Dallas Mom Blog and Fort Worth Mom Blogger: Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links. We are an Ambassador for these brands: Netflix, Cost Plus World Market, Best Buy, SeaWorld, and HP Moms.

Monday, March 8, 2021

(Win it!) Visit Albertsons Stores for the Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game! #GoShopPlayWin



This post is sponsored by Sivan Social. All comments and opinions are my own.

I am excited to tell you that the popular Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game is happening at Albertsons stores this year! This campaign includes opportunities for chances to win any of $230,000,000+ worth of prizes.  We look forward to this fun campaign every year because the Monopoly game makes it more fun for my children to do grocery shopping with me. They actually want to go grocery shopping with me because they like the Monopoly game that provides chances to win fun prizes. This year, you'll want to download the app ahead of time so that you are ready to play.  In today's post, I'll tell you more about the Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game, point you to the #GoShopPlayWin Twitter party for the chance to win prizes, encourage you to watch for your next Valpak envelope for a chance to win, and tell you about an extra opportunity for a chance to win through Savings.com!


Let's start by discussing the locations. The Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game is at the Albertsons family of stores.  This includes their banner stores of ACME, Albertsons, Albertsons Market, Carrs, Jewel Osco, Market Street, Pavilions, Randalls, Safeway, Shaws, Star Market, Tom Thumb and Vons.  


Here is a quick overview of the campaign:
  • What: Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game
  • When: March 3, 2021 to May 4, 2021
  • Where: Albertson family stores, including ACME, Albertsons, Albertsons Market, Carrs, Jewel Osco, Market Street, Pavilions, Randalls, Safeway, Shaws, Star Market, Tom Thumb and Vons
  • Details: Customers have chances to visit ShopPlayWin.com to have a chance to win $230,000,000 in prizes from participating stores
Personally, the store closest to our home is Tom Thumb. We love our local Tom Thumb because the store is always clean and well organized with all of the groceries that we need. Best of all, they have the nicest employees who go over and above to help customers. We've always felt a warm and caring atmosphere there, but a couple of memories stand out in my mind. The first was during my last pregnancy. I gained 25 pounds and was really uncomfortable. I remember trying to put club soda in my shopping cart and one of the employees running over to insist that they help me. It was very sweet. I was tired of the pregnancy weight gain and appreciated their kindness. Another time that stands out in my mind is when I bought a large number of Starbucks reusable cups for an event and forgot my receipt. I went back and asked if they happened to see me drop the receipt. It had been thrown out, but the employee insisted that if I could wait for a few minutes, they had a solution. I told them that it was okay, but sure enough, they called the manager who came over with a new printed receipt for me within a few minutes. I'm not sure how they worked their magic, but I loved that they were so eager to help me. Our local store is very invested in customer service which makes them feel like part of our community. I always enjoy their friendly smiles and warm personalities to make our shopping experience nicer.

While we love our local Tom Thumb for the great selection of items, cleanliness, and nice employees, there is another reason that we love them right now. The Shop, Play, Win! Monopoly game adds some excitement to our grocery shopping trips. My boys love Monopoly and get excited to see my game tickets. The new app makes it fun for me to scan the tickets and interact as we find out whether we won a prize! The figure below shows the concept.  It's pretty easy: 
  1. Earn tickets for every $25 qualifying purchase (up to 4 tickets for $100 purchased AND one ticket for each featured item that you purchase. The ticket quantify that you earned is printed on the receipt.  
  2. Open the tickets to reveal a digital code.
  3. Scan ticket code(s) to play.


It's a lot of fun to use the app to find out whether you won a prize! My boys love to watch me play and are always excited to find out if we won a prize!  (Visit here to learn more and to get the app.)

As I mentioned earlier, there are a few other opportunities for chances to win. One is to watch for a Valpak envelope to come in the mail. If you are lucky to receive this mailer, you will find that the upcoming one includes a chance to win! Another opportunity for a chance to win is through Savings.com. They are hosting a giveaway where sixty (60) winners will receive $100 gift cards to spend at Albertsons Companies Stores. Here is a quick summary of the details:
  • What: Savings.com Albertsons Companies stores gift card giveaway
  • When: Wednesday, March 3rd at 12:00 AM PT to Wednesday, March 31st at 11:59 PM PT
  • Where: Visit Savings.com here.
  • Details: Sixty (60) winners will each receive a $100 gift card to spend at Albertsons Companies stores. The winners will be chosen through a lottery drawing and notified on Thursday, April 1st via the email address they used to enter. See complete Official Rules for entry instructions, full prize descriptions, restrictions and other important details.
Win a $100 gift card to spend at Albertsons Companies stores!

In addition to downloading the game app to play at stores and entering through Savings.com, I encourage you to RSVP for the #GoShopPlayWin Twitter party for a chance to win $500 in gift card prizes!  



Let me share the details.
  • What: #GoShopPlayWin Twitter Party with a chance to win
  • When: Thursday, March 25th, 2021 at 10AM PT/ 1 PM ET.
  • Where: RSVP here and then attend the Twitter party using the hashtag #GoShopPlayWin
  • Details: RSVP for a chance to win $500 in gift card prizes and attend the fun Twitter party!
I hope that you enjoyed this post that is packed with fun opportunities for chances to win exciting prizes!  The Shop, Play, Win! Monopology game at Albertsons Company stores is a lot of fun. You'll want to download the app ahead of time so that you are ready when it is time to scan the tickets. You'll also want to check out the giveaway through Savings.com and the #GoShopPlay Twitter party!

Finally, please note the following: NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Game tickets end 5/4/21. Must be resident of an eligible U.S. state listed in rules; 18+. Visit www.shopplaywin.com for full rules, incl. how to enter without purchase. Series MON-14. MONOPOLY™ & © 1935, 2021 Hasbro, Pawtucket, RI 02861-1059 USA. All Rights Reserved. TM & ® denote U.S. Trademarks. Hasbro is not a sponsor of this promotion.
Read more »

(Win it!) Celebrate Snacky Hour With Entenmann’s Little Bites® Cookies! #LoveLittleBites #SnackyHour

Disclosure: The coupons for product redemption, information, and gift card have been provided by Entenmann’s Little Bites® so that I could try the product and share my thoughts and information about Entenmann’s Little Bites®. The opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not reflect the opinions of Entenmann’s Little Bites®.

Have you heard of Snacky Hour? Once I tell you about the fun Entenmann’s Little Bites Soft Baked Cookies Snacky Hour, I think that this will become your favorite hour!  In today's post, I'll tell you about the Entenmann’s Little Bites Soft Baked Cookies, share a fun and easy recipe to make cookie sandwiches dusted in festive green sprinkles, point you to the Entenmann’s Little Bites® Snacky Hour Sweepstakes for a chance to win exciting prizes, and provide a chance for one of our readers to win their own Entenmann’s Little Bites® Snacky Hour prize! 


Let's start with the with the Entenmann’s Little Bites® Soft Baked Cookies! These little soft-baked cookies come in the Perfect Portion of Happiness®, with six soft-baked cookies included per pouch, making them perfect for snacking on the go! My children love these cookies and I feel good that they have no high fructose corn syrup or artificial preservatives.  There are two delicious varieties:
  • Little Bites Soft Baked Chocolate Chip Cookies are made with generous amounts of real chocolate 
  • Little Bites Soft Baked Party Cake Cookies feature colorful rainbow sprinkles that are perfect for festive Snacky Hours!
Personally, my children have fun making Little Bites Soft Baked Cookie Sandwiches with frosting and sparkly sprinkles. We chose green sprinkles for March below!


This recipe is easy since Entenmann's Little Bites provides six little soft baked cookies in each pouch. This makes it easy to prepare three cookie sandwiches per pouch by spreading frosting between two cookies and then dusting the edges with sprinkles!

Recipe: Little Bites Soft Baked Cookie Sandwiches
Ingredients
  • 1 box of Entenmann's Little Bites Soft Baked Cookies
  • 1/2 container of vanilla frosting
  • 1 container of sprinkles in your favorite color
Directions
1. Take two cookies and spread vanilla frosting between them. Repeat this for all of your cookie sandwiches before moving to the next step.

2. Pour the sprinkles into a shallow dish and roll the edges of the cookie sandwiches in the sprinkles.  

That's it! This child-friendly recipe is sure to make your Snacky Hour more fun!



As promised earlier, let me share details about the Entenmann’s Little Bites Soft Baked Cookies Snacky Hour! Here are the details:
  • What: Entenmann’s Little Bites Soft Baked Cookies Snacky Hour
  • When: March 1 to March 20, 2021
  • Where: On the web at www.littlebitessnackyhour.com
  • Details: Fans can enter the sweepstakes weekly for a total of five maximum entries.Winners will be chosen at random every Wednesday in March at 4PM ET to receive a one year’s supply of Entenmann’s Little Bites® Soft Baked Cookies plus soft, luxury seating for the family.
    All sweepstakes entries must be submitted by March 30 at 5PM ET via the online landing page linked here to qualify.

Win it!
Entenmann's Little Bites generously offered to provide a prize pack for one of our readers! The prize pack includes a $25 Visa digital gift card and (3) coupons for up to $5.00 off the purchase of any Entenmann’s Little Bites snacks. Enter using the Rafflecopter below. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. The winner will have 72 hours to reply to our message. Otherwise, we will select a different winner. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Learn More

Entenmann's has fun campaigns throughout the year where they announce new products, limited edition products, and giveaways. You never know what they are up to!  Visit the Entenmann’s Little Bites® website. Follow Entenmann’s Little Bites® on FacebookInstagram, and YouTube. Follow #LoveLittleBites and #SnackyHour too!








Read more »

Sunday, February 21, 2021

(Get it Free!) Buy a Sam's Club Membership for $45 and then Receive a FREE $45 gift card! #JoinSamsClub

This post is sponsored by Sivan Social. All comments and opinions are my own.

If you follow regularly, you probably know that our family loves Sam's Club. We have several favorite items that we buy regularly.  In the past year, we've become even bigger fans of Sam's Club because they are the best store for us to shop at during the pandemic due to their COVID-19 response plans and hi-tech checkout options. In today's post, I'll share a glimpse into why we love Sam's Club and share a deal where you receive a $45 gift card when you pay $45 for a membership. (That's not a typo - it's essentially a free membership if you were going to spend $45 on groceries or other items.)


Let's start with why I increased shopping at Sam's Club during the COVID-19 pandemic.  We are very cautious about social distancing.  Sam's Club has been the answer to our needs because our local store us has generous space in the aisles and the option to scan and pay for our items through their Scan & Go app. It's really convenient to skip the cash register line by using the Scan & Go app on my phone!

We also love the free curbside pickup where we place our order online and then use the app to "check in" when we park at one of the curbside pickup spaces. You just enter your space number, show your ID when they come out, pop your trunk for them to load your order, and you are set to go! I often place my order while my children play at the park. However, I am placing it from home today. This is the view from my house today. The roads are clearing up quickly from the storm that hit Texas, but the last thing that I want to do is to shop at a crowded store this weekend.


This is a day that I am very grateful to be a Sam's Club member since they offer the free curbside pickup option!  I want to avoid the post-storm crowds, so I placed my Sam's Club pickup order for tomorrow.  It's nice to be able to park in one of their curbside parking spots, checkin, and receive my groceries without leaving the car! (The photo below is from one of my previous visits. I sent a picture to a friend when I was telling her how much I love the curbside pickup.)


Now that I've shared my love for the Sam's Club convenience factors, let me share a few examples of items that our family buys. We have mixed dietary restrictions in our family. This includes one vegan, one vegetarian, and two children who eat anything.  Sam's Club has us covered when it comes to our weekly grocery shopping.  Let me tell you about just a few of our favorite items.

Let's start with my children's favorite item from Sam's Club - the Member's Mark 16" Take 'N Bake Pizza.  These pizzas are made fresh daily at the store and only take 15 minutes to bake at home. My oldest son is a tween with a big appetite. This pizza is enormous! It feeds three of us with so much leftover that I also put pizza in their lunches during the week. If you have a school aged child, you know that pizza is a highly coveted lunch item!  I know that my children will eat their lunches away from home if they have pizza.  You can't beat the price for this giant pizza either - it's just $6.99! 


As I mentioned earlier, my husband is vegan.  We score amazing produce at Sam's Club for excellent prices. It's so easy to stock up on produce like kale, bell peppers, mushrooms, and more for a colorful and nutrient dense stir fry!  We go through produce quickly and appreciate Sam's Club low price tags for fresh and healthy options. 


We also buy his Planet Oat oat milk at Sam's Club. We've tried several brands of oat milk and this is our favorite. We have even tried making oat milk from scratch but it wasn't as good as the Planet Oat oat milk.  It's nice that Sam's Club offers it at a great price and in a large container that lasts us for an entire week.


Another regular purchase that we make at Sam's Club is the Member's Mark Unsweetened Sparkling Water Variety Pack. I opened the package below so that you are able to see the three varieties.  These are zero calorie, sugar free, and sodium free. My entire family loves these drinks!


The items above are just a few examples of the many things that we purchase from Sam's Club.  As busy parents, my husband and I love the convenience and great selection of items.

As I mentioned earlier, there is currently a deal where you get a FREE $45 gift card when you pay $45 for a Sam's Club membership.  You won't want to miss this deal, especially during the pandemic when it's a nice luxury to skip the lines with curbside pickup or by using the app to scan and pay for items! If you are in Texas right now, it's also a nice deal if you want to avoid the hectic post-storm crowds at the regular grocery stores this weekend.    Learn more about the Sam's Club deal here.  Learn more about steps that Sam's Club is taking for COVID-19 here.


Read more »

Saturday, February 20, 2021

la Madeleine’s Market and Bakery offers their first drive-through design and it's here in Dallas!

la Madeleine’s Market and Bakery offers their first drive-through design and it's here in Dallas!

Did you know that the first la Madeleine location in the United States opened in 1983 in the heart of Dallas, TX on Mockingbird Lane (across from Southern Methodist University)?  The casual French experience was so popular that they expanded to 80 locations across the country.  It seems appropriate that Dallas would be the first location for the new la Madeleine's Market and Bakery drive-through design at  15125 Montfort Drive  Dallas, TX 75254Let me share details about the new location and then show you a few of our favorite menu items.

The new la Madeleine's Market and Bakery with the first drive-thru design is located at 15125 Montfort Drive  Dallas, TX 75254This location offers fresh made salads, sandwiches, healthy snacks, and grab n' go selections.  This location has it all, including:

You'll find the take-out menu here. They also have a delivery menu through GrubHub at this location.

Personally, my husband and I have been visiting la Madeleine for over 20 years. It has always been one of our go-to restaurants.  I have happy memories of being in our early 20's and going hiking at 5am and then enjoying breakfast at la Madeleine in Phoenix.  When we moved to Texas, we were happy to find that la Madeleine is popular here too.  Their menu covers breakfast through dinner. Plus, they have nice bakery items.  Let me share a few examples.

la Madeleine currently offers breakfast all day long. The Nouveau Breakfast includes one egg cooked-to-order, avocado toast, and two strips of bacon. The olive oil and lemon on top of the avocado makes this extra special.






My son loves their French onion soup. The beef broth based soup is filled with tender onions and flavorful spices. It's garnished with Swiss cheese and croutons.




I hope that you enjoyed this glimpse into our dinner. I also hope that you'll add some fun to your week by experiencing crave-worthy food from the new la Madeleine Market and Bakery on Montfort Drive in Dallas! Their new drive through design makes it quick and easy to pick up your favorite fresh made salads, sandwiches, healthy snacks, and grab n' go selections.
Read more »

Monday, February 15, 2021

(Win it!) Tips to Help Support Your Well-Being – Naturally! #SuperiorSource #CVC4Health

If you follow regularly, you know that we love Superior Source Vitamins because the MicroLingual Under the Tongue Technology  is easy for our family members of different ages to take. Plus, the vitamins work fast as they are quickly absorbed into the body. In today's post, I'll share more about these fantastic vitamins, share a coupon code for a discount to use on Amazon, and share the opportunity to enter for a chance to win a Superior Source Vitamins 7-pack ($110 retail value)!


If your children are like mine, getting them to swallow pills is a major challenge.  Superior Source Vitamins are a lifesaver because the vitamins dissolve under the tongue. My kids don't fuss about having to take these vitamins and oddly love their vitamins. (Score!) It's the best mom hack out there when it comes to vitamins. However, this brand is not just for children and there are other reasons that we prefer Superior Source Vitamins! It is nice that my kids enjoy taking these vitamins but there is another perk to their MicroLingual technology -- many of the supplements that you swallow lose as much as 50% of the potency in the high acid environment of the stomach.  The Superior Source Vitamins dissolve sooner as shown in the figure below. While my husband and I are old enough to handle swallowing pills, we prefer Superior Source Vitamins because of how they are quickly absorbed. Superior Source Vitamins are a win for our family!  


Some of the other features that I love about these vitamins include:
  • No pills to swallow
  • Non-GMO, Gluten-FREE, Sugar FREE
  • 90% smaller than regular vitamins
  • No chemical binders, No excessive fillers
  • Preservative FREE, Dye FREE
  • No water necessary 
  • No coatings, No additives
  • No magnesium stearate or silica
  • Dissolves under the tongue for better absorption

This is a great time of year to stock up on Superior Source Vitamins because they have a couple of deals right now! Here are the details about the first sale:
  • What: Superior Source Vitamins cvc4health.com Sale
  • Where: cvc4health.com
  • When: February 2021
  • Details: Visit cvc4health.com for the Superior Source Vitamin SALE with up to 25% off on ALL Superior Source Vitamins!
Here are the details on the second sale: 


Here are some popular vitamins that our family uses:
Vitamin B-12: B-12 is essential for top energy levels, heart health and mental clarity. Each tablet provides 2,500 mcg of Methylcobalamin, the “activated” form of B12.* 

Vitamin D: Vitamin D works in conjunction with Calcium to help develop and maintain strong bones and teeth. Vitamin D is essential in maintaining eye health and also helps maintain skin, teeth, eyes and the immune system.*

Vitamin C: Vitamin C helps develop and maintain healthy skin and bones, to form collagen and also enhances the absorption of iron from plant-based foods we eat. Vitamin C also provides support to the body's immune system. NO sugar added.* 

Biotin: Biotin helps to maintain healthy blood sugar levels, promotes nail and hair strength and supports cell growth, metabolism of fats and amino acids and the production of fatty acids.*  

Daily Value Multi-Vitamin: Their Multi-Vitamin contains 100% of 11 vitamins and nutrients your body needs for optimal health, including B vitamins for energy metabolism plus Vitamin C and A for antioxidant protection and immune support.*

Children’s B-Complex with Vitamin C: Children’s B-Complex with folic acid, calcium pantothenate and biotin is formulated to provide the nutrients that support optimal health for the production and maintenance of new cells and supports nervous system health, energy metabolism and healthy heart function.*

Beauty Collagen: Superior Source Beauty Collagen can help support skin, muscles, bone health, hair and nail growth, and maintenance. There are 19 amino acids (proteins) found in collagen. Additional ingredients include Biotin, Hyaluronic Acid and Vitamin C.*

We hope that you take the opportunity to enjoy this nice discount on vitamins for your family!  We love Superior Source Vitamins because their vitamins are a perfect for our entire family!


Win it!
One lucky winner will receive a prize pack courtesy of Superior Source Vitamins. The retail value of the prize is $110 and includes:
  • Vitamin B-12
  • Multi-Vitamins
  • Vitamin D
  • Children’s Complex with D
  • Vitamin C
  • Beauty Collagen
  • Biotin
Enter for a chance to win using the Rafflecopter below. The winner will have 4 days to respond to our message with their shipping address and phone number (for shipping purposes only). Otherwise, we will select a new winner. The winner must have a U.S. shipping address. No P.O. boxes. Good luck!

Thank you to Superior Source Vitamins for sponsoring this post and giveaway.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

Read more »

The Spring 2021 FabFitFun Box is the Perfect Pick-Me-Up for the New Season!

If you follow regularly, you know that I love FabFitFun! I always light up when I find one of their generously packed boxes on my doorstep. After all of the chaos in 2020, I'm grateful that spring is here and it is time for renewal!  This is a time of year for fresh starts and more sunshine. The curators of the FabFitFun boxes did a fabulous job with their Spring 2021 boxes!  Let me share a quick overview and then show you the contents of my box!

FabFitFun is well known for their fabulous boxes that are packed with popular products.  I'll talk more about that shortly, but I also want to highlight that the FabFitFun company is committed to making a difference in the world around us. Every season, they team up to support a cause to help others. For instance, from 2017 to 2020, they raised more than $1 million for multiple charity partners. Some examples include $118k+ for Special Olympics, $256k+ for No Kid Hungry, and more. My favorite campaigns included where they teamed up with Christina Applegate to raise funds related to supporting women with breast cancer concerns and another with Katie Couric for Stand Up to Cancer. For Spring 2021, FabFitFun supports One Tree Planted. For every $1 donated, 1 tree will be planted in either California, National Forests in the U.S., or the Pacific Northwest.  These trees help to clean our air and water, provide habitats for biodiversity, and create jobs for social impact.   You will find more information here.

As I mentioned, FabFitFun is committed to making a difference in the world around us. Their brand is always evolving with guidance from their strong core values. In Spring 2021, they introduced the new FabFitFun Standard!  This is a new initiative that they plan to evolve over time. To get started, beauty products in their boxes will exclude 12 ingredients such as formaldehyde, coal tar, benzene, hydroquinone, and more! The FabFitFun curators are raising the bar to deliver the best of the best products to your doorstep! I'm exited about this change and look forward to following as they continuously evolve to be leaders in this area!

Now, onto the contents of the box!  FabFitFun offers four seasonal boxes for $49.99/box if you want a shorter subscription or $45/box if you sign up for an annual subscription. Each box contains 8 products. If you choose the shorter subscription, you may customize 3 items. If you have the coveted annual subscription, you may customize 5 items! The annual subscription also gives you earlier access to your box. FabFitFun is a customer friendly company and allows you to cancel any time. In my experience, the boxes that I have received in the past have always contained products with retail values that add up to more than 3-4x the cost of the box. For instance, the retail values of the items in my Spring 2021 box add up to $305. That's not a typo -- $305!  It's an amazing deal to add luxury to my life with a steep discount!

The FabFitFun curators truly think of everything. This even includes the box that the items arrive in. My Spring 2021 box arrived in an eco-friendly recycled cardboard box that is decorated with spring flowers.  My children love to take my FabFitFun cardboard boxes to store things in their closets. They are always such pretty boxes!

The first item is the Perricone MD Essential Fx Acly-Glutathione Rejuvenating Moisturizer. This nutrient-packed moisturizer is perfect for my aging 40-something skin because it deeply hydrates skin without leaving a greasy residue. The retail price is $98.

The second item is the Earth Harbor Marina Biome Brightening Ampoule. This oil features spirulina and blue tansy to vigorously brighten and balance the skin. Personally, I like to apply it after I wash my face and before I apply moisturizer. The retail price is $38.

The third item is the Cali Cosmetics Body Wash. This luxurious body wash is really nice to feel clean without drying my skin. The retail price is $22.

The fourth item is the Saie Reusable Beauty Rounds (3-pack). These super soft beauty rounds make it easy to ditch your makeup wipes. My eco-friendly heart loves them! If it weren't for FabFitFun, I wouldn't have know about this nice way to incorporate reusable beauty rounds into my routine. The retail price for this 3-pack is $15.

The fifth item is the Sorbus Makeup Organizer. This is perfect for spring cleaning and organizing. The organizer makes it easy to keep your lipsticks, concealers, and makeup brushes in one place. I love the transparent and clean look of this organizer with daisies on the bottom. The retail price is $30.

The sixth item in my box is the Gloss Moderne Clean Luxury Hair Masque. This antioxidant-rich shea butter restores softness and shine to your locks. My hair soaked up this masque as a much needed treat. The cold and dry winter air is tough on my hair. It was nice to have this hair masque that provided some relief for my stressed out hair! The retail price is $55.

The seventh item in my box was a generous MAC Cosmetics Powder Kiss Lipstick Duo. Technically, I would count this as two separate items, but the FabFitFun curators are incredibly generous and only count the two lipsticks as one item. (Thank you, FabFitFun team!) These matte lipsticks deliver moisture and gorgeous soft-focus color to the lips. The retail price is $42.

The eighth (and final) item in my box is the Summer & Rose Rose Tweezer with Pouch. This beautiful little set makes it easy to pluck and tweeze pesky hairs with the pretty stainless steel tweezers. The retail price is $20.

I hope that you enjoyed this glimpse into my FabFitFun Spring 2021 box. It was generously packed with products that energized me for spring!  This is my favorite subscription box out there. It's an incredible deal to receive boxes like this every quarter for only $45 through the annual subscription. If you want a shorter subscription, it's also a fantastic deal at just $49.99. I think that we could all use a lift during the 2020 pandemic that has spilled into 2021. A FabFitFun box delivered to your doorstep is a great way to add excitement to your spring routine!

Read more »

Tips for Incorporating Plant Based Foods Into Your Diet

Thank you to Happy Little Plants for sponsoring this post. All opinions are honest and our own.

Tips for Incorporating Plant Based Foods Into Your Diet

If you follow regularly, you may know that I made lifestyle changes over the past couple of years in attempt to minimize some of my risk factors for cancer. One of the changes included switching to a majority plant based diet. It wasn't easy for me which makes me the perfect person to share tips. I had to work hard to find things that inspired me to stick with my goal despite my imperfections.  Whether you want to fully change to a plant based diet or just increase the amount of plant based foods into your diet, today's post will share tips to help you with your goal!

1. Stock up on your favorite fruits and veggies.

We all have our preferences. For instance, I am not a fan of hard fruits like apples, but I love berries. I started buying berries in bulk. I also buy 3 pound bags of frozen blueberries in bulk and use them for smoothies.  As for veggies, I love salads more than cooked veggies, so I stock up on my favorites at Trader Joe's such as bags of kale, arugula, avocados, beets, snap peas (I cut them into thirds), and more.  While your preferences may be different than mine, I think that it's helpful to make a list of your favorites and stock up each week so that you have easy access to fruits and veggies that you want to eat.


2. Add fruits or veggies to your typical meals.

If you enjoy pasta, add extra veggies to it such as zucchini. If you have a bowl of cereal in the morning, add a handful of berries. Whatever you are eating, think about how to add extra plants to your meal.

3. Swap traditional pasta for lentil pasta.

I love carbs. Who doesn't, right? We tried different plant based pastas and almost gave up because we didn't like the ones that we tried. However, we eventually tried red lentil pasta from Trader Joe's and another from Barilla. These are delicious!  As you transition to a plant based diet, check out some of the plant based pastas!

4. Stock up on plant based snacks such as Happy Little Plants Protein Puffs.

As I mentioned earlier, planning in advance and stocking up on plant based foods has been a key to success in my transition. My husband and I often crave snacks.  We recently stocked up on Happy Little Plants Protein Puffs so that we could pack extra plant based nutrition into our diets even when snack cravings strike. It's convenient to order the 12-count Happy Little Plants Protein Puffs Variety Pack from Amazon which currently comes with free shipping.  


These delicious snacks are packed with plant based protein. They come in crave-worthy flavors for snacking, including Cinnamon & Sugar, Nacho Cheese, and Ranch.  They are all delicious, but my favorite variety is Nacho Cheese.


My boys will tell you that the Cinnamon & Sugar is their favorite variety.

The 1.25 ounce bags that we ordered contain 16g of protein (29% of daily value if you are on a 2,000 calorie/day diet). They source only non-genetically engineered ingredients. The tasty little puffs are gluten-free and preservative-free. 


5. Find a favorite plant based lunch or dinner recipe and incorporate it into your routine.

Getting started is the hardest part. The transition is easier as you find more plant based recipes that you enjoy. I tried some different meal subscription services to try different recipes, checked out vegan cookbooks from the library, and followed #vegan and #plantbased on social media. I like to browse accounts such as PlantBasedServing on Instagram.   One of my favorite recipes is actually very easy though -- black bean quesadillas with taco seasoning, sliced avocado, and diced tomatoes. Another one of my favorite pasta recipes is red lentil pasta and stir fried tomatoes. I also make a lot of salads.  Once you find a few simply and delicious recipes, the transition to a plant based diet is easier!


I hope that this post inspires you to consider adding more plant based meals and snacks into your diet!  
Read more »

Sunday, February 14, 2021

Tips for Removing Black Gel Pen Ink from our Microfiber Couch

Disclosure: This worked easy for me, but your results may vary. I have no background in professional cleaning. Read about my experience at your own risk. You may have a different fabric and manufacturer of your couch. Your ink may be different. You get the idea... I'm sharing my experience and you should hire a professional cleaner if you are worried about damaging your couch when you clean it. This is only my experience on my specific couch. Now that I shared this disclosure, let's move on. 

 Tips for Removing Black Gel Pen Ink from our Microfiber Couch

The world is a canvas to my preschool aged artist. My sweet little preschooler decided to use a black gel pen to decorate our microfiber couple. As you see below, his inspiration involved several lines of ink that I had to figure out how to remove from our couch.


To remove the stains, I used running alcohol (70% isopropyl alcohol) and a cloth.  First, I found an area of my couch that is out of the way to do a test spot to make sure that the alcohol didn't damage the fabric. After my test spot experience, I acted quickly. I poured a small amount of alcohol onto the cloth.


I then blotted rubbing alcohol onto a stain. Added more alcohol to the cloth and repeated until the stain lifted.  In the example below, I started at the center of the line to show you the difference that I made in approximately 1 minute.


I then continued to work my way to small sections of stains. I did the sections one-by-one. The process was a bit slow for me, but I thought that it worked reasonably well.  Hooray!



Read more »

ShareThis