Dallas Mom Blog and Fort Worth Mom Blogger: Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links. We are an Ambassador for these brands: Netflix, Cost Plus World Market, Best Buy, SeaWorld, and HP Moms.

Monday, June 21, 2021

ZURU's Amazon Prime Day - Check out the CRAZY Awesome Deal of the Day!

 

Are you ready for Amazon Prime Day?! There are thousands of deals out there, but one that you won't want to miss is Zuru's deal on Bunch O Balloons! Here is the quick overview:

What: ZURU AMAZON PRIME DAY OFFER of 30% Off Bunch O Balloons 10 Pack (Amazon Exclusive)

Where: Order on Amazon here.

This is a deal that you won't want to miss! ZURU is a leader in quality products and great prices, however, ZURU's Amazon Prime Day Deal is an outdoor splash you are not going to want to miss! With this very special deal you can save 30% on their Bunch O Balloons Rapid Fill 10 Pack and Crazy Rapid Fill 10 Pack.  ZURU Amazon Prime Day Deal is good on June 21st only! Bunch O Balloons - This spring the “go-to” water balloon around the globe that fills and ties 100 balloons in 60 seconds are now 100% recyclable! ZURU Bunch O Balloons, the original and best-selling water balloons are now made using recyclable plastics, which has led to over 1,200 tons of plastic being removed from this brand this year, a 57% increase over the company’s original goal of 800 tons set last year. In addition, balloons are made of natural latex rubber and biodegrade, further delivering on environmentally and sustainable practices.  



With Crazy ZURU Bunch O Balloons Water, each stem comes with a completely new mix of multi-colored balloons for added backyard water excitement. All ZURU Bunch O Balloons™ products in the USA, Canada, U.K., Australia and New Zealand will be fully recyclable through their new TerraCycle Recycling program. Consumers simply sign-up online, package all their used Bunch O Balloons packaging and balloon pieces then ship to TerraCycle, where they will then be processed and recycled into new materials. Available at Amazon.



Read more »

(Win it!) Take Summer fun to the next level with the Little Bites® Fill Your Summer with Fun Sweepstakes! #LoveLittleBites #FillYourSummerWithFun

 
Disclosure: Thanks to Little Bites® for sponsoring this post.The coupons for product redemption, information, and gift card have been provided by Little Bites® so that I could try the product and share my thoughts and information about Little Bites®. The opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Little Bites®.

If you follow regularly, you know that we love Entenmann's Little Bites Snacks because they offer many perfectly portioned snacks in delicious varieties that don't contain high fructose syrup, artificial flavors or colors. My boys are big fans of Little Bites Mini Muffins and were excited to see the new Little Bites® Mini Tarts.  In today's post, I'll tell you about these Perfect Portions of Happiness® in an exciting new tart snack option, point you to the Little Bites® Fill Your Summer with Fun Sweepstakes, and give our readers the opportunity to enter for a chance to win a $25 prepaid Visa and coupons to try Little Bites® Mini Tarts! (Spoiler alert: The Mini Tarts are a big hit!)

Let's start with our personal experience with the Little Bites® Mini Tarts! These sweet little treats come in three varieties that kids love, including apple, strawberry, and cinnamon. As a parent, you'll love that they are made with real apples, real strawberries, and real cinnamon without using questionable things such as high fructose corn syrup, artificial flavors, or colors.  If your children are like mine, they will appreciate the real taste that comes from real fruits!  While all of the flavors are delicious, my oldest son is partial to the strawberry Mini Tarts and my youngest son is obsessed with the apple Mini Tarts.  (This makes sense since the products use real fruit and they each love their favorite fruits!) 

The combination of the soft baked texture and the delicious filling has been a hit with my children.  While  Little Bites® Mini Tarts are perfect just the way that they come, we also love to let our kids add fruits to them.  We encourage you to try this fun and edible Little Bites® Mini Tarts Fruit Kabobs recipe!

Recipe: Fun and Edible Little Bites® Mini Tarts Fruit Kabobs

Ingredients and Supplies:

  • One pouch of Little Bites® Mini Tarts for each child
  • Four toothpicks for each child
  • Several strawberries (chopped)
  • One apple (sliced)

Directions
1. Give each child a package of Little Bites® Mini Tarts and plenty of fresh fruit to make kabobs. (Tell them to get creative!)

2. Encourage your children to use the toothpicks to create the kabobs by placing 
Little Bites® Mini Tarts and pieces of strawberries and/or apples on the toothpicks. 

3. Once they create their Little Bites® Mini Tarts Fruit Kabobs, they may arrange extra fruit around the kabobs to create a pretty platter!


Little Bites® Fill Your Summer with Fun Sweepstakes

Now that we've shared our love for Little Bites® Mini Tarts, let me tell you about how Little Bites® Snacks is taking summer fun to the next level with the Little Bites® Fill Your Summer with Fun Sweepstakes!  Here is the overview:


What: Little Bites® Fill Your Summer with Fun Sweepstakes

When: June 21 through July 30, 2021 (5PM ET)

Where: Online at www.LittleBitesSummerFun.com  

How: Parents can enter the sweepstakes by submitting the online entry form that includes a brief description of how they plan to have fun with their child this summer and then winners will be selected in a random drawing after the entry period closes.

Prizes: This sweepstakes includes fabulous summer themed prizes, including (5) Grand Prize winners will win a backyard playground set and 500 First Prize winners will win a branded backpack filled with summer toys to encourage outdoor play

This is a fun sweeps for summer! We hope that you have a chance to enter the giveaway! 

Win it!

One of our lucky readers will receive a Little Bites® Fill Your Summer prize pack that includes one (1) $25 virtual Visa gift card and three (3) coupons for up to $5.00 off the purchase of Little Bites® products.  The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. The winner will have 48 hours to respond to our email with their shipping address. Otherwise, we will choose a different winner. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Learn More

Visit Little Bites® on their Website and YouTube.  You will also want to follow on social media for fun updates, including on Facebook and Instagram!


Read more »

Sunday, June 20, 2021

The 2021 Father's Day Gift Guide



Father's Day is on Sunday, June 20th this year.  In today's post, I'll share trendy Father's Day gift ideas that are sure to be popular this year!

Wine Insiders has the perfect wines for summer barbecues and relaxing evenings - the Flavor-Packed Grilling Wines Half-Case! Dads will love this half case of wine that is packed with hearty reds and fresh white wines. The bold reds and fresh whites pair well with many popular barbecue foods.  If you aren't familiar with this company, you are in for a treat! Wine Insiders curates memorable wines at great prices with top notch customer service.  The secret behind this 5 star company is their business model. They have direct relationships with top wineries which allows them to avoid typical markups associated with marketing, advertising, and store operations. Their experts curate 40 popular varietals from 15 top wine regions. I've always been impressed with the wines that they send, but it's nice to know that they have a 100% satisfaction guarantee. This customer oriented company promises to make things right if you are ever unhappy. Visit Wine Insiders here.

Garrison Brothers’ small batch bourbon whiskey is the perfect gift for dads. This award-winning Texas-based brand hand crafts one barrel at a time on their gorgeous ranch in Hye, Texas. As Texans, we have high standards for bourbon whiskey thanks to Garrison Brothers. And fitting for the occasion, founder Dan Garrison is a dad himself.


We recommend the Small Batch ($84.99) because Garrison Brothers have perfected this classic bourbon whiskey.  It’s everything rich and good about bourbon, without the bite. This Texas-based company makes the small batch bourbon whiskey from corn-to-cork one barrel at a time. It’s handcrafted by Texans from a sweet mash of premium, #1 food-grade corn, soft red winter wheat from local farms, and two row barley. The exceptional ingredients result in an extraordinary bottle of whiskey. Visit Garrison Brothers here.


Amora Coffee offers specialty coffee beans that are freshly roasted  with a 9 step process and then delivered to your doorstep.  If you typically buy roasted coffee beans at your local grocery store and wonder why the coffee doesn't taste as good as your local coffee shop, it's probably because the roasted beans are often older. They may have had a long journey from their origins at the roaster and then through the distributor to store shelves. In some cases, the beans may sit on store shelves for a while. Amora Coffee not only uses high quality beans and an impressive roasting process, but they skip the middleman and promptly deliver roasted coffee beans to customers. Dads are sure to love a delicious cup of Amora Coffee for Father's Day and throughout the year! Visit Amora Coffee here.

Cariloha offers incredibly cozy and eco-conscious bedding for dads who treasure a good night of sleep. My husband and I are similar to many other parents who will tell you that sleep deprivation has been one of our biggest parenting challenges. That's why a cozy duvet and good quality pillow are at the top of my list for Father's Day gifts! Cariloha will help dads melt into bed with their eco-comfort products that focus on quality and sustainability. 



Cariloha has proprietary development processes and access to the world's highest quality and sustainable bamboo farms to produce excellent quality bedding, clothing, and bath goods. Dads will love the fluffy and cloud-like Bamboo Duvet Comforter that is all-season, all-weather weight, and has a luxury softness. Not only is this duvet physically soft and luxurious, but the eco-friendly nature of this carbon neutral product will let dad fall asleep knowing that he's supporting an eco-friendlier world for his children. 


Similarly, the Cariloha Flex Pillow is made of viscose from bamboo that is sourced from a sustainable bamboo farm. The designers of this pillow put a lot of effort into all of the parameters for this excellent quality pillow so that it adjustable, breathable, and comfortable.  If you've purchased pillows in the past that are too thick or thin, you'll appreciate that this pillow is easy to adjust by simply unzipping the ultra-soft bamboo charcoal envelope to add or remove flexible loft fill.  


Every dad exhausted should have the Cariloha Bamboo Duvet Comforter and Cariloha Flex Pillow for a cozy night of sleep! Similar to the Bamboo Duvet Comforter, this luxurious eco-product is carbon neutral! Visit Cariloha here.


Get Basic offers a monthly subscription of undergarments and socks.  This is something that every dad needs! The concept is simple - sign up for a subscription and they send a shirt, underwear, and socks each month.  My husband received his third monthly delivery today. The May 2021 Basic Man package included a Heather Coral Silk Crew Neck Shirt Cotton, Winter Moss Performance Boxer Brief, and Black Ribbed Socks. The package was fantastic!  Dads will look forward to these little luxuries each month when you order a Basic Man subscription for Father's Day! 

Lazy One offers fun and whimsical pajama shorts that are perfect for fun loving dads. I'm partial to this Cache Valley brand that is nestled below beautiful mountains in northern Utah. As you browse their website, you'll notice that they have stylish and fun designs that give a nod to the great outdoors. Indeed, this is a company that loves and cares about the great outdoors. Lazy One works with companies that use sound environmental practices. They use hangers and tags that are made from recycled or recyclable paper.  If you could reach through the screen to feel the items, you would find that their team uses super soft 100% combed cotton or polyester fleece lining on most of their items. You'll also noticed the stylish cuts and careful stitching.  We recommend their comical boxers and shorts for Father's Day! My children think that the Moose Caboose Plaid Boxers are a hysterical gift.  The Cactus Men's Pajama Shorts are also fun and cozy. Visit Lazy One for playful Father's Day gifts here.

SprezzaBox is a nice monthly subscription box for dads. You may have heard about this professionally curated box in GQ, Esquire, Forbes, or other venues.  

My husband and son loves this subscription! Each box is nicely packaged and fun to open. This months box is shown below with a coordinated tie, pocket square, and tie clip. It also contained cozy socks and Brickell moisturizers.  I love how this subscription box contains high quality items that men need at a very competitive price point. Visit SprezzaBox here.


Sperry has the best shoes for dad this Father's Day! This timeless and high quality brand has the latest styles that are perfect for father's to enjoy on summer days.  Dads will love the Sperry Men's Regatta Flip Flop Sandals.  These sandals have molded EVA midsoles to provide contoured cushioning and supportive shock absorption. The non-marking rubber soles are great for energetic dads. Dads will find that these athleisure-inspired sandals are their go-to sandal for warm Texas days!  My husband loves to wear them around the pool, at the lake, and around our yard.


SnapperRock offers swimwear with UPF 50+ protection for dads and all of your family members. This brand makes sun protection easy! Most of their sun protection is as easy as getting dressed.  Then we just apply sunblock to any exposed skin.  If you have little ones like me, you know that it's a chore to constantly reapply sunblock every 90 minutes when you are on vacation. My energetic boys don't want to slow down for sunblock and it's a serious chore to apply sunblock while they wiggle. Thanks to SnapperRock, we have UPF 50+ protection from our swimwear. We only need to apply sunblock to exposed areas of our skin. The quality of our vacations increases thanks to SnapperRock! 


We recommend coordinated swimwear for fathers and sons this summer. My husband loves the  Mens Tropical Punch Volley Board Short and Men's White Arm Band Long Sleeve Rash Top. The rash tops come in long and short sleeve, but he likes the long sleeve for extra sun protection. My husband and oldest sun have matching swim Tropical Punch Volley Board Short trunks, but my son prefers a short sleeve rash guard and has the White Lt Blue Sleeve SS Rash Top.  My youngest has the sweet little Orca Ocean Volley Board Shorts and the same White Lt Blue Sleeve SS Rash Top  as my oldest son. My husband will tell you that nothing is better than relaxing at the pool in comfortable and style.


If you plan to spend time near water this summer, you will definitely want to check out SnapperRock here!


CaliCase solves a problem that many dads encounters - the need to keep their phone, driver's license, credit card, money, or other small necessities safe on trips to a beach, pool, or waterpark.  CaliCase is really nice because it's generously sized, waterproof, floats, and easy to use.


It's easy to insert and remove my iPhone. I simply slide it in and the close the two dials to lock it.


The case also has another nice feature that I'm able to use my phone while it's encased.  The designers of this case have thought of everything! This is a must-have item for summer vacations! Visit CaliCase here.


Rheos Nautical Eyewear is an up-and-coming brand that offers comfortable and stylish sunglasses that float! Rheos' stylish collection features mens and unisex styles with each pair offering  100% UV protection, Nylon Optics, and scratch and shatter resistance. These overachieving sunglasses even float. We think that all dads, but especially those with young children, will appreciate the forgiving nature of these sunglasses that float. My husband frequently wears sunglasses in the pool while he helps our children learn to swim. There have been countless times when he has accidentally dropped his sunglasses in the pool when one of our boys knocked them off or he forgot that he was wearing them and dunked his head under water.  Even more important is that these sunglasses float in any type of water, so those who have lost sunglasses in a lake or river may appreciate the concept of floating sunglassses! We have two pairs of Rheos floating sunglasses. The Eddies (Tortoise/Amber) are my husband's favorite. These wraparound sunglasses are perfect for Texans because the oversized design gives extra sun protection. At the same time, they are lightweight for seamless comfort.  We also love the Sepelos (Tortoise/Gunmetal) floating sunglasses that are also generously oversized and stylish. These classic silhouette sunglasses are unisex. My husband and I both love them! Again, they are lightweight. The Rheos Nautical Eyewear collection is now available at  at www.rheosgear.com and select retailers. While we recommend ordering them early, you'll also find them on Amazon for last minute shoppers with free shipping for Prime customers.


Accell has tech-loving dads covered with their Wireless Charge Pad that features 4 USB ports and 2 AC outlets and the Accell Power Air - Surge Protector and USB Charging Station. The wireless charge pad is a game changer because it offers the generous number of ports, two AC outlets, and the option to wirelessly charge devices. It easily fits on a desk for easy access to devices! The Accell Power Air provides six outlets and two USB charging ports. It has a 6' cord. It's wonderful for home offices because the circular design allows for better organization and convenience. Dads will love the sleek designs and convenient functionalities of these Accell devices. Plus, they have a great sale on Amazon that is perfect timing for Father's Day! Get the Power Air for $35.99 and the Wireless Charge Pad for $24.23 if you order before June 8, 2021! Visit Accell here.

Warm Tradition offers stylish and cozy hot water bottles. My husband typically runs 30+ miles every week and occasionally overdoes it. A good hot water bottle often provides comfort for his aches and pains. We always prefer natural solutions whenever possible, so this cozy hot water bottle is a comforting gift.  Visit Warm Tradition here.

Plus, when winter comes around, this hot water bottle provides an easy way to warm our blankets. Visit Warm Tradition here.


Ekrin Athletics has massagers that are perfect for athletic dads. You may have noticed that percussion massagers like this are suddenly very popular. Ekrin Athletics is one of the best brands out there when it comes to this type of massager. This brand was founded by former collegiate athletes who use cutting edge science and technology in their products. Their product line includes extremely popular percussion massagers.


Personally, my husband runs at least 30 miles/week and has fallen in love with the EkrinB37 Massage Gun. This device has 5 speed settings and provides up to 56 pounds of force. That's pro-grade power!  There are four attachments that provide flexibility for different areas and concerns. The percussive therapy provides deep relief for him.  This is a great gift for athletic dads! Visit Ekrin Athletics here.


Salonpas is another great brand for athletic dads who sometimes need a topical pain reliever. Salonpas products are popular around the world. One of my friends from South Korea first recommended Salonpas pain relieving patches to us because they are popular in Korea. (This brand is also very popular in Japan, Europe, and around the world!) My husband gave them a try and was impressed. So, we dug deeper and found that Salonpas has an entire line of fantastic products. We featured some of them a couple of years ago and thought that it was time to highlight Salonpas again since we continue to love their products! Here are some of our favorite products: Salonpas Lidocaine Plus Pain Relieving Cream, Salonpas Lidocaine Plus Pain Relieving Liquid, Salonpas Lidocaine Pain Relieving Gel-Patch, Salonpas Pain Relieving Patch, Salonpas DEEP Relieving Gel, Salonpas Pain Relieving Gel-Patch Hot, Salonpas Arthritis Pain Relief Gel, Salonpas HOT, and Salonpas Pain Relieving Jet Spray. You'll find their products at drugstores nationwide and on Amazon. You may also sign up for a free sample here.


eCreamery delivers sweet gifts that double as a bonding experience for Father's Day! eCreamery offers incredibly creamy varieties of ice cream that pair perfectly with their gourmet cookies. I'm not the only one who thinks so -  eCreamery has been featured in Oprah Magazine, The New York Times, USA Today, and more. You may have also learned about this brand on one of my favorite shows - Shark Tank!  They currently have gifts that are perfect for dads and grandfathers! For instance, the Just for Dad Premium Ice Cream Collection contains four pints of delicious ice cream, including Chocolate Cake Ice Cream with Fudge Swirls & Brownie Bites, Vanilla Ice Cream with Toffee Crunch (Butter Brickle), Mint Cookie Crunch Ice Cream with Fudge Swirls, and S'mores Ice Cream.  Pair this with the Assorted Cookie Collection for the ultimate gift!  Dads will love this family friendly gift. Visit eCreamery here.


Jack Black is a luxury brand that my husband loves because they focus on simplicity and quality. They've gained a large fanbase over the past 20 years.  The reason is simple -- they offer no nonsense products that work as advertised. They use the best ingredients and focus on quality.  We recommend the Wax Pomade that offers a pliable hold and natural-shine finish. We also love the Sleek Finish Texture Cream with Olive & Rosemary. This lightweight cream provides versatility thanks to the long lasting and flexible control. Of course, Texans will appreciate the anti-frizz benefits too!  Visit Jack Black here.


HALOmasks are perfect for sporty dads. We love their mesh sport masks that have every possible feature for comfort! These masks are super breathable with a poly-blend outer material (80% polyester, 20% lycra). The chin wrap provides an air-tight seal, even with facial hair and beards. The soft moisture-wicking Bamboo lining is ultra-comfortable.  They use antibacterial and hypoallergenic materials. The replaceable latex nose pad prevents fogging and air leak.  The HALO Nanofilter is replaceable and good for 200+ hours.  These sporty masks are available at HALOLIFE here.


Tidbits is a unique snack brand that offers sweet and satisfying snacks that are less than two calories per piece. I have no idea how they work their magic, but pick any one of the bags in the photo below and the number of calories in the entire bag is approximately the same as a single Oreo cookie!  Dads will love popping these low calorie and delicious meringue cookies without guilt. These snacks are free of gluten, sugar, lactose, soy, artificial colors, and high fructose corn syrup. This snack is a total game changer when it comes to low calorie snacking!  Visit Tidbits here.




Read more »

Saturday, June 19, 2021

It's Time for our June 2021 SprezzaBox Unboxing!

Opening a SprezzaBox has become an exciting monthly routine for my husband and son.  This monthly subscription box contains curated items for men.  While I initially thought that it would be an awesome subscription for my husband, it turns out that my tween son loves it too!  Unboxing the monthly surprises has become a fun activity for them to bond over each month.  One of them opens the box and then they take turns picking items until they are all claimed.  They love the experience! I also love it because it's fun to see them light up with excitement as they experience the surprises.

You may have heard about this professionally curated box in GQ, Esquire, Forbes, or other venues.  We are a few months into the subscription and understand the hype -- the items are fabulous and you can't beat the price of this subscription box.  The curators do an amazing job in finding stylish items. I often find that the boxes contains items that they needed which saves me from having to run future errands. Score!

This month's box was a hit!  The SprezzaBox curators really did an amazing job, especially considering the low, low price of the box.  For instance, if you just want to try it once, the price for one month is only $28. However, they offer discounts for longer subscriptions. That is, $24/month for 3 month subscriptions, $23/month for 6 month subscriptions, and only $20/month for 12 month subscriptions. As I show you our box, I think that you will also be impressed when you think about the tremendous value that this box offers.

The June 2021 SprezzaBox that we received was called Infinity and contained:

PERRY ELLIS TIE

  • Gray Knit
  • 2.75"W
  • 65% polyester, 35% rayon

GORDON RUSH SOCKS

  • 2-Tone gray and camel colorblock
  • Size 7-13
  • 75% cotton, 21% polyester, 2% rubber, 2% spandex

SPREZZA POCKET SQUARE

  • Gray and camel puppytooth pattern
  • 12"W x 12"L
  • 80% polyester, 20% cotton

BENNKAI DOPP KIT

  • Black and tan waterproof canvas
  • 9”L x 6”W x 3”H
  • 100% polyester

THE WOLF PROJECT FACE MASK

  • Hydrating face mask sheet
  • Anti-aging power from natural ingredients
  • Bamboo charcoal sheet
They also included coupons for a few other great businesses!

This box truly exceeded our expectations.  We hope that you have a chance to order a SprezzaBox too!  

Learn More

We love SprezzaBox so much that we became an affiliate. If you visit through our link and place an order, it doesn't change the cost of your box and we'll receive a small referral bonus.  This helps to support our blogging efforts.  Visit SprezzaBox here.

Read more »

Saturday, June 12, 2021

(Review) The Husqvarna Automower is a Game Changer in the Texas Heat!



This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of Husqvarna. All opinions are 100% mine.

This post is sponsored by Husqvarna. They recently sent us an Automower product to review.

My husband and I used to mow our own lawn. It's one of our least favorite chores, especially with the Texas heat and humidity.  Our first house together was almost an acre. We quickly learned that we did not like maintaining a large yard. When we had the opportunity to relocate for new jobs, we purchased a home on a smaller lot with .25 acres. We later realized that we would prefer an even smaller yard and we moved yet again to a villa where front yard maintenance is included in our HOA fee and we only have to maintain our small backyard that is hidden by fences. The space is approximately 1,000 square feet. We've mowed it for several years, but we finally decided that we have had enough and began researching alternatives such as artificial grass, hiring someone to help, or a robotic lawnmower. 


Many of our neighbors feel the same way about yard work. As I mentioned, we live in a villa where the HOA maintains our front yards and then we are responsible for our small backyards. The majority of our neighbors hire landscapers.  This is nice, but it's expensive and we don't like the idea of giving landscapers a key to our yard.  The typical cost of weekly mowing for our small backyard is $75 to $100/week.  We mow our lawn for approximately 7.5 months per year, so it's not trivial to spend over $3,000/year to hire landscapers to mow our backyard. As a Mom and an Engineer, I can't help but calculate the cost for multiple years and notice how quickly the expense accumulates. After five years, the cost adds up to around $15,000.

Several of our neighbors have artificial lawns. Some of them got together in small groups to negotiate a bulk discount, but it was still very expensive. An example of a neighbor's yard is shown below. It looks nice, but it was outside of the budget that we wanted to put toward our yard. Plus, with young children, we didn't want to worry about the cost of replacement down the road.



Only recently did we come across the Husqvarna Automower as an option to help mow our lawn. I wish that we would have known about it sooner. We looked into it and ran the numbers to figure out whether it could make sense for us.  Specifically, we looked into the Husqvarna 115H Automower that is priced at $1,599.99 with installation.  At this price, we felt like it was a cost effective solution to mowing our lawn that is cheaper than hiring landscapers to mow.  I searched for reviews and people seemed happy, so I reached out to the company to ask if it would be possible to collaborate and to send us review a unit.  They agreed! This was a highlight of my blogging year, especially if you consider the temperatures in Texas right now and how much we dread yard work. Of course, we were excited because the perks of this robotic lawn mower are amazing, but I also felt like it was a special opportunity to gain and share an experience that people are curious to know more about.

The process for ordering the Husqvarna Automower was nice because they ship the Automower in a package that arrives on your doorstep. They then connect you with an installation expert who sets everything up for you.  For instance, check out the photo below that shows my package on our front porch.  I took the photo from a distance so that you could notice that it's a large package, but still a reasonable size for me to carry on my own.



Here is a closer view of the package.



We were so excited about our new best friend that we couldn't help but to peek into the package to see it before the installation company arrived.  The package was comprehensive and included everything that I needed to get started.



The day before the installation company arrived, we mowed our lawn to the desired height.  This is something that you will want to do before your installation as part of the customization process.

Lambert's Landscape Company installed the boundary wire and charging station. In the Dallas area, we are very lucky because the pros at Lambert's know the ins and outs of the Husqvarna Automower. The Director of Fleet Services and Facilities installed our Automower. He manages a fleet of them and even runs two Automowers in his own yard. He is knowledgable about landscaping and Automowers. He was really nice about answering our questions and giving advice. The installation for our yard went by quickly. He installed the boundary wire with a machine that buries it rather seamlessly. I was relieved to know that the boundary wires would be buried so nicely, especially since I have energetic children who aren't even able to see the buried wires.  Here is a photo of him installing the boundary wire.



I also made a video and encourage you to watch it because you'll get a better idea of how quick and seamless it was for him to install the boundary wire.



After he installed the boundary wires, he finished setting up the charging station and updated the software. This is the home for our new best friend, the AutomowerHe also helped us to get the app which helps us to monitor the status of our Husqvarna Automower. For instance, here is a photo from when we set it up.



Here is another photo of the app which shows statistics about the number of hours that it has spent on our lawn.



The Husqvarna Automower is smart and able to adapt to many variables such as different yard sizes, slopes, grass types, and more. Personally, our yard is around 1,000 sq. ft. and relatively flat with only slight sloping around our French drains.  We have Bermuda grass which is a southern grass that grows in warm climates. It has a narrow leaf blade which I think is aesthetically pleasing. It grows quickly and is also quite resilient. You'll find it at many golf courses and athletic fields since it's relatively good for high traffic areas.  Our yard is a breeze for the Husqvarna Automower that quietly works its magic on our lawn.  



The Husqvarna Automower spent the first couple of days exploring our yard.  My family enjoyed watching our curious little friend move around to learn the lay of the land! 



After the initial exploration, the Automower used its advanced technology to mow our lawn on a more scheduled basis.  The technology is actually more interesting than we initially expected. Not only does this little robot mow our lawn, but it also improves the health of our lawn. That was an unexpected bonus for us!   We just wanted a break from yard work, so it was even cooler to realize that the Automower could further improve the health of our lawn too. The way that it works is different than our old process. We used to go through with a loud electric lawn mower.  The Husqvarna Automower is more advanced. It uses several blades to finely mulch the grass.  Instead of rushing through like we used to do with a lawn mower, the Automower takes slower and more frequent passes which provides a noticeable difference to the health of our lawn.



Another big difference between our old mower and the Automower is the noise level. Our old mower was loud.  Our Automower is pretty quiet. I tease my husband that it has such good manners with how quiet it is. It even runs past my bedroom at night while I am sleeping without me noticing.  I also appreciate that it has safety features to stop if it bumps into something unexpected. For instance, my youngest son dropped his teddy bear outside. The Automower skillfully avoided it which is an important feature that we appreciate since our children play in the yard and don't always clean up after themselves.

The Automower may be scheduled to run at any time. We prefer an evening schedule so that our children aren't outside. I would actually be okay with my boys around it since it has safety features, but my children sometimes play soccer or have water balloon battles, so I figured that evening runs were better. Plus, as I mentioned earlier the Automower is quiet enough that I don't even notice it when it goes by my bedroom windows in the evening.


Security is an important feature to me. There is one loud thing about the Automower. That's the alarm. If someone doesn't know the pin number and then picks it up and tries to run off with it, the Automower has a very loud alarm.  You need to enter your pin number to turn it off. Depending on the model, you may also have GPS tracking. 



We've used our Automower for a few months now. Let me share a quick list of questions that people have asked us with our personal answers.
  1. Is it as loud as a traditional lawn mower?  Answer: It is MUCH quieter than our old traditional lawn mower. In fact, we run it in the evening and it mows outside of my bedroom window without waking me. 
  2. Does it break if it rains?  Answer: We have left our Automower out during several rainstorms without any issues. I just wipe it down with a cloth after the rain. (For reference, I also wipe down our patio furniture and grill after rain.) We moved the Automower to our patio for one storm because there were severe weather warnings. During that particular storm, you wouldn't have even wanted to leave your car outside.
  3. What if children leave toys in the yard? Answer: My children have stress tested this feature. They have a bad habit of leaving toys in the yard.  Fortunately, the Automower is quite advanced and has avoided every toy left in our yard over the past few months.  One of them was my youngest son's teddy bear, so I was grateful for the Automower's technology to avoid their toys.
  4. Could someone pick it up and walk off with it? Answer: Yes, but there is an alarm system.  It makes an obnoxiously loud noise that would make it hard for someone to casually pick it up in our yard and walk off with it. We are able to hear the alarm noise in our house. We have a pin number to turn the alarm off. Some models also have a GPS security feature.
  5. Do you like it? Answer: We absolutely love it!  If I could go back in time, I would tell myself to stop wasting time on mowing the lawn and to let an Automower take over the chore.  Seriously, the combination of Texas heat and humidity is the worst. The Automower is a total game changer that allows us to spend less time on chores and more time enjoying life.



Now that we have used the Husqvarna Automower for a while, we are very happy and wish that we would have adopted it sooner.  The time savings has been amazing. We no longer have to mow. We only have to do the edging. My husband has approximately 5 extra hours to spend with us every month. If you multiple this by 7.5 months, he has saved approximately 37.5 hours/year. That's almost an entire workweek out of the year for him! We have a small backyard that is under 1,000 square feet. I imagine that the time savings increases for Texans with bigger yards.


During the Coronavirus shutdown, the Automower was also a life saver because it mulches the grass into fine pieces and we do not have to bag and dispose debris. Our garbage collection company temporarily stopped the collection of lawn clippings.  Prior to the arrival of our Automower, we had garbage bags full of lawn clippings for weeks until they finally announced a special day when collection of lawn debris resumed.  I'm glad that we don't have to dispose of lawn debris after the Automower.  The mulching process is eco-friendly and convenient!



In summary, the Husqvarna Automower is an amazing application of technology that has improved the quality of our lives.  The experience has given us a healthier lawn, but more importantly, the gift of time. As busy parents, the ability to cross mowing the lawn off of our chore list was amazing! I know that we could have hired landscapers to mow weekly or invested in artificial grass, but those solutions were very expensive. The Husqvarna Automower is more cost effective for our situation. The Husqvarna design team deserves credit for the meticulous attention to detail that they put into the Automower!

Learn more on Amazon
We are part of the Amazon Affiliate program for bloggers.  If you order this product through one of our links, we receive a small referral fee that helps to keep our blog in business. It doesn't change the price of the item or cost you anything extra to use our link if you were going to order the Automower. We appreciate the support!





Read more »

ShareThis