Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links.

Monday, August 22, 2016

(Win it!) Mooyah's 100th Location Celebration



If you follow regularly, you know that we love Mooyah!  They have the best food and family-friendly atmosphere.  My oldest son and I have weekly "Mommy and Me" dates where we spend time together at a fun activity and then go out to lunch. We often visit his favorite restaurant - Mooyah - for lunch.  We typically place our order and then he colors on their Moodle Doodle chalkboard or colors on their trendy coloring sheets while we wait for our food.  We both love our "Mommy and Me" dates and the special memories that we create together.



I recently noticed a fun Mooyah campaign and want to share.  Mooyah has become so popular that they are celebrating the opening of their 100th location on Monday!  They are running a system-wide giveaway where the first 100 guests will receive iconic Fresh Hot Buns t-shirts AND free fries for a year!  This will be a fun memory to share with your family.  Personally, we are calling the event "good childhood" because it's pretty amazing to have the chance to win a fun t-shirt AND  a year of free fries! Let me share the details. You will also find them here.

Save this info to your calendar:
  • What: Mooyah's 100th location giveaway with FREE Fresh Hot Buns t-shirts AND FREE fries for a year
  • Where: All Mooyah restaurants, excluding Matthews, NC, New Orleans, LA, Baylor, UCA, SLU, or UTSA
  • When: Monday, August 29, 2016 for the first 100 in-store transactions

Since these giveaways are highly sought-after, they have a few rules to make it a fair fight: 

  • Giveaways go to the first 100 transactions (receive the t-shirt and free fries cards with receipt)
  • One giveaway recipient per transaction (if 3 people are in the party, the paying person gets the goods...it's only fair)
  • One giveaway recipient per day (spread the love and let someone else win)
  • Giveaway recipients must be 16 years of age or older)
  • In-restaurant transactions only (online, mobile app, call-in, & pick-up orders don't qualify)
  • MOOYAH team members are not eligible for giveaways
  • Family members of team members are welcome to be one of the first 100 transactions
  • Free fries for a year is equivalent to 52 free fries cards; cards expire September 1, 2017
  • Fresh Hot Buns t-shirts are available in sizes medium and XL, while supplies last
  • U.S. locations only (not available in Canada, Mexico or the Middle East)
  • Not available at locations in Matthews, NC, New Orleans, LA, Baylor, UCA, SLU, or UTSA
We hope that you have the opportunity to join the celebration! If you are one of the luck people to win a trendy Fresh Hot Buns t-shirt and FREE fries for a year, please share a photo of you wearing your t-shirt on social media using #MOOYAH!   Plus, follow #MOOYAH to see photos from others.  We are looking forward to the fun on Monday!

PS - Here are photos of our favorite meals!


These Mooyah fries are made from fresh potatoes and cooked when you order them.




I usually order a salad. They are generous with the portion size and fresh toppings.


My son loves a good burger, sweet potato fries, and Vitamin Water!



Have fun at the Mooyah 100th Location Celebration on Monday!  
Read more »

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

(Win it!) Tips for Counting Down the Last Days of Pregnancy #StreamTeam @Netflix


Tips for Counting Down the Last Days of Pregnancy
My baby is due next month and I am anxiously counting down. In today's post, I'll share some tips that are helping me to pass time quicker.  I'll also tell you about a cute show that I'm watching with my son - Beat Bugs - which holds both of our attention despite our large age gap thanks to the trendy Beatles music and great artists.  We'll also celebrate the upcoming end of my pregnancy days and the Beat Bugs release with a fun giveaway where one lucky winner will receive 6 months of FREE Netflix!

1. Get Netflix
Netflix has been a lifesaver for taking my mind off of pregnancy pains.  The 25 pounds that I have gained has changed my normal stride into a waddle.  My energy level is at an all-time low.  I want to relax more.  That's OK since my body is busy doing something completely amazing - growing a baby to love!  Nonetheless, my options for entertainment are limited. I'm so grateful for Netflix that brings thousands of shows to my living room. I watch whatever I want at any time without commercials. It rocks! I am currently hooked on watching all of the seasons ofGilmore Girls again.  When my little boy is home, we have been watching Beat Bugs!  I know that some moms aren't always thrilled to watch some children's shows, but Beat Bugs is an exception. It's pretty awesome - even for adults!  Here's a quick overview:
With the new Netflix original series Beat Bugs, inspired by the music of the Beatles, your next family sing-along can be “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds.” Thanks to five charming and energetic bug-like creatures (Jay, Kumi, Crick, Buzz and Walter), families have the opportunity to come together over kid-friendly storylines and the best damn music ever made -- recorded by today’s top artists, including Jennifer Hudson, P!nk, Sia and Eddie Vedder.
Our family loves rocking out to this trendy show!  We even have our own jam sessions with fun instruments.  Netflix completely rocked our world with this show and we highly recommend it!

2. Go on walks if your doctor approves
Walk, waddle, or whatever you need to do in order to get your exercise in. Not only does it pass time, but it makes me feel better. I have to admit that as someone with extreme morning sickness, it has been tough and my walks are often short, but I try my best. Pregnancy is hard, but try your best!

3. Join an online pregnancy group
There are many pregnancy groups out there for almost anything that you can think of - moms due during a certain month, moms in a specific region, moms of certain ages, etc.  I'm in a Facebook group of moms who are due around the same time as me. It has been a fun and educational experience to chat with these pregnant moms.

Finally, remember that the baby really will come out eventually. As someone who is 8 months pregnant, I know about the ups and downs. I'll have a day packed with nausea, vomiting, and my baby pushing on my ribs. The next day is then much better. I keep reminding myself that I am close to the end and day dream about what my little guy is going to look like.  (I always imagine that he looks like my other son, but with more hair.)

Win it!
Celebrate the release of the newest episodes of Beat Bugs and my final days of pregnancy by entering for a chance to win the ultimate prize for pregnant women - a 6 month subscription code to Netflix! Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. The winner will have 72 hours to reply to our email with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read more »

The August 2016 Paper Pumpkin Kit: Bold Botanicals



We just received our August 2016 Paper Pumpkin kit and it is a-m-a-z-i-n-g!  This trendy kit is all about bold botanicals and offers versatility.  The set contains the supplies for 6 cards/envelopes and 3 note cards/pockets.  This is a fun kit for everyone from novices to experts because the supplies make it easy to create gorgeous cards.  If you are a beginner, a subscription to Paper Pumpkin is a great way to get started because the supplies are easy to work with and they have great resources. For instance, each kit comes with instructions. Plus, they have videos at PumpkinHowTo.com


This month's kit contains: 



  • Bold Botanicals Photopolymer Stamp Set
  • Early Espresso Classic Stampin' Spot
  • 6 card bases (2 sizes)
  • 6 envelopes (2 sizes)
  • 3 printed note cards
  • 3 printed note card pockets
  • 6 printed backgrounds (2 sizes)
  • 15 printed die-cut elements
  • 9 laser-cut wooden pieces
  • 3 clothespins
  • 1 yard burlap trim
  • 6 yards brown twine
  • 50 dimensionals
  • 75 adhesive dots




In my personal experience, this kit was a lot of fun.  Let me share a few examples of my creations. The first is a pretty Thank You card for a friend. I love how detailed the card looks, but really, I have to thank the Paper Pumpkin team because I followed their instructions. They pay such close attention to detail and made it easy for me to create the card.


The next is a gift card holder. Isn't it adorable?!


We love the monthly surprises from Paper Pumpkin! Their design team is so creative and pays close attention to every last detail while creating kits that are accessible for everyone from novices to experts. My husband and little boy even love helping me to create fun cards!  We recommend that you check them out! Get started with Paper Pumpkin here. Plus, now is a great time to enroll because they are running a buy one get one (BOGO) on Paper Pumpkin from August 11 – October 10. Any new subscriber that signs up during that period will pay the regular cost of the first month and the second will be free.
Read more »

Monday, August 15, 2016

(Win it!) Boys and Their Toys: K'NEX KForce Build and Blast Line of Toys


K'NEX knows how to the rock the world of my boys!  Their latest line of K'NEX KForce Build and Blast toys has been a huge hit at our house.  Not only did they enjoy building their own creations, but they also enjoyed putting safety goggles on and having fun with them in our backyard.  Let me share the product descriptions and they our personal experience. (Spoiler alert - the boys love them and they really are as powerful as the box says!)

We tried out two compatible products - the K'NEX KForce Mini Cross Building Set and the K'NEX K-10V Building set.

Here is the product description for the K'NEX KForce Mini Cross:

Build your own customizable blaster with the Mini Cross! Fires up to 75 feet! Set includes K'NEX rods and connectors plus special parts to create your blaster: 1 blaster chamber, 1 quick fit grip, 1 preload ring and 5 foam darts. Combine with the K-10X for an awesome downloadable combo build! Compatible with the entire K-FORCE Build and Blast™ line. Ages 8+.
Features:
  • 5 Foam Darts
  • 1 Blaster Chamber
  • 1 Quick Fit Grip
  • 1 Preload Ring
  • Downloadable Combo Build
  • UPC: 744476475176



Here is the description for the K'NEX K-10V Building Set:
Build your own customizable blaster with the K-10V! Fires up to 75 feet! Set includes K'NEX rods and connectors plus special parts to create your blaster: 1 blaster chamber, 1 quick fit grip, and 1 pre-load ring in a cool see-through red! Comes with 5 foam darts. Combine with the Mini-Cross and download instructions for a double-blasting, 2-chambered combo build. Compatible with the entire K-FORCE Build and Blast™ line. Ages 8+.
Features:
  • 5 Foam Darts
  • 1 Blaster Chamber
  • 1 Quick Fit Grip
  • 1 Preload Ring
  • Downloadable Combo Build



In our personal experience, the boys spent about 30 minutes excitedly building their creations. It was fun to watch them because they were so excited and kept exclaiming how cool their toys were.  They said that building them was easy-peasy because the instructions and pieces were easy to work with.  

Once they were done building, it was time to test them out.  We were all shocked at how far they shoot.  The box is not exaggerating when it says up to 75 feet.  The designers figured out how to pack these with a lot of power. You'll want to use these outside with your kids wearing protective goggles and safety gear and make sure that there is nothing that they will break in the area because these truly live up to the advertised description.  

My boys LOVED these toys!  They had the most amazing time building and playing with them.  We plan to buy some for an upcoming birthday party gift.

Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a K'Nex Mini Cross Building Set.  Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. The winner will have 72 hours to respond to our email with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Thanks to K'NEX for providing the products for us to test out and a prize for one winner.
Read more »

Recipe: Tropical Caprese


 
Recipe: Tropical Mango Caprese
Ingredients

  • 1/2 ripe mango
  • 2 Roma tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup of small Mozzarella balls
  • 1/8 cup of spring lettuce mix
  • 1 teaspoon of basil
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cracked black pepper
  • light misting of olive oil (or light drizzle if you do not have an olive oil mister)
  • light drizzle of Balsamic glaze
Directions
1. Slice your tomatoes into 1/4" slices with a sharp knife and then layer the lettuce and tomato into each serving dish.


2. Score the mango into small pieces with a sharp knife.  Once you score the mango, carefully use a knife to remove the mango chunks from the skin. Add a layer of mango chunks to each serving dish.


 
3. Add a layer of mozzarella, mist lightly with olive oil, sprinkle with basil and cracked black pepper, and drizzle a light layer of Balsamic glaze.


 
4. Enjoy immediately or refrigerate.

Read more »

Sunday, August 14, 2016

DIY Lavender Pillow Mist and How I Finally Found The Perfect Pillow


Pregnancy and sleep deprivation has had me on the quest for the perfect night of sleep. In today's post, I'll share how I found the perfect pillows to help me sleep at night and a DIY Lavender Pillow Mist recipe.

Finding My Perfect Pillow

Prior to pregnancy, I preferred to sleep on my back. However, that is a  big no-no during pregnancy, so I had to adjust to sleeping on my side. The new sleep position and extra weight gain made it challenging for me to find comfort and to sleep well.  I tried using my existing pillows to prop myself into different positions and even bought an expensive pregnancy pillow in desperation. Nothing was working at first.  I really struggled and often woke up in the middle of the night to read a book because I just couldn't sleep.  I finally tried GhostBed pillows that rocked my world!  

The biggest difference between the GhostBed pillows and the other pillows that I tried is that they held their thickness better. I used one under my head and placed a second one between my knees to relieve some of my back pain.  Their ergonomically designed pillows are amazing on my neck and head thanks to how supportive and plush it is. The molded and solid pure gel memory foam is an amazing combination. Plus, I love that the thermo sensitive technology senses heat and adjusts to keep the sleeping environment temperature neutral. The aerated gel memory foam allows air to circulate and creates a plusher and more responsive feel.  The performance fabric is cool to the touch and wicks away moisture on the phase change side.  This pillow was a game changer for my pregnancy!  My husband and son have asked to have my pillows after I am no longer pregnant because they are jealous. 

In addition to a great pillow recommendation, I love the DIY Lavender Pillow Mist below to make bedtime special. I make this for friends and family who love it!

DIY Lavender Pillow Mist Recipe
Supplies:
  • 1 misting bottle
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1.5 tablespoon of witch hazel
  • 5 to 7 drops of lavender essential oil
Directions
1. Add the water, witch hazel, and lavender essential oil to the misting bottle and mix well.

2. Shake the misting bottle well before future uses.

Learn More
Visit GhostBed to learn more about the GhostBed pillows and follow #ghostbed on social media.
Read more »

Recipe: Easy Mini Chicken Pot Pie Muffins


Recipe: Easy Mini Chicken Pot Pie Muffins
Ingredients for filling:
  • 1 can of cream of chicken
  • 3/4 cup of milk
  • 1 pound of chicken breasts
  • 1 bag of frozen vegetables (we used carrots and peas)
  • 2 medium potatoes (chopped into small ~1/4" to 1/2" chunks)
  • 2 cans of biscuit dough
Directions:
1. Add all of the ingredients above with the exception of the biscuit dough to your slow cooker and cook on low for 4 hours (or until everything is cooked thoroughly).
2. Chop or shred chicken and mix all of the ingredients again.
3. Spray muffin pans with cooking spray so that the dough does not stick.  Press biscuit dough into the muffin pans, shaping it so that it is easy to add 2 TBSP of the filling to each.
4. Fill each biscuit with approximately 2 TBSP of filling.  (The more that you are able to fit in, the better.)  You will have leftover filling in your Crockpot.  Save this because you may want to offer the extra to guests that prefer extra filling on the side of their plate.
5. Bake for approximately 15 minutes at 400-degrees.
6. Cool and serve with the extra filling.
Personally, we love this recipe because it tastes great, looks nice, and includes all of the food groups!  It's really easy to vary the amount of ingredients if you prefer extra chicken or a higher ratio of veggies.

Read more »

Recipe: Easy Rocky Road Pancakes



Recipe: Easy Rocky Road Pancakes
  • 2 cups Original Bisquick mix
  • 1 Tablespoon of cocoa powder
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup of miniature marshmallows (cut into halves or fourths)
  • 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts
Directions   
1. Stir the Bisquick mix, cocoa powder, milk, and eggs with whisk until thoroughly blended.

2. Stir in the chocolate chips, miniature marshmallows, and walnuts.

3. Add 1/4 cup of batter to a hot griddle and cook until edges are brown on each side.

4. Optionally serve with extra chocolate chips and marshmallows on top.
Read more »

Recipe: Toffee Fruit Dip


Recipe: Toffee Fruit Dip
This recipe is great for after school snacks, play dates, and parties. It is a great way to entice everyone to eat their servings of fruit for the day. 

Ingredients
  • 8 oz. of whipped cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of crushed toffee candy bars
  • Optional: 2 Tablespoons of crushed toffee candy bars for garnish
  • Optional: Serve with apples, grapes, and your favorite fruits
Directions 
1. Add the 8 oz. of whipped cream cheese, 1/3 cup of packed brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/2 cup of crushed toffee candy bars to a medium size bowl or container and stir until thoroughly mixed.



2. Serve the Toffee Fruit Dip with your favorite fruit. 



3. Optional: Wash, chop, and store extra fruit in case your party platter runs low during your party.  If you chop and store apples, toss the apple slices in lemon juice to help prevent them from turning brown.



Read more »

ShareThis