterns (patent, metallic, snake skin print, alligator embossed and fleecy leopard--the softest, trendiest of all). Sandal and open toe versions sell year-round for resort getaways and warm weathered regional demand. They’re even perfect for getting a pedicure!  All styles have the same super-comfortable 3-dimensional massaging sole for relief from high heels and are sized 5/6, 7/8 and 9/10 at a suggested retail of $9.99.

I've been wearing Kushyfoot leg wear for years now.  They are the only brand that I use now for tights, foot covers, and trouser socks because they are so comfortable.  It's hard to go back to other brands after getting used to the reflexology inspired designs.  We love that Kushyfoot releases trendy new styles each season to provide the latest fashions, but also stays committed to comfort and reasonable pricing.

Could you use more comfort in your leg wear this season?


Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a package with trendy Kushyfoot products! The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. Enter using the Rafflecopter below.  The winner will have 48 hours to provide their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
We appreciate the complementary products that we received. All opinions are honest and our own.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

5 ways to Drink Scotch Whiskey #DrinkRecipes


Disclosure: Do not drink alcohol if you are under 21 years of age, pregnant or trying to conceive, on medications that interfere with alcohol, or involved in any responsibilities where alcohol will interfere with your abilities. Don't drink and drive.

Drinking fine scotch is a timeless trend.  Let me share my five favorite ways to enjoy scotch, using one of my favorite scotches, The Macallan Fine Oak 10 Year Single Malt.  This Macallan Fine Oak Whiskey is aged in three casks (European oak seasoned with sherry, American oak seasoned with sherry, and American seasoned with bourbon) to give it a unique, pleasing, and smooth flavor.  Here are five ways to enjoy Scotch Whisky.

1. Whiskey + Water:

Adding a small amount of water, from a few drops to a splash will enhance the aroma and open the flavor.  In my recent trip to Scotland, this was one of the only acceptable ways to enjoy your whiskey.


2. Whiskey Straight Up

For the purist, nothing should change.  It was perfect when it went in the bottle.  One modification that some enjoy is to add chilled whiskey stones which won't melt like ice.  However, there is those that like it really cold, and for that is the next option.


3. Scotch on the Rocks

While enough ice will melt and dilute the scotch, its a great way to enjoy your drink even longer and keep it cold.  Plus, its much more fun to order a drink that is "on the rocks".


4. Scotch and Soda

Adding seltzer or club soda to scotch adds a sweetness to your drink without changing the flavor much.  This is the first way that I tried scotch and is great for those that haven't had scotch before.


5. Scotch and Ginger ale

If you like something even sweeter, try adding ginger ale.  The ginger complements the scotch flavor well and also adds carbonation.  However, I don't recommend it with a good single malt like The Macallan Fine Oak 10 that is already great on its own.  Save it for another brand that needs a little masking.


Do you have any other ways that you enjoy your drinks?

Disclosure: Do not drink alcohol if you are under 21 years of age, pregnant or trying to conceive, on medications that interfere with alcohol, or involved in any responsibilities where alcohol will interfere with your abilities. Don't drink and drive.

Holiday Prep Made Easy with Appliances from Best Buy #holidayprep

The change in weather has us excited as we look forward to the upcoming holidays.  We are looking forward to a Friendsgiving Celebration for Thanksgiving.  We have many friends in the area without family, so we invite everyone to our house for a fun day filled with delicious food.  We spend most of the day sharing the kitchen and cooking before enjoying our festive meal and playing games. 

If you are like us and spend time in the kitchen over the holidays, you'll be impressed with the latest appliance technology that is available at Best Buy. For instance, the trendy Frigidaire FGFI3061NF includes induction cooking that enables you to boil water in less than two minutes! Plus, induction reduces clean up time because spills don't burn on. This trendy Frigidaire range also includes a convection oven that circulates the air in the oven for quicker baking time. Personally, this would be perfect for our family as we frequently prepare pasta and steam veggies on our stove top. The ability to boil water in just two minutes would help me to prepare dinner much quicker on a day-to-day basis. In addition, it would be fantastic for our Friendsgiving Celebration as we boil Russet potatoes for mashed potatoes, Sweet potatoes for a casserole, corn on the cob, and other veggies.
 
Another trendy innovation that we are excited about is the Whirlpool WGG555S0BS. This trendy appliance fits within the space of a standard range, but offers double ovens so that you are able to cook two dishes at different temperatures. Personally, this would be perfect for our house because we often bake chicken or other meats at 375-degrees, but then bake potatoes, fries, and crispier items at 425-degrees. It would also be great for our Friendsgiving Celebration so that we are able to leave the turkey in one oven and cook other items in the second oven.
 
The advances in appliance technology this year are impressive.  We love that these new technologies make it possible to prepare perfect meals and save time.  After all, who couldn't use the extra time to spend time with family and friends?!

Do you prepare several dishes for holiday celebrations?

Learn More 
Visit Best Buy for the latest hi-tech appliances

The reviewer has been compensated in the form of a Best Buy Gift Card and/or received the product/service at a reduced price or for free.

Recipe: Strawberry Ghosts #Halloween

Recipe: Strawberry Ghosts 
This recipe is a recreation of the Strawberry Ghosts Recipe from Driscoll's Berries.  These spooky treats are a great alternative to candy.  We made them for my son's preschool class. It was fun to see the children rave about how good they were!

Ingredients:
  • 1 package (16 ounces) Driscoll's Strawberries
  • 10 ounces white chocolate chips
  • Candy eyes
  • Fine-tipped black icing tube
  • Decorative twigs from a craft store
  • Broom fibers or wheat bundles from a craft store
  • Black twine
  • Optional: 1 cup of crushed chocolate sandwich cookie for the serving plate or bowl
Directions:
1. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. Rinse the strawberries and dry them well with a soft cloth or paper towel.


3. Melt chocolate by placing in a double boiler over simmering water. Be careful to keep water from getting into the pan or chocolate may seize. Alternatively, place chocolate in a glass bowl and microwave for 20 seconds and stir with a fork. Repeat microwaving and stiring until chocolate is not-quite melted. Shorten microwave time to 5 seconds and stir. Repeat if necessary until completely melted.

4. Hold berries by stem or leaves and dip into melted chocolate. Swirl until coated. Leave about ¼ inch of red showing below leaves. Gently shake off excess chocolate. Place berry on prepared baking sheet to set. Repeat with remaining berries.



5. Meanwhile, create decorative broomsticks by cutting twigs into 2 ½ inch lengths and fibers into 3 inch lengths. Gather broom fibers into a small, rough bundle. Loop twine around the bundle, but keep it loose. Slip twig into center of bundle. Adjust the twig and fibers to look like a brookstick. Tighten twine and tie a small knot.

6. Once chocolate is set, press broomstick handles down into strawberries through top center of leaves. Pipe a small amount of frosting to the back of candy eyes and attach to berries. Finally, use frosting to add a smile, a spooky mouth, fangs, or other fun ideas you have.


We appreciate the complementary products and recipe that we received. All opinions are honest and our own.

Monday, September 15, 2014

The Trendy Salata Restaurant in Flower Mound, TX #DFW #Restaurants

 

The Salata in Flower Mound is my new favorite restaurant because they make it incredibly easy to build colorful salads that are packed with a variety of nutrients. They have the most extensive salad bar that I am aware of in the Dallas/Fort Worth metro. Here are a few photos of the different items that you can add to your salads.

You first select your lettuce. I love that they have a few options. I chose the Salata Mix and Kale.


They offer a plethora of veggies. I love that everything is chopped into little bite sized pieces.  Could you imagine how long it would take you to create something like this at home?! I love that you can try a little bit of everything.


The next area includes cheeses, fruits, nuts, and dressings.  Again, you can choose as many options as you like. I added mandarin oranges, pineapple, apples, and grapes so that I could pack extra fruit into my diet.

 

They have a nice selection of lean protein.  Personally, my favorite is the Pesto Chicken. It adds a nice flavor to salads and I order it every time that we visit.


The soups at Salata are also delicious.  Many of you may appreciate that they offer gluten-free options.  They even have gluten-free bread to tip in the soups.


Finally, the last station offers avocado, sesame sticks, croutons, and more.  If you are on a gluten-free diet, you'll appreciate that these are all gluten-free and taste really good.

 

Once you build your salad, you'll be happy to know that rather than soda fountains, Salata offers trendy teas and lemonade.  Personally, I love the Peach Lemonade. However, my son will tell you that the Raspberry Lemonade is best.  They add fresh fruit which really makes them stand out.


The salad combinations at Salata are endless.  It's so easy to customize your salad. Personally, I aim for colorful salads that are packed with a variety of nutrients.  Salata makes it so easy to eat healthy.


Learn More
Now that I have shared my visit to the trendy Salata in Flower Mound, let me share some awesome specials and coupons!

Salata is bringing back its popular “Eat Light at Night” program where members of its mobile club receive special week-long discounts to their phone that can be redeemed after 4 p.m. 

From Sept. 8 to Oct. 20, club members will receive a variety of discounts including complimentary protein upgrades,add-ons and more. Guests that sign up for the club will automatically receive a buy one, get one (BOGO) coupon for a free salad and salad wrap offer in addition to the “Eat Light at Night” offers. To sign up for Salata’s mobile club, just simply text “Salata” to 777111.
  
Would Salata make it easier for you to eat healthier? 

 
We appreciate the complementary meals that we received. All opinions are honest and our own.

Upcoming Movie Release: The Best of Me (Release date: October 17, 2014)

If you are looking for a trendy date night movie in a few weeks, let me share info and a trailer for "The Best of Me" that comes to theaters on October 17, 2014.

Here is the quick summary:
"Based on the bestselling novel by acclaimed author Nicholas Sparks, The Best of Me tells the story of Dawson and Amanda, two former high school sweethearts who find themselves reunited after 20 years apart, when they return to their small town for the funeral of a beloved friend. Their bittersweet reunion reignites the love they've never forgotten, but soon they discover the forces that drove them apart twenty years ago live on, posing even more serious threats today. Spanning decades, this epic love story captures the enduring power of our first true love, and the wrenching choices we face when confronted with elusive second chances."
This movie features a trendy cast that includes: James Marsden, Michelle Monaghan, Luke Bracey and Liana Liberato.
Here is the trailer:
Join the Fun: #FirstLoveFridayEvery Friday, join The Best of Me in sharing your first love stories using the hashtag #FirstLoveFriday! Follow @BestofMeMovie on Twitter and let’s get #FirstLoveFriday trending!
I'm looking forward to seeing this with my husband on our next date night!

Do you have upcoming date night plans?

Learn More
Follow #TheBestofMe
Like The Best of Me on Facebook
Follow / Subscribe Instagram | Tumblr | Twitter | Pinterest | YouTube



(Win!) Load up on HP Toner at Staples and #SaveX3!

Our HP laser jet printer is such a lifesaver. We use it to scan, copy, and print documents. My husband handles our printing setup since he likes to optimize deals for our home office. He put a lot of thought into buying our HP laser jet printer and one of the advantages of the model that we purchased is that you can buy the toner cartridges at Staples where the cost to print (per sheet) is really low.  Plus, we are part of their rewards program which stretches our money even further. We receive credit for our purchases and even for recycling the cartridges later. We also pay with a credit card that provides points for another set of rewards. We've been purchasing our HP laser jet toners at Staples for the past five years.

I recently had an experience where I realized that not only is our HP laster jet printer convenient for day-to-day things, but also for saving money on my son's educational resources. My son is at the age where he needs lots of practice as he learns to read and write.  On one of my errands, I picked up several workbooks that had exercises for my son to practice writing upper-case and lower-case letters.  My husband saw the receipt and asked if we needed to purchase so many workbooks or if we could just print exercises from the Internet.   I had to laugh because it hadn't occurred to me.  My husband is such an engineer because he computed the cost per page of the workbooks and then the cost per page using our HP laser jet printer and toner. It turns out that printing exercises was less than 1/5 of the price of the workbooks that I purchased on sale. This adds up quickly since our son is only four years old and has thousands of sheets of "practice writing" to go through as he masters his ability to write.

While my husband is the tech genius in our house, I was able to wow him as I recently found an awesome deal that makes our printer an even better deal!  Now through 9/27, savvy Staples shoppers can triple dip on savings when they purchase HP toner! 

Here’s How It Works #SaveX3
1. Promotional Offer : Staples is offering a BONUS $15 iTunes gift card with a $75 purchase in HP ink
2. Earn Staples Rewards: Staples offers a loyalty program where customers c an earn up to 5% in rewards to use at Staples stores a nd online.
3. Earn Credit Card Rewards: By using your favorite rewards credit card to purchase gift cards, you can earn points, miles or a percentage back on your purchase. Some credit cards even offer increased re wards for purchases office supply stores! 
Let's see how the rewards add up! 
1. $15 iTunes card – When you purchase $75 in HP toner.
2. $3.75 in Staples Rewards – If you are a Premier Staples Rewards members earning 5% back on purchases. ($75 x 5% = $3.75).
3. Up to 4x credit card reward points - If your credit card offers increased rewards for office supply purchases.
Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a $50 Amazon gift card.  The winner will be contacted by Dana Vento. Enter using the Rafflecopter below.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
The sponsor will provide the prize directly to the winner. Trendy Mom Reviews is not responsible for prize fulfillment. 

ShareThis