Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links. We are an Ambassador for these brands: Netflix, Cost Plus World Market, Best Buy, SeaWorld, and HP Moms.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

(Win it!) Summer Fun Idea: Visit Swirl World at RaceTrac + Fill Your Sodapalooza Cup with a free Fountain Drink #HowYouSwirlWorld


The Texas summer heat and humidity is in full force right now.  It's a rough time of year. Fortunately, RaceTrac understands Texans and our need for cold and refreshing drinks and snacks.  Many RaceTrac stores now have trendy Swirl Worlds that offer a combinatorial explosion of frozen yogurt and topping combinations.  In today's post, I will give you a tour and then tell you about the RaceTrac Swirl World Sweepstakes and Twitter party.  We will also share a giveaway for just our readers where you will have the opportunity to enter for a chance to win a $50 RaceTrac gift card.




Start by selecting a cup or cone.  I really like that RaceTrac is transparent about the pricing as shown in the photo below. You pay by the ounce if you buy a cup. Cones are a flat price. There is special for RaceTrac stores in Texas for June and July where cones are only 79-cents! As for the cup creations, the 44-cents per ounce price is the cheapest that I've come across at fro-yo shops in our area.  RaceTrac keeps scales near the register so that you are able to check the weight.  My son likes this because I will tell him that he is allowed to have 7 ounces total. (That is one ounce for each year of his age.)  It's funny to watch him because he methodologically goes back and forth between the toppings and scale as he tries to maximize the size of his treat within the bound that I set. It's also fun to see him practicing math as he adds different toppings.




Once you choose a cup or cone, there are several flavor options. They offer little cups for you to sample the flavors. My husband and I really like the Cookies & Cream flavor, but they are all delicious.





My son prefers to mix flavors. For instance, they offer "Swirl It" options that mix two different flavors together.  My son really likes the Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake combination.



Now, let's talk about toppings.  This is my favorite part because I love a variety of toppings.  Swirl World offers more than 40 different toppings. My husband and son like a ration of 80% frozen yogurt and 20% toppings, but I'm the opposite. I like about 25% frozen yogurt and 75% toppings.   We all have our quirks, right?!   Anyway, I really like the clean and organized topping bar as shown below.




The Andes Candies are my favorite!




My son is a gummy bear and sprinkle kid.





My husband loves the Reese's Pieces!



We also love the mini M&M's.  Isn't everything better when it is tiny?!





Finally, the topping bar is complete with caramel and hot fudge. 



RacetTac thought of every last detail when they designed their Swirl World locations!  It's my favorite place for frozen yogurt because there are many options of frozen yogurt and toppings, plus the prices are less than the other frozen yogurt prices.


Finally, many RaceTrac stores now have little patios with fans. This is a great place sit and enjoy your treats with your families.



In addition to the trendy Swirl World dessert options, don't forget about Sodapalooza!  Now through July 31st, RaceTrac offers free refills in the special Sodapalooza cups. The cups are only $11.99. You may also find a coupon for $2 off of each cup on the RaceTrac app.  Plus, each cup contains coupons for free items and special deals.   The Sodapalooza cups are a "while supplies last deal". Check your local RaceTrac asap in hope of scoring one of these special cups.




Join the #SwirlWorld Fun with the Swirl World Sweepstakes & Twitter Party
RaceTrac is hosting a Swirl World Sweepstakes with sweet prizes!  We'll post the details about this soon.

In addition, join the RaceTrac #HowYouSwirlWorld Twitter party. Here are the details:

  • What: RaceTrac's Swirl World Twitter party where you will have a chance to chat and win prizes
  • When: June 29th at 8PM
  • Where: Visit Twitter and follow #HowYouSwirlWorld

We hope that you will join the Twitter party! We will be there and would love to chat with you.

Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a $50 RaceTrac gift card. Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. The winner will have 72 hours to respond to our email with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck! * Get the full details below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*HOW YOU SWIRL WORLD SWEEPSTAKES OFFICIAL RULES
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY.  PURCHASE WILL NOT INCREASE CHANCES OF WINNING.
SPONSOR: Trendy Mom Reviews
WHO IS ELIGIBLE:  Sweepstakes is open to GA, LA, FL and TX residents age 18 or older at time of entry.  WHEN TO ENTER: This Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 a.m. ET on 6/26/17 and ends at 11:59:59 p.m. ET on 7/31/17.   HOW TO ENTER: Complete a Twitter tweet or an Instagram post containing the hashtags #HowYouSwirlWorld and #Sweepstakes ("Hashtags") and tag @trendymomreview. Entries without Hashtags are ineligible. Participation is subject to term of use of Twitter.com or Instagram.com as applicable. If entering via a mobile device: Message and Data Rates May Apply; and you are responsible for all applicable fees associated with entry submission. Entry Limit: one entry per Twitter and Instagram account per day.  Entrants who participate with multiple Twitter or Instagram accounts or otherwise attempt to exceed the entry limit will be disqualified. Proof of entry submission is not proof of Sponsor’s receipt.  WINNER SELECTION:  Winner will be selected in a random drawing on or about 8/11/17.  Odds of winning the prize depend upon the number of eligible entries received.  Sponsor’s decisions are final on all matters related to selection of the winner or otherwise related to the Sweepstakes.  PRIZE:  One (1) Prize:  a single $50 RaceTrac gift card. (Gift cards are subject to terms and conditions of their issuer.)  All applicable taxes, fees and other expenses associated with acceptance/use of the prize are winner’s responsibility. Sponsor can substitute the prize with one of equal/greater value but no other substitution/transfer of prize is permitted. PRIZE DELIVERY: Prize to be delivered via mail once the winner’s address is provided. Selected winner may be disqualified if his/her prize, winner notification or other communication is returned as undeliverable or if he/she does not respond as specified in winner notification.  ENTRANT RELEASE: Winner agrees to the use of his/her name, address, likeness and/or prize information for promotional purposes in any medium without additional compensation to the extent permitted by law. By participating in this Sweepstakes, each entrant represents to Sponsor that he/she has the legal capacity to agree to and has complied with these Official Rules. EACH ENTRANT AGREES TO RELEASE SPONSOR, TWITTER, INC., INSTAGRAM AND THEIR RESPECTIVE AFFILIATES AND ADVERTISING/PROMOTION AGENCIES AND EACH OF THESE ENTITIES’ RESPECTIVE OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, MANAGERS, SHAREHOLDERS, EMPLOYEES, AGENTS, REPRESENTATIVES, SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS (COLLECTIVELY “RELEASED PARTIES”) FROM ALL LIABILITY, LOSS OR DAMAGES ARISING FROM OR IN CONNECTION WITH THIS SWEEPSTAKES.  GENERAL RULES: This Sweepstakes is void outside GA, LA, FL and TX and where prohibited. This Sweepstakes is governed by the internal laws of the State of Texas.  Any legal action arising in connection with this Sweepstakes must be brought in a court of competent jurisdiction located in or encompassing Tarrant County in the State of Texas.  The Released Parties are not responsible for: late, lost, stolen, damaged, garbled, incomplete, postage-due, undeliverable, misaddressed or misdirected Sweepstakes entries, email or other communications; damage to any computer system resulting from Sweepstakes participation; or errors, omissions, interruptions, deletions, defects or delays in operations or transmission of information. Sponsor reserves the right to restrict participation from any IP or MAC address, Twitter account or Instagram account if suspicious activity is detected or suspected. Sponsor reserves the right, at its sole discretion, to modify, terminate or suspend this Sweepstakes if for any reason this Sweepstakes cannot be conducted as designed or intended. Sponsor also reserves the right to correct errors or inconsistencies in promotional materials or prize announcement.  WINNER’S NAME:  Winner’s first name, first initial of last name and state of residence will be posted at TrendyMomReviews.com or Twitter.com/trendymomreview. The Sweepstakes is in no way sponsored, endorsed or administered by Twitter or Instagram.  All trademarks are the property of their respective owners.  Offer is void where prohibited (and is subject to all applicable Federal, state, and local laws).

Read more »

Sunday, June 25, 2017

(Win it!) Summer Fun Idea: Farm Fresh Meals at Modern Market + Free Kids Meals on Sunday and Monday Evenings



If you follow regularly, you know that our family visits Modern Market every week because we love their trendy recipes that use fresh and wholesome ingredients. Modern Market is selective about the ingredients in their meals. None of their ingredients contain questionable additives, fillers, or preservatives such as nitrates. They make it easy to take my children out to eat because I am happy for them to eat anything on the Modern Market menu. In today's post, I'll tell you about some of their newer menu items and how "Kids eat Free" on Sunday and Monday evenings. I'll also tell you about their app. Finally, we will give you the opportunity for a chance to win a Modern Market gift card for your family.


As I mentioned earlier, Modern Market is my favorite restaurant here in Southlake because they have trendy recipes that use good quality ingredients. All of their meals are fantastic, but my go-to meals are typically the Thai Coconut Salad and Crimini Kale Pizza.



However, there are a couple of new menu items that I am in love with - the Blueberry Pesto Sandwich, Diablo Sandwich, and Hot Honey Pizza. Let me share the mouthwatering details. The Blueberry Pesto Sandwich includes fresh mozzarella, tomato, arugula, basil pesto, and blueberry balsamic jam, on Izzio's toasted ciabatta. The jam only contains five ingredients: blueberries, lemon juice, water, a smidge of pure cane sugar and balsamic vinegar. At first bite, you’ll understand why they make it in-house.



The next meal is the Diablo Sandwich with Curry Split Pea Soup. This trendy sandwich includes grilled steak, roasted cabbage jalapeno slaw, gochujang aioli, and fresh lime on Izzio's ciabatta. The Curry Split Pea Soup contains creamy yellow split pea and fresh veggies in a rich vegan coconut milk and yellow curry broth. This is a great combination!



The next item is the Hot Honey Pizza. This pizza rocked our world! Seriously, I have no idea how I went my entire life without ever adding honey to a pizza. This pizza includes Creminelli salami piccante, goat cheese, arugula, organic red sauce, and Mike's Hot Honey on whole grain dough. I have to admit that this pizza is so amazing that we ordered it 3 nights in a row. We don't usually eat out that often, but we were all obsessed with this pizza!



As I mentioned earlier, Modern Market offers Free Kids Meals on Sunday and Monday evenings after 5pm with the purchase of each adult meal. It's an exceptional deal. All of their Kids Meals are fantastic. Our children love the Pepe Pizza. It is basically half of the size of the adult pizza and uses the same high quality ingredients such as the nitrate-free pepperoni. This is a large serving size for my son. He usually eats half at the restaurant and then eats the other half for lunch the next day.



Finally, download the Modern Market app.  Not only will you receive $3 off with your first purchase when you scan your app, but you will also earn credits for your purchases.  It's really easy and convenient to use.  Click here to learn more.


We hope that you have the opportunity to visit Modern Market for their new menu items and trendy Kids Meals.

Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a $25 Modern Market gift card.  Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner will have 72 hours to respond with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read more »

Saturday, June 24, 2017

(Win it!) Summer Fun Idea: McAlister's Free Tea Day + Inexpensive Kids Meals #FreeTeaDay2017


The first month of summer vacation is almost over.  We hope that you have enjoyed our series of posts that contain fun ideas of things to do with your children.  We have a few more lined up, including a really good one that we'll share today that involves delicious tea and kids meals at McAlister's Deli.  Let me share the details.

  • What: McAlister's Deli FREE TEA DAY  + Everyday Kids Meal Deals
  • When: June 29, 2017
  • Where: McAlister's Deli nationwide (Click here for a store locator.)

Free Tea Day at McAlister's Deli has become a popular annual event. Their iconic tea is delicious any day of the year, but is particularly refreshing during the summer heat waves.  Nothing beats one of their cold and delicious teas on a  hot Texas afternoon.  Even better, they offer FREE ice-cold tea on June 29th!  In addition to free tea, there is also a fun contest where customers have a chance to win up to $5000.  It's fun and easy to enter by using social media. Visit here to get the full details.



Now that I've told you about McAlister's Free Tea Day, let me also share details about their trendy Kids Meals.  The Kids Meals deals vary across the country, so call ahead to get the specific details for your location, but here in Southlake and Colleyville, the Kids Meals are just $2.49.  That's right - an entire kids meal for the approximate price of a cup of coffee.  The Kids Meals are good serving sizes too. They offer several Kids Meal options, but my 7 year old loves, loves, loves the Kids Turkey & Cheese Meal and Kids Mac & Cheese Meal.  McAlister's makes it fun and inexpensive to take your children out to eat delicious meals.


We hope that you have an opportunity to experience McAlister's Free Tea Day on June 29th. Of course, the everyday low price on Kids Meals is fantastic all year round!

Win it!
One winner will receive a trendy McAlister's Free Tea Day Prize Pack. Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes.  The winner will have 48 hours to respond to our email with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Read more »

Netflix is a Lifesaver Now that My Son Has Aged Out of Nap Time. #StreamTeam

My oldest son is home for the summer.  He is a very energetic 7 year old who keeps me busy.  He still wakes up with the sun and pulls me out of bed while I am half asleep.  We have our routine where I prepare his breakfast and then he completes pages from his workbooks.  We then go on a run, bike ride, or swim.  We come back to shower and then select a restaurant for lunch. It doesn't sound like much, but I'm am often tired after lunch and realize that I need to catch up on email and various chores around the house.  He's too old for nap time, so we have replaced it with calm Netflix time.  Notice my emphasis on calm.  My son has aged out of nap time, but I find the same level of peace and quiet when he enjoys his hour of Netflix in the afternoon.  It has been a life saver.  In today's post, I'll share some of my favorite shows for moms and children.

Let's start with my son's favorite show of he moment - Puss in Book: Trapped in an Epic Tale. This trendy Netflix show introduces interactive watching capabilities and puts the storytelling power in the hands of the most important audience member — your kids.  I won't spoil the series for you, but I will share one example. At one point in an episode, the show stops and asks if the characters should be friends or foes.  Your child has the opportunity to decide and then the show adapts based on their choice.  It's a lot of fun for little ones!  My son loves to have the power to influence stories.  Personally, it reminds me of the branch books from when I was a child where you flipped to a certain page in a book depending on your answer to a question.



If your little one is into this show like my son, please feel welcome to print the coloring sheet below.  



Some other great releases for kids includes Degrassi: Next Class and Dawn of the Croods.   Really though, there is no shortage of great content for kids on Netflix.  They have thousands of hours of trendy shows available.



While you bask in the peace and quiet of your little one's Netflix routine, you may also want to watch some good shows yourself. Personally, I tend to catch up on work and chores while my son enjoys his hour of Netflix, but I watch Netflix at night before I go to bed.  Here are some of my recent favorites.

I watched the entire season of The Ranch last week.  The season went by quickly and ended with a cliff hanger. I binged watched all of the new episodes last week.  I couldn't help it because each episode was even better than the previous.



I'm currently watching Young & Hungry.  I'm planning to watch the second episode tonight and watch a new episode every evening until I finish the season.  I keep hoping that Josh and Gabby will finally get it together!



Finally, GLOW is on my list of shows to watch since the first season was released yesterday. It sounds like an entertaining show that makes it fun to reminisce about the 80's. My husband made me promise to wait for him so that we are able to watch it together.



We are almost one third of the way through summer break.  We hope that you will continue to follow our series of posts that contain ideas to entertain your children this summer.  Time goes by quickly, but while you are busy trying to create memories, don't forget to enjoy time to relax too!

We are a member of the Netflix Stream Team. Follow #StreamTeam on social media to read posts by other trendy Netflix Stream Team members.
Read more »

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Summer Fun Idea: Paper Pumpkin Subscription Kits



We hope that you are enjoying our series of posts with ideas of fun things to do with your children this summer. In today's post, I'll share one of our family's favorite activities -  working on Pamper Pumpkin kits from Stampin' Up!

Paper Pumpkin is a trendy subscription service that delivers a project for you to work on each month. The kits include everything that you need for the monthly project, so you are set to go from the moment that open the box.  I actually intended the Paper Pumpkin subscription for myself, but it turns out that my entire family enjoys working on the projects. Since everyone is home for summer, it's a fun activity to share my kit with them.

This month's Paper Pumpkin kit for June 2017 is called, "One in a Melon". The kit includes:
  • One in a Melon Photopolymer Stamp Set
  • Emerald Envy Classic Stampin' Spot
  • Melon Mambo  Classic Stampin' Spot
  • 6 printed card bases
  • 4 printed bags
  •  6 white envelopes
  • 4 sheets printed cotton paper
  • 2 sheets watercolor die-cut pieces
  • 2 sheets white die-cut pieces
  • 1 sheet laser-cut leaf stickers
  • 4 yds. pink baker's twine
  • 4 green mini clothespins
  • 100 dimensionals 
  • 100 adhesive dots


We enjoyed working with this trendy watermelon-themed kit!  It makes cute little cards and gift bags. Here is an example of a colorful card and gift bag that we made!


We hope that you are enjoying the summer break.  It's always nice to find indoor activities during the summer here in Texas.  We really enjoy spending time in the air conditioning and working on projects together. The June 2017 Paper Pumpkin kit was a fun project. We look forward to next month's surprise! 

If you want to learn more, click here to visit the Paper Pumpkin website.
Read more »

Summer Recipe: Gaea's Cucumber Salad with Fresh Herbs, Orange Segments and Citrus Dressing


Gaea's Cucumber Salad with Fresh Herbs, Orange Segments and Citrus Dressing
Ingredients
  • 6 small cucumbers
  • Sea Salt
  • For dressing:
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh rosemary
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh oregano
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh thyme
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh mint

Directions
Wash cucumber and oranges well. Peel oranges, remove white membrane and cut fresh in thin slices. Thinly slice cucumber with a mandolin. Combine salt and two kinds of pepper in glass or stainless steel bowl and add lemon juice. Slowly add olive oil while stirring constantly with wire whisk. Combine dressing with orange slices and fresh herbs. To serve: Arrange cucumbers in dishes and pour over prepared dressing. Sprinkle with a little coarse salt.

Thanks to Gaea for providing this trendy recipe and photo!
Read more »

ShareThis