Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Trendy Mom Reviews receives complementry products in exchange for writing reviews. Our opinions are honest and our own.

Friday, January 30, 2015

Trendy Clothing from FabKids #Fashion #Kids

You may have already heard about FabKids since many trendy venues have featured them, including People magazine, The Today Show, Extra, and more.  FabKids has become extremely popular because they offer trendy clothing at great prices. Their designers are amazing and make it easy for your child to find clothing that fits their personality with just a few clicks. We are hooked and look forward to our monthly fix of new fashion. Let me share our personal experience.

You start by taking a FabKids quiz that allows you to answer questions about your child's fashion preferences so that their system is able to give good recommendations of outfits that fit your trendy child's personality.  You are able to include your child in the quiz process and then see their excitement when a package arrives each month.  Once you set your preferences, they offer flexibility as you are able to update your account at any time. For instance, if your child grows, you are able to update their size. You may even specify if there is a month that you do not wish to have a delivery.  They try to make it easy for busy parents.

The FabKids quiz is a lot of fun. My son and I clicked through various questions in order to set up his style preferences. For instance, we selected that we were shopping for my son, a Boy.



We then went through various screens like the colorful one below that allowed him to specify his preferences.


The process was quick, easy, and fun. We were impressed with the FabKids recommendations for my son.  They truly considered his personal style preferences and presented us with great options. For instance, check out the photo of my son's trendy Cargo Radman Outfit!  It includes a trendy long-sleeve t-shirt and cargo pants that are perfect for our cold winter weather.


This trendy outfit fits his personality perfectly!  The designers paid close attention to detail to provide this great quality outfit. My son is very active and puts a lot of wear and tear on his clothing, so I am grateful to find good quality clothing at a reasonable price.


I am excited that we had the opportunity to share insight into FabKids with all of you because this is a trendy brand that offers a novel approach to shopping for children's clothing.  They make it easy and affordable to purchase clothing that fits your child's style.  We are looking forward to seeing the options that they offer in each coming month! 

Have you visited FabKids yet?

Learn More
Visit the FabKids website.

Thanks to FabKids for sponsoring this post. All opinions are honest and my own.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

(Win it!) Eat Nutritious Farm Fresh Food at the New Modmarket Preston Hollow Location #Dallas #DFW

We are excited about the newest Modmarket that is located at 7949 Walnut Hill Lane in Preston Hollow Village in Dallas, TX.  This is the third trendy Modmarket in the Dallas/Fort Worth metro. For instance, you may have visited the locations in Flower Mound and Plano.  (Check out our review of the Flower Mound location here.) The newest Modmarket in Preston Hollow Village is sure to be a hit. We are visiting next week and looking forward to the trendy menu items! In the meantime, let me share more about this trendy restaurant and then a chance for one lucky winner to receive a $50 gift card!

Modmarket is popular because they have fantastic menu items that use farm fresh ingredients.  I really like that they source the best quality ingredients and that I don't have to worry about menu items including mysterious additives or other worrisome ingredients.  For instance, if you order the Pepe' -  a trendy pepperoni pizza - you don't have to worry about nitrates or other nasty preservatives that are commonly found at many other restaurants. Even if you order soda, you will find that they offer natural soda that uses real cane sugar.  They don't skimp on quality ingredients!

One of my favorite items is the trendy Farmer Salad. It includes mixed greens, roasted chicken, feta, almonds, red grapes, and champagne vinaigrette.  The farm fresh ingredients really make this salad stand out!


My husband's favorite is the trendy M'Rita that includes organic red sauce, basil, and fresh mozzarella on a whole grain crust.  The sauce is what makes this pizza really pop.


My son will tell you that it is all about the desserts! The desserts vary by location as they work with local chefs to create small desserts that are the perfect portion for healthy eaters and cost only $1. The photo below makes it easy to see why our son raves about the desserts!


Finally, I want to emphasize that this is a fantastic restaurant if you are worried about eating healthy and nutritious food. Personally, I lost 9 pounds in the past two months and am 7 pounds away from my target weight. My goal was not simply to lose weight, but to reboot my habits so that all of my food is "real" for good nutrition.  Modmarket makes it easy for me to eat out because I know that all of their menu items use farm fresh ingredients without any mysterious ingredients. They also print nutritional information on the receipt, including the number of calories so that I am able to track my progress throughout the day.


Modmarket is one of our family's favorite restaurant.  The wholesome food fits our healthy lifestyle!

What would you like to try at ModMarket?

Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a $50 Modmarket gift card!  Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. The winner will have 48 hours to respond with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck! a Rafflecopter giveaway
Learn More

Visit the Modmarket website to view the menu.   
Here is a map that shows the location.  Search for directions using their address: Walnut Hill Lane in Preston Hollow Village in Dallas, TX.


Thanks to Modmarket for sponsoring this post! All opinions are honest and my own.

Monday, January 26, 2015

Recipe: Van's Creamy Herb & Garlic Whole Grain Pasta with Chicken and Veggies #Recipes

We are always on the quest to find good gluten-free pasta. I feel like gluten-free products are hit-or-miss. Some are really good while others taste dry or have a weird texture.  Van's is one brand that has never disappointed me. Van's recently came out with fantastic new gluten-free pastas that use lentils as one of the ingredients.  The new varieties include: Rotini & Red Sauce, Creamy Herb & Garlic, and Ultimate Cheddar Penne.  We tried all three varieties and loved them all. The Creamy Herb & Galic was my personal favorite. This variety includes 11 grams of protein and 28 grams of whole grains per serving. (Score!) Let me share a fun way to jazz up this pasta with chicken and veggies.

Recipe: Van's Creamy Herb & Garlic Whole Grain Pasta with Chicken and Veggies
Ingredients
  • 1 box of Van's Creamy Herb & Garlic pasta
  • 3  Tbsp. skim milk
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 cup of broccoli crowns, steamed
  • 3/4 cup of snow peas, steamed
  • 1 carrot sliced into lengthwise pieces, steamed
  • 1 medium chicken breast seasoned with peppercorns, cooked in a skillet
Directions
1. Boil 6 cups of water and then add pasta.
2. Return to a medium boil and cook for 8 to 9 minutes, until al dente. Do not overcook.

3. Drain the pasta and rinse.
4. Add the milk and butter to a saucepan.  Once the butter melts, slowly whisk the herb and garlic packet into the milk and butter.
5. Combine the pasta with sauce and stir well.
6. Top the pasta with the chicken, broccoli crowns, snow peas, and carrots.
7. Allow to cool and enjoy. Refrigerate leftovers.

Thanks to Van's for letting us try out their trendy new gluten-free pastas.  Our opinion is that these new pastas are amazing and we will definitely purchase them again in the future. They are easy to prepare and top with veggies. The amount of protein and whole grains make it easy to work toward a balanced meal.

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Tips for Planning a Surprise Vacation for Your Spouse or Family #Travel

I recently booked a vacation to surprise my husband.  It was fun to plan the surprise for him. I planned everything down to packing his suitcase so that he didn't have to do any work to prepare for the trip.   Here are my tips:

1. Quietly book reservations
Once you identify your destination, be sure to book the reservations on a credit card that your spouse does not monitor so that they are not aware of the reservations.  Use your cell phone number on the reservations so that no one calls your house phone and ruins the secret.

2. Create a schedule
Create a schedule for your visit and include the agenda in a card for your spouse or family to open!  It's fun to receive a surprise agenda with activities and interesting restaurants to visit.

3. Pack their luggage and make it a gift
Pack everyone's luggage, but be careful not to pack something that they will notice is missing from their closet. You may want to purchase new items as gifts to accompany the vacation surprise. Personally, I visited a trendy store called, Zazzle.com and ordered new customized t-shirts, a personalized luggage handle to decorate the luggage, and cute stamps for cards and postcards. Let me show you a few fun ways to create a "luggage gift".
  • Add a luggage handle wrap: Many people have black, blue, or other solid colored luggage that blends with other luggage at the airport.  We recently had a bad experience that someone mistakenly took my husband's luggage. We learned to make our luggage stand out more so that this is less likely to happen again in the future. I purchased trendy luggage handle wraps to help make our luggage stand out while still being tasteful. For instance, I customized the luggage handle wrap below with my husband's initials. This was a nice accessory to add to his "luggage gift"! Zazzle has hundreds of options for luggage handle wraps. Many are easy to customize with your name, initials, or even photos.


  • Pack t-shirts that have a personal touch: I was nervous about packing any shirts that my husband already owned because he may have figured out that they were missing. I decided to order new t-shirts that were customized to his personality. Zazzle.com offers thousands of t-shirts. The selection is truly amazing. They have everything. For instance, even my crazy search for a "It's turtles all of the way down" yielded an entire page of results! 
 

  • Pack trendy stamps for cards and postcards: We love to send cards and postcards while we travel. I ordered custom stamps from Zazzle.com and put them in the suitcase so that we wouldn't have to search for a post office while we were on our trip. Plus, I was able to customize the stamps to our destination.

4. Find a fun way to way to tell them about the surprise
There are many ways to share the surprise. Personally, I used steps #2 and #3 above to give my husband the luggage with an agenda!  It's something that he'll never forget!

5. Be flexible
Try to avoid over-scheduling the vacation. Leave open times and a list of  several possibilities that they could select to fill open time slots.

Do you have tips for planning a surprise vacation for  your spouse or family?

Learn More
I featured trendy items from Zazzle.com in this post.  I'm completely hooked on their site because I love personalized gifts.  I encourage you to check out their trendy site and to also enter their 30 Days of Makers Giveaway for a chance to win.  With each daily entry, you’ll receive:

  • A chance to win the daily Sweepstakes prize
  • Each day you enter, you'll receive an email the following day for 30% off the previous day's product. That's just in case you don't win that days prize and because we think you'll like it so much.
  • Exclusive discounts via email
  • Each day you enter, you'll get an additional chance to win the Sweepstakes Grand Prize $1,000 Zazzle shopping spree



I love the 30 different prizes. For instance, the prize today (1/24/15) is a trendy Custom BeltCraft Belt.  It's a fun and trendy way to personalize an accessory for your wardrobe.



Which prize are you most excited to enter for a chance to win or score a 30% off coupon?

Thanks to Zazzle for sponsoring this post. All opinions are honest and my own.

(Win it!) Tips for Keeping Your New Year's Resolution to Lose Weight #February #WeightLoss


My husband always tells me that it takes 30 days to create new habits.  If you had a New Year's Resolution to lose weight, you are less than a week away from making your healthy habits feel more natural.  On the other hand, if you have had some set backs, that's fine too. You just have to continue pushing through.  Personally, I started my weight loss routine in mid-December and have lost 10 pounds. I'm proud that I have averaged losing 1 to 2 pounds each week.  However, I have to admit that it is sometimes challenging to avoid old bad habits.  As we head into February, let me share some tips to help you keep your New Year's Resolution to Lose Weight.

1. Reward yourself
If you have lost weight this month, reward yourself with something such as a new shirt, pants, or dress.  Now that your body is slimming, it's nice to add some transition clothing to your wardrobe as your shape shrinks.


2. Review and assess your weight loss plan
Take the time to review your weight loss plan.  What has worked well?  What has been particularly challenging?  Should you adjust your plan?  For instance, I found that my goal of burning an extra 500 calories/day through exercise hasn't always happened due to my hectic schedule.  Waking up earlier has helped me to fit in this exercise because no one interrupts me with requests to help them in the early hours. I am able to find uninterrupted time.


3. Plan around Valentine's Day
There are many temptations to eat heavy foods on Valentine's Day.  Talk to your family to create a Valentine's Day plan that supports your healthy lifestyle goals. For instance, instead of chocolates, consider fruit kabobs or some other low-calorie substitute.  Make a thorough plan for a special day that is in sync with your health goals.  Click here for more ideas!

 
4. Add music to your routines
Personally, I take daily walks and then run a few times each week.  Consider purchasing good quality ear buds that help to keep you motivated while you work out. For instance, I'm using the trendy Sol Republic RELAYS in-ear, active headphones. They caught my attention because TIME magazine recently declared RELAYS as a top exercise headphone among a comparison of 38 different earbuds. They are fantastic for me because I love the quality and they have a seamless and adaptable fit that doesn't fall out.  Plus, they come in trendy colors that are cute for Valentine gifts!



Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a pair of Sol Republic RELAYS!  Enter using the Rafflecopter below. Sol Republic is responsible for prize fulfillment and will ship the prize directly to the winner. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to our message with their shipping address or we will select a different winner. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
We appreciate the complementary product that we tried out. All opinions are honest and our own.

Trendy Restaurant Pick: Palios Pizza Cafe as featured on Restaurant.com #DFW #ReviewCrew

 
One of the best things about living in the Dallas/Fort Worth metro is that there is no shortage of restaurants. We eat out a lot because we enjoy trying new things and there are so many great options. When I received the opportunity to join the Restaurant.com Review Crew, I was thrilled!  We plan to feature trendy restaurants that parents will love and that are reasonably child-friendly.  Our first pick is Palios Pizza Cafe in The Colony, TX.  Not only does it offer kid-friendly pizzas and ice cream, but adults will enjoy the gourmet pizzas, salads, wine, and trendy desserts.  In the remainder of this post, I want to share two things: (1) my experience on the Restaurant.com website because it's an awesome site for finding restaurants and getting instant deals and (2) my experience at the Palios Pizza Cafe.

You may possibly already be familiar with Restaurant.com since it has been around for approximately 15 years. They have millions of customers and over 30,000 deals with thousands of restaurant partners nationwide.  One of my favorite features is to enter a zip code for my home (or a location that I am traveling to) in order to see a variety of restaurants.  In the DFW metro, I love that there are so many types of cuisine!  You'll find Mediterranean, Mexican, Chinese, Vietnamese, Pizza, Bars, Bakeries, Waffle shops, and more.

Each restaurant on their site offers a savings option that varies from small denomination certificates for you to go out by yourself to higher denominations to dine out with your family.   For instance, you may purchase a $10 certificate for $4 or a $25 certificate for $10.  The purchase of the certificate is instant. There are no games or hoops to jump through unlike many other deal sites in this area where you have to purchase a deal in advance and wait to use it.  Restaurant.com keeps it simple and let's you select and use a certificate as soon as you want.

Once you purchase a certificate, you simply add the certificates that you want to your shopping cart and follow the easy checkout process.


You then print the certificate and take it to the restaurant with you. Alternatively, you could show it on your mobile phone. For instance, I removed the unique code from my certificate below to show you an example of what a certificate looks like.  I purchased a $15 certificate that gave me $15 off of a $30 purchase.  Cha-ching!  That's half off for my family to enjoy pizza, salad, and dessert.  Plus, mom and dad are also able to enjoy wine. 
Our visit to Palio's Pizza Cafe was fantastic. As shown below, this trendy restaurant has food for the entire family.  We shared a Greek Salad, a Pepperoni Pizza, and Tiramisu.


We started off by sharing a Greek Salad. This included a salad mix with tomatoes, cucmber, sliced red onions, red and green peppers, imported Kalamata black olives, pepperoncini and feta cheese in an oregano-thyme vinaigrette dressing. The fresh ingredients and special dressing made this salad stand out!  It was nice to pack these veggies into our diet before eating the pizza.


We ordered an XL Pizza with pepperoni and Roma tomatoes.  Similar to the salad, this was generously sized. The three of us were only able to eat half of the pizza because it was so large.  The thin and crispy crust with fresh tomato sauce and toppings was great.  We also enjoyed heating the leftovers in our toaster oven at home the next day!


My son was too full for dessert, but my husband and I split a piece of Tiramisu.  This was creamy and had a rich taste thanks to the espresso soaked lady fingers.  The crystallized sugar on top was a nice touch.


In addition to the great food, we also enjoyed the nice atmosphere.  We sat next to the cozy fireplace that is surrounded by wine bar decor.  It's definitely a trendy restaurant for adults, but I appreciate that they made it child-friendly with menu options that my son loves. 


In the end, we we found a great deal and awesome new favorite restaurant.  I love that Restaurant.com has so many great restaurant partners that offer deals to entice you to give them a try. Palio's Pizza Cafe was fantastic. We enjoyed the nice atmosphere and fed our entire family for $21. (That is $6 for the $15 Restaurant.com certificate that gave us $15 off of a $30 purchase.) That was just $7/person for the food that we ate at the restaurant and then the leftovers that we all ate for lunch the following day.  I love trendy food and good deals!

Have you found a new favorite restaurant using Restaurant.com?

We are part of the Restaurant.com Review Crew and receive compensation for our posts. All opinions are honest and our own.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

5 Heart Healthy Valentine Gifts #Valentines

At my age, I fear Valentine's Day and the high calorie traditions that tempt me to binge.  Ever since I was a child, I was the kind of person to open a heart-shaped box of candy to take a bite out of each and every last piece of candy.  I was fearless. I indulged. I lived in the moment. I loved it.   However, flash-forward a few decades and my metabolism and weight have changed.  Overindulging makes me feel bloated and guilty. Similarly, my husband finds that he needs to change habits due to age as well.  Here are 5 Heart Healthy Valentine Gift Ideas that we like:

1. Start with breakfast: Add a pink bowl or heart-shaped spoon to a healthy bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats Whole Grain cereal rather than serving empty calories such as pink muffins, pink scones, or other fatty breakfast food
You know that guilt that sets in around 9 or 10am after you picked up a coffee and muffin at at a coffee shop on the way to work?   Set each other up for a healthy breakfast that is rich in whole grains before you leave the house.  For instance, the new Honey Bunches of Oats Whole Grain cereals are delicious. They come in two varieties, Honey Crunch and Vanilla Bunches. Each serving of Honey Bunches of Whole Grain is packed with 2/3 of your day's Whole Grain (33 grams), 4 grams of fiber, and nutrients such as iron and folic acid for a deliciously wholesome breakfast!   Add a pink bowl or heart-shaped spoon to add festivity to this great cereal!  Visit here to learn more.



2.  Plan a walk with love-themed discussion questions
Some of the best quality time that my husband and I spend together is on walks.  The combination of exercise and giving the time and attention to each other is the best.  Here are some sample questions:
  • What did your parents get you for Valentine's when you were little?
  • What activities did you do in school for Valentine's Day?
  • What are some of your favorite memories of things we have done together?
3. Use fruit to create something healthy and pink
Look up recipes to create fruit kabobs or other fun recipes that use lots of red and pink color.  My husband and I love a Recipe for Texas Red Grapefruit Strawberry Juice.

4. Cook together
Search for heart-healthy dinner recipes and then cook together. Buy fresh ingredients such as veggies and fresh herbs. Helping each other to eat healthy is true love!

5. Create a tradition to share a sweet story
Rather than sharing traditional sweet treats, share sweet stories.  Think about a story that involves an act of kindness that meant a lot to you and say, "Thank you".  The reward of hearing my husband remind me of something nice that I have done for him and that he appreciated it is always a nice feeling.

Do you have any heart healthy Valentine Gift Ideas?

This is a sponsored post. All opinions are honest and our own.


Trendy Chipotle Deal: Order Sofritas on 1/26 and Get a Free Burrito #Restaurants


We love the trendy meals at Chipotle that use amazing recipes with fresh ingredients.  They make it easy for me to stick to my New Year's Resolution of maintaining a healthy weight. Their new Sofritas are fantastic, especially for vegetarians, vegans, or anyone that is reducing their meat consumption.  This new trendy entree item is made of organic and braised tofu that is crave-worthy!  If you haven't tried it yet, this special deal will motivate you to give it a try:
Purchase an organic tofu Sofritas on Monday, January 26th at any Chipotle (in the U.S. or Canada) and then bring your receipt back on your next visit (any date from 1/27/15 to 2/28/15) in exchange for a FREE burrito, bowl, salad, or order of tacos of your choice.
 You can't beat this deal since the food is so fresh and delicious!  Our family is already looking forward to this special deal on January 26th!


Tuesday, January 20, 2015

Celebrating the Halfway Point of Weightloss to my Target Weight with Trendy Customized Clothing from eShakti #Fashion

I recently lost 10 pounds by committing to a healthier diet and daily exercise. I am halfway to my target weight. To celebrate my progress, I ordered a trendy customized top from eShakti. Whether you are size 0 to 36W,  eShakti makes it easy to order trendy and customized clothing that fits your personal style and size. Let me share my experience.

I first selected the item that I wanted to customize. I selected the trendy Indigo chambray shirt.  


I then specified my size, height, and the type of sleeve.  As someone that is quite tall, I love that they adjust my clothing to my extra height. Since I recently lost weight, it was nice to take my measurements to order clothing that was perfect for my new size!


My shirt came from halfway around the world as it was made in India and arrived by DHL. It is absolutely perfect! I am thrilled with the quality and close attention to detail.  The fabric is top quality and the stitching is excellent.  This is now my favorite shirt that I am excited to wear. (Don't you love that feeling of going into your closet to find clothing that fits perfectly to complement your body?)


It's nice to have a favorite item of clothing with a good fit that you automatically wear as soon as a fresh load of laundry comes out of the dryer.  It's so expensive to visit local stores for customized clothing, but eShakti makes it incredibly easy and affordable to order customized clothing online!

I plan to visit eShakti again once I reach my final target weight, but in the meantime, this customized shirt for my half-way point makes me feel confident and beautiful.  I may not be at my final target weight quite yet, but I feel great about the milestone of losing 10 pounds and love having a trendy shirt that is fitted to my new size. The lower neckline and longer length complement my figure for now.  Once I reach my target weight, I look forward to ordering more clothing that is trendy and fitted to my figure!

Have you tried ordering customized clothing online?

Learn More
Visit eShakti on their website and on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest.

(Win it!) Miss Brinner's Balanced Breakfast for Dinner Featuring Krusteaz's Breakfast Mixes #BreakfastNight

February is National Hot Breakfast Month. Let's celebrate this trendy month with a fabulous Brinner! That is, Breakfast for Dinner. In this meal plan, we not only enjoy breakfast for dinner, but we also pay close attention to including well-balanced nutrients, including protein, veggies, and carbohydrates. We even add muffins for dessert.

Meal Plan:
  • Krusteaz Buttermilk Pancakes
  • Krusteaz Honey Wheat Pancakes
  • Vegetarian Sausage Patties
  • Egg and cheese omelet
  • Chocolate chips
  • Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk Muffins
Preparation
1. Prepare the Krusteaz Buttermilk Pancakes according to the instructions on the box and create silver dollar size pancakes for use as Miss Brinner's eyes. Set extra aside for family members to additionally serve themselves.

2. Prepare the Krusteaz Honey Wheat Pancakes according to the instructions on the box and create silver dollar size pancakes for use as Miss Brinner's nose. Set extra aside for family members to additionally serve themselves.

3. Prepare an egg and cheese omelet and cut into shapes to use for Miss Brinner's hair. Set extra aside for family members to additionally serve themselves.

4. Prepare the sausage patties and cut in half for use as Miss Brinner's mouth. Set extra aside for family members to additionally serve themselves.

5. Create the face by placing the food on a plate: Krusteaz Buttermilk Pancakes for eyes, one chocolate chip on each eye, Krusteaz Honey Wheat Pancakes for a nose, sausage patty for a mouth, and omelet for hair.



6. Serve with a green smoothie to ensure that everyone enjoys veggies with their meal. Here is the recipe for our favorite green smoothie.

7. Prepare and serve Krusteaz Chocolate Chunk muffins for dessert so that they are warm out of the oven to accompany Miss Brinner's Balance Breakfast for Dinner!



Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a Krusteaz prize pack that includes: Buttermilk Pancake Mix (1), Blueberry Belgian Waffle Mix (1), Chocolate Chunk Muffin Mix (1) and Honey Wheat Pancake Mix (1) as well as Krusteaz coupons for free product.  Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to our message with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway  

Learn More
Coinciding with National Hot Breakfast Month in February and to make sure everyone can regularly enjoy both the simplicity and fun of breakfast for dinner, Krusteaz has officially named every Wednesday Night “Breakfast Night.” This comes after the launch of the Krusteaz #BreakfastNight in September, National Breakfast Month!

In a national survey, Krusteaz found that nine out of ten (91 percent) Americans say they eat breakfast for dinner, with 56 percent doing so once a month or more often. For families, the trend is even more prevalent as 67 percent of respondents with children in the household say they have breakfast for dinner once a month or more.

A variety of factors contribute to the rising popularity of breakfast for dinner, with the main appeal being ease of preparation versus a traditional dinner meal (43 percent).  For families especially, it’s also “a fun way to break up the monotony of weekly dinner night” cited by 44 percent.

Visit Krusteaz for other great Breakfast for Dinner Recipes.

Thanks to Krusteaz for providing the products featured in this post. The sponsor will ship the prize directly to the winner.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Recipe: Texas Red Grapefruit and Strawberry Juice

Recipe: Texas Red Grapefruit and Strawberry Juice
Ingredients
  • 1 Wonderful Sweet Scarletts Texas Red Grapefruit
  • 7 fresh strawberries

Directions
1. Extract the juice from one Wonderful Sweet Scarletts Texas Red Grapefruit.

2. Wash and chop the strawberries.

3. Add the juice and strawberries to a high speed blender until well blended.

5 Tips for Organizing Your Home Office #Organization #Makeover

5 Tips for Organizing Your Home Office 
One of my resolutions this year is to maintain a trendy and organized home office.  In this post, I'll share my stylish and functional makeover that makes it easy to stay organized. These simple tips are inexpensive and easy for those that want to start the new year with order and style.

1. Digitize and organize your files
If your office is like mine, files accumulate quickly throughout the year.  Identify any files that you could scan and save electronically. Shred the paper copies.  For the remaining files that you need to save original copies, move them to a small and trendy file holder. For instance, we use the trendy Fold N' File from Thirty-One Gifts.   This fits perfectly inside of the trendy Zip-Top Organizing Utility Tote. It also features two exterior mesh pockets and two cutout round handles so it’s easy to carry. For instance, I store my medical records, bills, and other items that I may need to access. I use the exterior mesh pockets to store receipts that haven't been filed yet.


2. Use a stylish inbox
Mail and other papers are going to accumulate throughout the year.  Create an inbox that allows you to store these papers at different phases. For instance, I use the trendy Double Duty Caddy from Thirty-One Gifts. My family puts new/unopened mail in the front compartment.  If I open something and need to revisit it, I move it to the back compartment. For instance, if there is a bill that I need to call about during business hours, I store it in the back compartment so that I won't forget about it.  I also love the mesh storage on the sides for additional storage.


3. Trash or Stash Clutter
Remove any clutter that you no longer need.   For items that are needed, but not used on a regular basis, stash them in a trendy  Zip-Top Organizing Utility Tote. This is a nice way to keep your items close for when you need them while maintaining a clean look.


4. Select a color and style theme
My old decor used a nice bookshelf, but the inconsistent blue storage containers, beige and outdate CD box, and other random items did not match well. I purchased these items at various stores over the years.  For my makeover, I ordered items from Thirty-One Gifts with a matching black-and-white theme.  Thirty-One Gifts offers several different colors and styles to match your personal preferences. Personally, I feel that the theme that I selected has a fun and classic look that gives my personality to my office.


5. Add photos of whatever makes you happy
My final tip is to add photos of whatever makes you happy. Personally, I added trendy framed photos of my family throughout my office!

Do you have trendy and inexpensive tips for a home office makeover?

ShareThis