Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links.

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

5 Tips for Purchasing a Crib and Our Personal Experience with the Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib


In today's post, I will share 5 tips to consider when purchasing a crib and then our personal experience with the crib that we use - the trendy Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib.

5 Tips for Purchasing a Crib and Our Personal Experience with the Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib

1. Style and Versatility: We take a ton of baby photos, so it's important for us to have beautiful nursery furniture in our photos as our home is part of our memories. In addition, you should decide whether you want a crib that you will use for 1.5 to 3.5 years or if you want a convertible crib that grows with your child. I read that the average baby uses a crib for just two years.  If you opt for a convertible crib that converts to a toddler bed, you may gain a couple of extra years out of the furniture. Further, if you purchase a 4-in-1 bed that offers 4 types of conversions, you will be able to make the furniture last until your child moves away from college. Personally, we have the Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib that converts from crib to toddler bed to day bed to full-size bed frame!  I'll talk more about this shortly, but the versatility of the furniture that you purchase should be part of your decision process.

2. Assembly: My husband and I are both engineers, so we feel confident assembling furniture and are relatively quick at following building instructions. On the other hand, I won't say that we enjoy spending hours tediously building furniture. I also know many friends that simply give up and hire someone to assemble their furniture because they become frustrated by overly complicated directions. They also lose confidence as to whether they are creating safe furniture when they stumble through pages and pages of instructions.  Most cribs have their assembly instructions online if you search the web for them.  Avoid cribs that involve overly complicated and lengthy instructions unless you are certain that you will complete the steps perfectly or have a budget to hire a professional.  I'll talk about how we went with the Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib shortly.  This crib was easy for us to assemble and I liked that there weren't too many pieces. I appreciated that because I am a worrier that has to double-check and triple-check every step!  Here is a link to the instructions so that you are able to see how easy it was to assemble. I'll also talk about my personal experience (with photos) shortly.

3. Brand and product reputation: You will want to check whether the crib that you choose to purchase has ever been recalled.  Many brands will offer free conversion kits if a crib is recalled, but personally, I searched the web to make sure that the crib that we use did not have an recall notices before using it.  Even then, I still periodically check the web for recalls on all of our important purchases. You'll want to check brand websites, but I also use SafeKids.org and the CPSC.gov website.

4. Adjustable mattress height: Pay close attention to make sure that the crib that you purchase allows you to adjust the mattress height and follow the recommendations for your child's respective age/size.  Be especially careful as your baby grows because some become quite the climbers and you do not want them to climb and fall out.

5. Skip the bumpers and decorations for your crib: You may have used bumpers for your other children, but the government now recommends against them due to the risk of SIDS. You should also skip decorations that could be hazards. Purchase a stylish and good quality crib that meets federal guidelines. Simple is the style to go for with nurseries!

Our Personal Experience with the Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib

Let me start by saying that this crib made me do a happy dance!  I instantly fell in love with our Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib. This trendy crib makes me so happy because it is gorgeous.  I love that we are able to use it as a crib, toddler bed, day bed, and full-size bed frame.  The designers of this bed have a great sense of style and seem to be perfectionists that paid close attention to detail. Seriously, it is made from high quality wood (real wood - not fiberboard or pretend wood-like materials) and has an elegant and classic look that is perfect for our home.  

Let's start with a video from Mira Studios that highlights the features of the Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib. This video is great because it shows you the four different ways to convert this bed, including a crib, toddler bed, day bed, and full size headboard.



We started by assembling the crib. The photo below shows the pieces. We followed the instructions  that came with the box. We were able to assemble them with an Allen wrench that came in the box.  We didn't need fancy tools. It was super easy.



Here is a photo of the trendy crib.  I love that it was so easy to assemble this centerpiece crib. The trendy look is perfect, especially since our family takes so many photos in the nursery. Our home and nursery furniture are part of our memories and it's nice to have a gorgeous crib to look back on in photos!  You will also notice that we keep things simple. There are no bumpers, pillows, stuffed animals, or decorations due to safety reasons.  The trend in modern day nurseries is to purchase high quality furniture and minimal decorations for a simple and elegant look that is strongly driven by safety concerns.


Here is a photo of the crib converted to a toddler bed. My husband converted it quickly and commented again how it is nice that he didn't need fancy tools.


Here is a photo of the toddler bed converted to a day bed.  This gives the room a nice look.



Finally, we look forward to the day that we use the full size bed frame!  Again, it was easy for us to convert this to a full size bed frame. We haven't purchased a full size mattress for it, but we couldn't resist trying all four conversions for this bed. 



We absolutely love the trendy Kolcraft Continental Convertible Crib.  The combination of price, quality, and versatility is fantastic. It's really nice to shop once for bedroom furniture that will work for our child from birth until college thanks to the 4-in-1 design. It's a great deal for trendy moms that want high quality furniture that a child won't outgrow in just a few years.

Do you have tips for purchasing a crib?

Learn More
Visit Kolcraft and Mira Studios to learn more. 

This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own. 
Read more »

5 Tips for Moms With Rosacea

Pregnancy is amazing, but also a bit cruel. I would go through it all over again because I love my son, but I will not say that it was easy. I had bad morning sickness, bladder problems, and Rosacea.  I wanted to puke on people when I heard them say that pregnancy was fun or that they only gained 15 pounds.  I literally could have aimed and puked on them because my morning sickness lasted all day long and was that bad and I had become a pro at vomiting. While the vomiting stands out in my memory, the Rosacea was also bad. I had hoped that it would subside after my son was born, but 5 years later, I still have Rosacea flare-ups.  I did not treat my Rosacea during pregnancy, but I have been trying to treat it off-and-on for the past few years. My Rosacea is triggered by stress and I have my ups and downs. Let me share some tips that have helped me.

1. Identify and avoid triggers.
Triggers vary from person to person. Stress is my biggest trigger, so I have to work really hard to minimize my stress. I know others who have triggers of alcohol, spicy foods, sun, and even cold weather.  It's important to identify your trigger(s) and to develop a plan.

2. Stay hydrated, eat a healthy diet, and lead a healthy lifestyle.
It's important to lead an overall healthy lifestyle for the sake of your skin.  Be sure to stay hydrated, eat a healthy diet, and lead a healthy lifestyle so that this shows as much as possible in your skin. I notice that my skin looks worse when I am dehydrated.

3. Keep your skin moisturized and protect yourself from the sun.
Use a good moisturizer. Personally, I prefer a light weight and non-greasy moisturizer like TriDerma Sunscreen Moisturizer SPF 25.  It's available for <$10 at Target or Amazon.  This tip is extremely important where we live since Dallas gets quite hot and the sun is often strong.



4. Use fragrance-free products.
Fragrance is a common irritant.  Try to look for fragrance-free products to incorporate into your beauty routine if fragrance bothers you. 

5. Use lotions and potions that reduce redness.
Remember that you are not the only person that suffers from Rosacea!  There are entire teams at many different companies that work on lotions and potions to help Rosacea sufferers like us.  Talk to your dermatologist and they will probably have recommendations.  Personally, my health insurance and prescription plan are not the best, so I try to use over-the-counter products when possible.  My Rosacea is not super bad, but it definitely is at a level that bothers me.  Two products that I am using include the Tri Derma MD Facial Redness Cleanser and the Facial Redness RepairTM Fast Healing for Sensitive Skin by TriDerma.  The Factial Redness Cleanser feels calming on my skin as it cleans without irritation. I like the soothing feel.  I then use the Facial Redness RepairRM Fast Healing for Sensitive Skin that contains professional strength anti-inflammatory ingredients, vitamins, and select botanicals that are supposed to help to quickly calm, balance, and stabilize the skin.  It's meant for people who have skin that is prone to redness, sensitivity, and Rosacea.  I feel more confidence thanks to these products that help with my uneven skin tone and redness.

 

Do you have tips for moms that suffer from Rosacea?

Learn More
Visit the TriDerma website to learn more about the products in this post.

Special Deal through 9/30/15: The products mentioned in this post are available at Target. I found this awesome deal if you purchase before the end of the month (9/30).  Buy your TriDerma Facial Redness Repair in-store at Target and get a FREE $5 Target gift card with purchase. How to Enter: Purchase TriDerma’s Facial Redness Repair and/or Psoriasis Control™ product(s) from a participating Target retailer until September 30, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. Mail a copy of your receipt and a return address to TriDerma at: Genuine Virgin Aloe Corp., 341 N. Delilah St., Suite 101 Corona, California 92879. In return, TriDerma will mail you a $5 Target gift card to use in-store. Gift cards available while supplies last. Please allow 4-6 weeks of processing to receive gift card. 

Amazon: The products are also available on Amazon. The following are Amazon Affiliate links for the Redness Reducing products featured in this post.


This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own. We have no medical training. Be sure to consult your doctor about our tips before following them
Read more »

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

5 Tips for Buying Children's Headphones


5 Tips for Buying Children's Headphones
My son is off to kindergarten and is experiencing more independence. One thing that it new to us is that he is allowed to use a computer  with headphones at school.  This initially made me a bit nervous because he is under supervision by his doctor for fluid in his ears.  We are giving him allergy medicine for another month before the doctor decides whether he needs tubes in his ears.  In the meantime, I really didn't like the idea of him using headphones in case he would turn the volume up too loud since he has been trouble with his hearing. Fortunately, I found trendy headphones that limit how loud he is able to turn the volume. In today's post, I'll share 5 tips for buying children's headphones and tell you about the trendy Animalz by RedTrak headphones that we now use.


1. Use volume limiting headphones.
Look for headphones that limit the volume. For instance, the Animalz headphones that we use only allow a maximum volume of 85 DB.


2. Look for a retractable cable.
My son is 5 years old and has been known to act like a messy 5 year old!  Headphones with a retractable cable make it easier for us to keep him organized. Plus, he stores his headphones at school in a bag with his name, so the retractable cable makes it easier for him to fit his headphones into the bag.


3. Find a good fit.
Every child is different, but my son doesn't like ear buds.  We use the Animalz retractable headphones because the soft and fuzzy earpads and headband are comfortable. 


4. Look for child-friendly designs.
We had to go with Animalz when we saw their trendy animals!  They have adorable characters on the ears such as pandas, puppies, bunnies, and more.  These make it fun to wear headphones!


5. Think about head lice.
I know that it is gross and no one wants to think about head lice, but seriously, buy headphones for your child instead of having them use community headphones.  Many schools allow you to send headphones to store in a ziploc bag for your child for sanitary reasons.  If your child's school doesn't offer, then ask for the opportunity to provide your own.  Head lice has no boundaries. Even if your child is at the most exclusive school, it's still possible, so encourage your child to use their own headphones rather than ones that are shared among classmates.


Which Animalz character is your favorite?


Learn More
Visit RedTrek website to order Animalz headphones.

The following are Amazon Affiliate links.

 
This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.
Read more »

5 Tips for How to Save When Your Child Has Growth Spurts





Nothing is better than a healthy child who is growing big and strong. However, I know that this is a struggle for some parents that have to continuously purchase new clothing after growth spurts.  I think that we have all been burned by purchasing an awesome outfit or pair of shoes to later find that our child had a growth spurt a week later. In today's post, I'll share some tips for how to save when your child has growth spurts.


1. Look for bonus packs and purchase larger sizes ahead of time.
Growth spurts are not respectful of your schedule. They may happen any time.  Stock up on larger sizes of basics such as underwear and t-shirts so that you have them on hand. Trendy Bonus Packs from Fruit of the Loom offer inexpensive basics such as t-shirts and underwear. These bonus packs offer a great way to save.  This is the time of year to run out and stock up on these basics because you will find seasonal bonus packs that offer extra items-per-pack. Plus they offer fun patterns.

The photo above shows several bonus packs and casual wear options that cost less than $15 per pack and are available at Walmart, Walmart.com, Target and Target.com. The packs are available for children and teens throughout the back-to-school season while supplies last.  We keep extra packs in our closet so that we are able to freshen their wardrobes when they have growth spurts.  


2. Purchase shoes that have inserts to add 1/2 size to shoes.
Some trendy brands of shoes come with inserts that you may later remove to increase the shoes by 1/2 of a shoe size.  These are great for growth spurts!

3. Make your own t-shirts.
Our child's school offers mascot t-shirts for $35.  Purchase a Fruit of the Loom t-shirt  for $2.97 (short sleeve) or $4.97 (long sleeve) at Walmart and then order an iron-on from an online store or craft store to make your own mascot t-shirt at a fraction of the price. Try to save on clothing if you know that growth spurts are on the horizon.

 4. Swap clothing with friends.
Organize a party with friends to swap clothing that your children have outgrown.  This is a fun way to socialize, have fun, and recycle clothing.


5. Shop for sales.
Stock up on larger sizes of clothing when you see great sales. For instance, I mentioned that we like to stock up on the Fruit of the Loom Bonus Packs at this time of year.  You will also find other seasonal sales throughout the year for items such as swim gear, winter coats, and more.  If you luck out to find a great sale, stock up on larger sizes!  I once found an 80% off sale at Kohl's and bought 3 years worth of Star Wars pajamas for my son.  Score!

Do you have tips for saving despite growth spurts?

This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.
Read more »

Monday, August 31, 2015

Trendy Mom's Survival Kit for New Moms: Style, Budgets, Sleep, and More #MomSavesAtSamsClub @SamsClub

This post was sponsored by Sam’s Club®, however, the text and opinions are all my own.

I sometimes laugh when I hear some of my trendy friends tell me that they are pregnant with their first child because I know many surprises that personally shocked me. Let me share a few things that you may already know, but I have to admit, were surprises to me. I'll then share my Survival Kit for New Moms that includes important tips related to style, budgets, and time management. It will also discuss how our $45 Sam's Club® Membership was extremely worthwhile for us.

The Surprises
Prior to giving birth to my son, I had limited exposure to babies. When I was pregnant, I was thrilled, but truly did not know what to expect. I knew that I would have a trendy baby in a beautiful nursery with the cutest outfits, but I didn't know some of these surprises that were in store for me:
  • My body
    • It was hard to walk and I needed help to walk to the bathroom for a few days.  I could not manage my regular beauty routine which is fine, but I would have prepared differently had I known this.
    • I had a lot of bleeding for a few weeks after giving birth. I didn't know in advance that I would need strong pads.
    • I did not fit into my pre-pregnancy clothing after birth.  I needed trendy clothing for the transition.
    • My hormones were crazy and I found myself crying frequently. I had no reason to be sad, but my hormones were so out of whack that I couldn't help but cry.
    • I was a sleep deprived zombie for months. My son didn't sleep for more than two hours at a time and was wide awake from 10pm to 2am for the first two months.
  • My baby
    • Jumbo packs of diapers were not enough because he went through one jumbo pack everyday or every-other-day. We needed cases of diapers!
    • My son was too big for many of the trendy newborn outfits that I purchased before he was born.
    • Washing his clothing in regular laundry soap was a no-no and gave him a rash.
    • My son didn't smile or coo for the first 6 weeks.  This was normal.
    • Bathing a baby is hard. Seriously, hard. Amateurs like me definitely need a baby bathtub.
    • My son had dry skin and needed a moisturizer for sensitive skin.
Tips from One Trendy Mom to Another
I'm not sure if everything on my list is a surprise to you, but now that I have shared some of my surprises, let me share tips to help you with many of the issues that I faced. Throughout the post, you'll learn that this sleepy mom loves to save time and money by shopping at Sam's Club.  If you join now, you will receive $80 in Instant savings on baby items such as diapers, wipes, formula, and more.  Plus, you will find Instant Savings Books throughout the year for extra savings. 


Here are my tips:
1. Stock up on diapers on shopping trips or set up a subscription: My little "Jumbo Packs" were simply not enough. I find it strange that they are called "Jumbo Packs". The name made me feel like they would last for a long time when they only lasted 1 to 2 days.  After the first week, we realized that it was much easier and economical to purchase cases of diapers at Sam's Club. I saved a lot of money buying the cases at Sam's Club rather than the smaller Jumbo packs elsewhere. In addition, if you prefer a subscription service, Sam's Club has you covered. Their user-friendly service makes it easy for you to set shipping intervals on many baby items so that you don't have to worry about running out. They even offer free standard shipping on most diaper, wipes, and formula! This is a great time saver.


2. Special laundry soap is needed for babies: I didn't realize that my baby would have an allergic reaction to clothing washed in regular laundry soap. He developed a rash on his chin. We switched over to Dreft and the rash quickly went away.  Dreft is available in a special formulation for HE Washers. Sam's Club offers large size bottles that last for a long time.



3. Stock up on baby formula if you use it: I nursed my son for one year, but also supplemented with baby formula. My pediatrician provided samples for us to find the best formula for my son. Baby formula  is expensive, even if you only use it as a supplement like me. Sam's Club has great deals on large containers that last a while.


4. Ask your doctor for product recommendations: My son had dry skin. The poor little guy! Our pediatrician told us that this was a common issue. He recommended Aveeno Baby products to us and we loved them. We found this at Sam's Club and appreciated the generously sized bottles. Ask your doctor for personalized recommendations.

 
5. Bath time is hard: It was hard for me to wash my baby. I spot washed him at first, but then as became older, I had to use a baby bathtub. I tried using a full size bathtub, but it was just too hard for me.  Sam's Club has baby bathtubs at good prices, plus they have baby bath supplies.


6. Stock up on pads: I didn't realize that I would have a lot of bleeding after giving birth. I had to ask my husband to run to Sam's Club to stock up on super absorbent pads.


7. Take a mini shopping spree: I did not shrink back to a size 6 after my son was born. It just doesn't work that way. While taking a shopping spree shortly after giving birth may not seem practical due to limited time and also no one wants to spend a lot on clothing that will only be worn a short time. Sam's Club is a great place to visit because they have baby supplies, food, and trendy clothing that is relatively inexpensive. It was nice to find trendy clothing that fit comfortably and cheered me up. As a sleep-deprived mom, a one-stop shopping trip at Sam's Club was a great time saver for completing errands and gave me more time for precious sleep.



8. Use Club Pickup to shorten your shopping trip:  Sam's Club must employ many trendy moms because their stores and policies make my life as a mom much easier.  Look into Club Pickup to shorten your shopping trip. You can even save shopping lists online for each repeat purchases.  Once you complete your online order for pickup, you'll receive a text when your order is ready.  Visit here for details.

Sam's Club makes it easy to stock up on baby supplies and supplies for the entire family! 
Having your first child is the most amazing experience in the world, but once it happens, you'll realize that there are a lot of surprises!  After you have your baby, you'll also giggle when your most uptight friends tell you that they are having a baby because you know the surprises that they have in store for them.  Joining Sam's Club after my son was born was a great deal for us since we enjoyed the convenience of shopping for so many items in one store and benefited from the savings. The membership is $45 which we quickly recouped just on the amount that we saved on diapers alone.  We also found value in the Optical Center as our personal health insurance covered the optometrist at our local store. I was able to purchase trendy Coach brand eyeglasses and stock up on contact lenses at great prices.  I continually found more and more reasons to visit Sam's Club as time went on. 

It's nice to purchase the larger packs of diapers, formula, and other supplies at Sam's Club for both convenience and cost savings since the per unit price is less for things such as some diapers, bottles of formula, etc. Sam's Club carries popular national brands and high quality private brands that are equal quality for less money. I really like the Member's Mark formula that has the same ingredients as other top national brands. I also like that Sam's Club makes it easy to stock your nursery with Huggies, Diaper Genie, Aveeno Baby Wash, Desitin Diaper Rash Cream, Johnson and Johnson Baby Wash and Lotion.


Finally, as I mentioned above, Sam's Club is great for baby shopping, but also for our entire family. My husband loves the USDA meats, especially their roasts that he uses to make homemade beef jerky.  We love their seasonal produce that is always fantastic.  We stock up on freshly baked items for parties. In addition to our favorite foods, Sam's Club has a great selection and good prices on household items, groceries, and even fuel!  We always find more than we "need" at Sam's Club and love it! 

Do you have tips for trendy new moms?


Sam's Club provides big savings for growing families, join and get $80 in special savings on baby basics.
This post was sponsored by Sam’s Club, however, the text and opinions are all my own.

N/A
Read more »

The Trendy Dinotrux Line is now at Gymboree! #GYMxDTRUX


If you follow along regularly, you know that our family loves Gymboree and the new DreamWorks Animation's Dinotrux series on Netflix.  I am excited to tell you about the Gymboree and Dinotrux collaboration that is super cute! In today's post,  we will tell you about our personal experience of watching the Dinotrux series, show photos of some of the items from the trendy Gymboree Dinotrux line, give you the details for the special Gymboree in-store event, and tell you about opportunities to win great prizes!

My son is slightly nervous about kindergarten, so we have been working to build his confidence. We recently moved and he doesn't know anyone that will attend his new school.  I still drive him to play dates with his friends from preschool, but he only sees them once or twice a week now. The transition is a bit rough on him. The Dinotrux series on Netflix is great because the funny characters deliver messages about cooperation and friendship that we use to drive conversations with our son.  For instance, we watch an episode, spend time talking about the messages behind the episode that focus on cooperation and friendship, and then excitedly watch another episode together.  It's nice to spend quality time with our son that prepares him for social aspects of school.  We are 3/4 of the way through the Dinotrux series. The shows and discussions have increased my son's enthusiasm about making friends at his new school. 

Gymboree recently announced their new Dinotrux clothing collection.  We are excited about this new line because the trendy Dinotrux characters look great on clothing and remind our son of our discussions and lessons from the shows. Dinotrux is hot this year and I'm glad that the trendy designers from Gymboree teamed to create a stylish clothing line for this show.  Personally, I love Gymboree clothing because of the attention to detail that they give to every item, including the adorable designs and high quality fabrics and stitching. 


My son is extremely energetic and needs high quality clothing that withstands his extreme energy level.  He is the first to run for the sandbox, crawl on the ground, or explore anything new.  It's a great personality to have, but also means that this mom needs to purchase high quality clothing that will survive.   Gymboree is one of my favorite brands because he has never ruined any of his items from this brand. He outgrows the items and then I am actually able to share them with friends. 

I also love  that the Gymboree designers create adorable designs and pay careful attention to detail. You'll notice that they pay attention to every last detail, including the fabrics and stitching. Most of their items have extras such as fabric stripes, embroidered designs, cute patches, and more.  Let me give some examples of what I mean by the attention to detail by showing items from the Gymboree Dinotrux items that my son wears.  We were lucky to receive a sneak peek at these trendy items that you will find in stores and online starting on 9/8!

The first outfit includes an adorable long sleeve shirt with Revvit on it that says, Small But Mighty, paired with trendy sweat pants that have tire tread marks down the side of them.  These are perfect for Fall and Winter here in Dallas.



 Here is a close-up of those tire tread marks.  We love this fun attention to detail.


The next photo shows a trendy vest with the Revvit character on it.  My son loves this vest so much that he would sleep in it if we allowed this.  This vest is nice and thick.  My 5-year old is able to zip the vest on his own without any problems. My husband an son ride their bikes to my son's school in the morning, so this vest is great for chilly mornings.



The next outfit shows his trendy hooded jacket.  Again the thick fabric and attention to detail is obvious in this jacket.  When your child is 5-years old, a good quality zipper on a jacket is important since they are still learning to zip their jackets on their own.  This jacket has a great zipper that makes it easy for my son to put the jacket on by himself without needing help from anyone. If you have a little one that needs to be self sufficient at putting their jacket or vest on at recess time, I recommend visiting Gymboree to try these items because they are easy for little ones to zip.


The next outfit reuses the trendy pants with tire tread marks and is paired with a cute tee that has Garby on it. My husband and I are both Engineers, so this trendy shirt with the blueprints of the characters is perfect for our son.  You'll even notice trendy Dinotrux socks to accessorize the outfit.

 

Finally, Gymboree's Dinotrux line has great accessories. We let our son choose the Dinotrux lunchbox.  It is perfect since it is insulated and offers plenty of room for an ice pack, drink, and meal.



My son loves that we watch Dinotrux together. I love that the shows bring up issues that help to drive conversations about the new school year and collaboration with friends and teachers.  Gymboree's trendy line of Dinotrux clothing is sure to be a hit this year!

Do you have a little one that would love Gymboree's Dinotrux line?

Gymboree's Dinotrux in-store event on 9/12
Gymboree has a fun Dinotrux in-store event on 9/12 from 10am - 1pm where attendees will be able to
  • Enter to win a Dinotrux shopping spree at Gymboree
  • Watch special Dinotrux content
  • Create their own Dinotrux world on the DreamWorks COLOR app
  • Be the first to check out the new Power Revvit toy from Mattel and enter to win it!
  • Shop the new Dinotrux and Gymboree collection
 RSVP for this trendy in-store event on 9/12 here.

Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a $75 Gymboree gift card!  Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes.  The winner will have 72 hours to respond to our message with their shipping address. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.
Read more »

Sunday, August 30, 2015

DIY Halloween Space-Themed Laser Maze with Crepe Paper and Treats


We live in a college town with two universities that organize Halloween events for the local children. One at Texas Women's University is called the "Boo at the U" and the other at University of North Texas is called the "Boo Bash".   Student organizations, fraternities, and sororities set up small activities with prizes for the children to visit.  They always do an amazing job of providing a game and prize at each booth. In today's post, I'll share an easy DIY project to create a Laser Maze with Crepe Paper that also features inexpensive space-themed prizes from the Oriental Trading Halloween Shop. This is a memorable game and scales well for large crowds where you have a limited budget for events such as Boo Bash, Boo at the University, or other school or church events.

DIY Halloween Space-Themed Laser Maze with Crepe Paper and Treats 

Yield: 12 to 36 children (depending on how many prizes you let them keep)

Supplies

Directions
1. Set up the Color Your Own Rocket Ship at the end of the maze. Add crayons so that the children are able to visit and color the Rocket Ship once they make it through the maze.




2. Fill each space egg with a pack of gummy bears and leave a basket of these in the Rocket Ship so that each child is able to receive one space egg and treat once they complete their mission of making it through the laser maze.



3. Use the red crepe paper to create a laser maze by taping pieces to walls or banisters in difference directions as shown below.  Tailor the difficulty level to your age group.  The photo below shows our laser maze for 5 year old children.

   
4. Before each child takes a turn to go through the laser maze, place a Space or Alien Rubber Ducky in the maze for them to "save" on their way through the maze.  



We let them keep the rubber ducky once they make it through the maze.

 

5. Optional: Oriental Trading has the iconic "Skeleton Cat".  This cat is so creepy.  If you have older children that will appreciate a creepy haunted laser maze, place this scary Skeleton Cat in the maze. It's one extra obstacle for them to think about as they try to make it through the maze! Eek!





Here is a closer look at the Skeleton Cat in the laser maze.



Learn More
The supplies that we featured are available at Oriental Trading.  Personally, we love this store for birthday party supplies, school and club supplies, and holidays.  The products that we featured above are just a few among the hundreds of Halloween supplies that you will find in their Halloween shop.


This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.
Read more »

Saturday, August 29, 2015

The Top Five Wedding Gift Ideas for Fall 2015 @BestBuy #BestBuyWedding

The reviewer has been compensated in the form of a Best Buy Gift Card and/or received the product/service at a reduced price or for free.

Fall weddings are the best!  The crisp air, changing colors, and pretty evening skies make it a wonderful time of year for weddings, especially if you live in the Dallas/Fort Worth metro.  In today's post, I will share info about the latest trends in registries, using Best Buy's registry as an example, and our picks for the top five wedding gift ideas.  

Registry Trends
There are two major registry trends that I want to highlight - registries that offer (1) group giving features and (2) free shipping perks without a minimum!  I'll use Best Buy as our running example in this post because they rocked their registry design. I really the Best Buy registry because they offer a user friendly experience with special features and perks that stand out to me.  Let me share my favorite two features:
  • Group gifts: It's easy for gift-givers to contribute any amount that they want to a group gift so that the bride and groom receive their larger dream items.  You simply add your favorite items to your registry and then Best Buy makes it easy for your friends and family to contribute to group projects. They are able to contribute any amount that they prefer.
  • No minimum for free shipping: I love that Best Buy gives you the perk that when you create a registry, your friends and family receive FREE shipping with no minimum requirements!  We all have friends and family with limited budgets, so it's not cool to have a registry at a store with a policy that requires a minimum $100 purchase in exchange for free shipping.  Best Buy is awesome for making it easy to create a registry with special items that don't all cost a fortune. For instance, you could add some small items like movies or packs of KCups. I love that they make it easy to create a registry that doesn't pressure people to spend more than they are comfortable with.

Top Five Wedding Gift Ideas
1.  
Roomba 650 Vacuum: This trendy vacuum makes life easier as it independently cleans your floors.  We have this vacuum and it is luxurious to take a break from having to vacuum on my own as often.  This is too expensive for many people to purchase for a wedding gift, but it's popular now because Best Buy has their fantastic Group Giving option that I mentioned above where friends and family are able to contribute amounts of their choice to a group gift!

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/irobot-roomba-650-vacuum-cleaning-robot-black/5768586.p?id=1218692164721&skuId=5768586


 2. KitchenAid Ultra Power Tilt-Head Stand Mixer: I have had a KitchenAid Mixer for years. While many small kitchen appliances have come in and out of my kitchen over the years, this is something that I have always consistently used.  KitchenAid Stand Mixers are well known for their power and durability. I use our mixer for everything from making pizza dough to shredding chicken. It's such a versatile appliance.



3.  Keurig Elite Single Serve Brewer: In our opinion, Keurig offers the Best-of-the-Best when it comes to single serve brewers.  We have a Keurig that is awesome.  This is a fun gift because you can add this to your registry and then add small boxes of different varieties of KCups to the registry as well. This is a great way to give your guests the option to purchase you different priced items based on their budget.




4. Keurig Entertainer KCup Variety Pack (48-Count) Multi: These trendy KCups are a lot of fun for couples to sample together!  It's nice to have a special treat to look forward to in the mornings. Plus adding KCups to your registry is perfect for couples who have guests that want to do something special for them, but they are on a limited budget.


5. Oster Cordless/Rechargable Wine Bottle Opener: Bottles of wine are popular gifts in our family. However, for family that lives far away, it is an obstacle to ship a bottle of wine.  We love this trendy wine bottle opener on the Best Buy registry because it is only $19.99 and qualifies for free shipping. It's a great way for friends and family to send something special without a big expense. After all, the wedding is not really about the gifts, but rather the special thoughts.



What are your favorite wedding gift ideas at Best Buy?

Learn More
Visit Best Buy to learn more about their registry!
Read more »

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

JURASSIC WORLD is coming to Digital HD, 3-D Blu-ray, Blu-ray, DVD, & On Demand in October!


JURASSIC WORLD arrives on Digital HD on October 1, 2015 and on 3-D Blu-ray™, Blu-ray™, DVD and On Demand on October 20, 2015.

Did you all notice the trendy little #TeamJurassic logo on my sidebar?  The link takes you the JURASSIC WORLD Facebook page that has over 7 million followers.  I bet that you are wondering why millions of people are following this Facebook page.  The reason is that everyone is excited about the upcoming home release of JURASSIC WORLD!   The #1 movie of the year proves that once again, dinosaurs rule the earth! Experience JURASSIC WORLD in stunning hi-definition with the Blu-Ray Combo Pack in limited edition collectible steel packaging.  In today's post, I'll share details about this trendy release to Digital HD, 3-D Blu-ray™, Blu-ray™, DVD, and On Demand. I will also share a clip for you to watch!




If your family enjoys movie nights together, this release is a great movie to add to your collection.  For instance, we still watch the old Jurassic Park movie from years ago, so I imagine that we will also watch Jurassic World many times over since it is a similarly awesome movie!  Here is a photo of my son being silly with a Jurassic World toy one one of our family movie nights.


Jurassic World crushed the opening-weekend box-office, scoring the highest domestic, international and worldwide openings of all time.  The film has taken in more than $1.6 billion globally to become the third-highest grossing film in history.  Now fans can experience the thrill and awe when Jurassic World arrives on Digital HD on October 1, 2015 and on 3-D Blu-ray™, Blu-ray™, DVD and On Demand on October 20, 2015.


Check out the trailer:

Bonus Features
As I mentioned earlier, the trendy release also comes with bonus features on the different media! The Bonus features include:

BONUS FEATURES EXCLUSIVE TO BLU-RAY:

  • WELCOME TO JURASSIC WORLD:  An in-depth take on the creation, look and feel of Jurassic World.  Director Colin Trevorrow and Steven Spielberg discuss how the idea of the film came together and how the casting was decided with actors’ commentary on their roles and filming locations. 
  • JURASSIC WORLD: ALL-ACCESS PASS:  Chris Pratt and Director Colin Trevorrow discuss key moments in the film, supported by behind-the-scenes footage and VFX breakdowns.
  • INNOVATION CENTER TOUR WITH CHRIS PRATT:  Chris Pratt gives a tour of the Innovation Center, a museum/exhibit, built just for the movie.
  • JURASSIC’S CLOSEST SHAVES: Clips from all films in the franchise showing “near death” or extremely scary encounters with dinosaurs.
BLU-RAYTM AND DVD BONUS FEATURES
  • DELETED SCENES
  • DINOSAURS ROAM ONCE AGAIN:  Behind the scenes look at the making of Jurassic World’s visual effects, how the dinosaurs came to life, and actors filmed scenes.
  • CHRIS & COLIN TAKE ON THE WORLD:   Chris Pratt and Colin Trevorrow (Director) interview each other and discuss Jurassic World as well as the other Jurassic Park movies.
Has your family seen JURASSIC WORLD?

Learn More
Follow #TeamJurassic and #JurassicWorld

 
 
This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.
Read more »

ShareThis