Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links.

Thursday, July 28, 2016

5 Tips for Newborns with Sensitive Skin #WaterWipesBRU


This post was sponsored by WaterWipes as part of an Influencer Activation for Influence Central. I received complimentary products to facilitate my review.

Similar to many other newborns, my son had very sensitive skin. The poor little guy experienced rashes that made him uncomfortable from the day that he was born. He was allergic to the blankets at the hospital and started off quickly with rashes.  We had to be extra cautious in not only clearing up the rashes, but also avoiding irritants.  In today's post, I'll share five tips for newborns with sensitive skin.

5 Tips for Newborns with Sensitive Skin

The majority of our tips include avoiding chemicals.  It's surprising how many baby products include fragrance or other irritants that may cause problems for some babies such as mine.  One of the best products that we have found is the chemical free WaterWipes baby wipes that we found at Babies 'R' Us.  It's really interesting because they contain just two ingredients - 99.9% pure Irish water and 0.1% grapefruit seed extract. There are no preservatives, but the package stays good for up to two years before it is opened or up to 3 months after opening.  In addition to the chemical-free design, the physical design of the wipes helps to promote a sterile environment as they are not inter folded. We have also found them to be durable and effective. We switched to these wipes with great success!  

You will find the WaterWipes at Babies 'R' Us for a reasonable price of $14.99 for larger value packs or $3.99 for individual 60-count packs.  They are easy to find in the area with diapers and wipes. 



Let me share tips that we found useful for our newborn with sensitive skin.

1. Wash laundry in gentle fragrance-free detergent.

The detergent or bleach that they used on the hospital blankets caused our son to have a bad rash.  We washed everything at home in a gentle fragrance-free detergent which was helpful.

2. Clean spit-up gently with WaterWipes

Our baby had reflux. We started with reusable burp cloths which worked fine with the only issue that we went through many burp cloths each day and would run out.  Using WaterWipes was more convenient for us because they were gentle and disposable. We have been so sleep deprived ever since our son was born, so this was a nice way to cut back on laundry while also keeping him comfortably clean.

3. Use sensitive products for diaper changes.

Diaper rash happens to even the most privileged babies. I remember hearing Brad Pitt talk about how bad he felt about one of his children having diaper rash when they were a baby.  The issue is real and seems to quickly spiral out of control.  I recommend being as proactive as possible from the beginning to avoid problems. Pay close attention to your baby's reaction to diapers in case a particular brand irritates their skin.  We then use the chemical-free baby wipes that we mentioned earlier, WaterWipes.


4. Gently wipe your baby clean on some days instead of baths.
Check with your pediatrician first, but for us, my son's pediatrician recommended that we gently wipe him clean instead of bathing him everyday since his skin was so sensitive.  On some days, we used WaterWipes to clean the sandman from his face and any other areas that needed attention.

5. Have two people bathe the baby.

This tip may vary by person, but for us, it helped to have two of us to bathe the baby.  We use a baby bathtub and one person holds the baby to give him support while the other gently washes him.  There may be some people out there who are able to bath their newborn on their own, but for us, having one person who gives the baby support while the second person gently washes him has been the way to go.  We only use gentle fragrance-free baby wash.



While the newborn phase lasts one month, we will still follow these tips for many months to come since we like natural products and gentle approaches to caring for our son.

Win it!
I-C is hosting a contest in which you may enter for a chance to win one of five (5) $100 Babies 'R' Us gift cards. Enter below between July 28, 2016 to August 18, 2016. This giveaway widget is shared on multiple blogs/websites. I-C will randomly select winners from all program entries and will facilitate prize fulfillment.
WaterWipes Babies"R"Us Giveaway

Learn More
Visit WaterWipes and follow them on Facebook and Twitter.  

Follow #WaterWipesBRU for other great posts about WaterWipes.
Read more »

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Celebrate National Chicken Tender Day at PDQ Today (Deal runs from 7/27 - 7/31)


The Texas heat is not easing up!  We've gone too many days without any relief. If you are like me, you are tired of the heat and even tired of anything that involves heat such as making dinner. Skip making dinner for your family tonight and everyone will be happy. It's a win-win for you and your family as you won't have to cook and your family will love the PDQ food! 

Here are the details:
  • What: 3 free chicken tenders at PDQ in honor of National Chicken Tender Day
  • When: Today, July 27 until July 31, 2016
  • Where: PDQ in Plano, Frisco, or Murphy
  • How:  Sign up for the Fan Club on the PDQ website by clicking on the "Fans" tab and filling out information. Each fan club member will be emailed a one-time coupon good  for three free tenders that can be redeemed over five days -- Wednesday, July 27 through Sunday, July 31The deal includes a choice of any of PDQ’s homemade sauces: Bleu Cheese; Buffalo Bleu; Creamy Garlic; Chipotle BBQ; Honey BBQ; Honey Mustard; Ranch; Sweet Sriracha.  (Creamy Garlic is my favorite!)
While you are there, I hope that you have the opportunity to try my favorite menu item - the apples with toffee dip.  The combination of the apples and dip is so amazing!
Read more »

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Doze with the Dinosaurs at the Perot Museum: The Ultimate Childhood Memory


In today's post, I will tell you about an amazing one-of-a-kind experience that we highly recommend to families in the DFW metro - a sleepover at the Perot Museum! 
Doze with the Dinosaurs.
My family considers this event to be the ultimate childhood memory! Let me share the schedule and a few photos from our recent experience.

General Sleepover Schedule
  • 6:30pm Museum Shop opens 
  • 7-7:30pm Checkin 
  • 7:30pm Welcome to your sleepover adventure! 
  • 8pm Family-friendly film 
  • 8:40pm Snack time 
  • 8:45-11:30pm Explore the five levels of the Museum and special hands-on activities for sleepover guests 
  • Midnight Lights out! 
  • 7:15am Rise and shine! 
  • 7:30am Breakfast 
  • 8:00am Farewell! 
My husband and son arrived around 7:00pm and were easily able to find parking. It was convenient to park right next to the museum, especially since they had to carry their sleeping bags, change of clothing, and toothbrushes. My husband commented that the check-in was very nice and well organized. The staff members at the Perot Museum are always seem so enthusiastic to be there.

The first item on the schedule was the "Welcome to your sleepover adventure" introduction. They shared the rules and expectations for the evening so that all of the families could enjoy the sleepover. It was interesting to learn that one of the employees has participated in 50+ sleepovers!   (Isn't that the most amazing job perk?!)



The next activity was a family-friendly movie. After the movie, they attended a session with exciting science experiments. For instance, we were able to see an exciting Hydrogen explosion and liquid Nitrogen in action.





After the live science experiments, my husband and son explored the museum.  They visited and experienced everything from hands-on exhibits with robots to races with virtual cheetahs and dinosaurs. My husband and son still rave about all of the amazing interactive exhibits. They were busy the entire time with the exception of a snack break that was included with the event.  My son loved that he scored gummy dinosaurs for a snack!

Finally, they staked their claim on where to place their sleeping bags.  They slept under a pterodactyl and across from an Alamosaurus!  Isn't that truly amazing?  We laugh because my husband  woke up in the middle of the night and flinched because he forgot where he was. They loved waking up in such a unique and immersive environment.



If you look past the lights in the photo below, you'll notice that this is an actual pterodactyl skeleton!



Finally, they enjoyed breakfast at the museum and packed up their sleeping bags to head home.  This is an iconic part of my son's childhood and is a memory that our family will always treasure.  This is a must-do activity for all DFW families and visitors!  


Learn More
Visit the Perot Museum "Doze with the Dinosaurs" website to book tickets for your family to experience this trendy sleepover! 




Read more »

Visit the Grand Opening of the Trendy Gigi's Cupcakes in Southlake on Saturday!


Life in Southlake is now complete as we finally have a trendy Gigi's Cupcakes!  This trendy cupcake shop is full of crave-worthy cupcakes, cookies, cheesecakes, and gourmet pops.  You won't want to miss the Grand Opening! Here are the details:

When: Saturday, July 9, 2016 from 10am to 8pm.  
Details: 
  • Meet Gigi! You will have the opportunity to meet the founder, Gigi Butler.
  • Support CISD! $1 from every transaction will be donated to our Dragons (CISD).  
  • Have a chance to win prizes! The first 50 customers will receive "free cupcakes for a year" and there will be prizes every hour.  

We had the opportunity to meet Gigi last night and she taught us how to do her famous cupcake swirl for the frosting. She also spoiled us with an unbelievable sampling of different cupcakes, cheesecakes, and her amazing stuffed cookies. Let me share a few photos because I think that they will make you want to be among the first in line for the grand opening.  (I'm already craving another visit!)

Meeting Gigi was an amazing experience.  She is such a perfectionist that pays attention to every detail.  Many people love their businesses, but she takes things to an entirely different level because she perfects each and every detail.  That's what I love about their cupcakes - they are truly perfect!  She uses a combination of family recipes and newer recipes. In some cases, she went through hundreds of recipe revisions to make them perfect.  She doesn't release a new product unless she is 100% happy with it.  She even ran her stuffed cookie recipe past the founder of Mrs. Fields and continually refined it until it was perfect!


When I mention perfection, she even designed a box that people would love.  She really pays attention to every last detail - large and small!  When my family sees this box, they immediately run to the kitchen to ask which cupcakes they are allowed to take.  This box is magical - their eyes light up!  (I know that some of us Southlake Moms stock up on special treats when we know tornado warnings are coming.  Add a box of these cupcakes to your tornado emergency list for fun family memories!)



After Gigi gave us an overview of her trendy cupcake shops, we samples several amazing cupcakes.  



Let me share a few of my favorites!  The wedding cake is their #1 seller and often accounts for 15% of their profits.


The chocolate and peanut butter combination is my personal favorite!


My husband's favorite is the strawberry shortcake. They use fresh strawberries to make these delicious cupcakes.


Another one of our favorites is the cookie dough cupcake.  Their secret recipe is amazing! The frosting tastes like cookie dough.


Finally, my son will tell you that vanilla cupcakes are his favorite.  This is a cupcake that Gigi helped him to frost. He is 5 years old and very proud of his creation.  He wants to be on Master Chef Jr. one day, so perhaps his "Gigi Swirl" training is his first big step toward this goal!


We love the new Gigi's Cupcakes in Southlake. We hope that you have the opportunity to visit the Grand Opening celebration tomorrow.  It should be a lot of fun, plus our purchases help to support our CISD Dragons!  (I have to admit that buying Gigi's Cupcakes is my favorite fundraiser of the year...)   Learn more here.
Read more »

Monday, July 25, 2016

(Win it!) Miracles from Heaven on Blu-ray & DVD


MIRACLES FROM HEAVEN
Available on Blu-ray & DVD

We want to let you know about a good movie that is perfect for a family movie night at home - Miracles from Heaven. This trendy movie is now available on Blu-ray and DVD. Let me share an overview and short clip. We'll then share a giveaway for one lucky winner to receive their own copy of the movie and a gift card for snacks.



Here is a quick overview of the movie:
When Christy (Jennifer Garner) discovers her 10-year-old daughter Annabel (Kylie Rogers) has a rare, incurable disease, she becomes a ferocious advocate for her daughter’s healing as she searches for a solution. After Annabel has a freak accident and falls three stories, a miracle unfolds in the wake of her dramatic rescue that leaves medical specialists mystified, her family restored and their community inspired.

Bonus content on the MIRACLES FROM HEAVEN Blu-ray and DVD releases include two featurettes, as well as commentary. Join Jennifer Garner, Queen Latifah, their costars and crew for a behind the scenes look at the making of this very special film, in “Miracles Abound: The Making of Miracles From Heaven.” Viewers will also meet the real-life Beam family and Dr. Nurko, learn about the casting of the film and the challenge of “the tree.” Shot at the Beam family ranch in Burleson, TX, “Bearing Witness,” features the Beam Family, their pastor, friends, first-responders and community as they gather around the tree and celebrate their faith and the miracles that brought them together. In the “Your Words” montage, experience some of the film's most touching and memorable moments set against Third Day's powerful rendition of the inspirational song.
The movie is based on the memoir by Christy Beam and stars Jennifer Garner, Kylie Rogers, Martin Henderson, John Carroll Lynch, with Eugenio Derbez and Queen Latifah. It is rated PG.



Here is a sneak peek:



Here are special details about the release:
The Blu-ray release exclusively contains deleted scenes and the featurette “Accounts from Annabel,” where Christy and Anna reflect together on their past, present, future, faith and bonding over the past four years since the incident.

Blu-ray & DVD Extras include:Featurettes:
·         "Miracles Abound: The Making of Miracles From Heaven"
·         "Bearing Witness"
·         Creating Heaven: Concept Art Exploration
·         "Your Words" Music Montage

Commentary with Director Patricia Riggen and Screenwriter Randy Brown
 Additional exclusive Extras to the Blu-ray include:Deleted Scenes
Featurette:
·         "Accounts From Annabel"
 

Win it!
One (1) winner will receive a Miracles From Heaven Family Movie Night prize pack including:
o    $25 Visa Gift Card to purchase snacks
o    Popcorn
o    Copy of MIRACLES FROM HEAVEN on DVD



Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. The winner will have 72 hours to respond to our email with their shipping address, otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!
Learn More
Visit the Official Website
Like on Facebook, Follow on Twitter, and follow #MiraclesFromHeaven
Purchase your copy of the DVD at Walmart
Watch the Trailer


Read more »

ShareThis