Dallas Mom Blog and Fort Worth Mom Blogger: Trendy Mom Reviews
Disclosure: Transparency is important to us which is why you see this notice at the top of every page. Trendy Mom Reviews receives compensation for the posts on this site from brands or products. Our opinions are honest and our own. All Amazon links in our posts are Affiliate links. We are an Ambassador for these brands: Netflix, Cost Plus World Market, Best Buy, SeaWorld, and HP Moms.

Thursday, January 16, 2020

The List of 2020 Girl Scout Cookie Varieties in Here!




The 2020 Girl Scout Cookies are here! This is one of my favorite times of the year because it's wonderful to see people supporting the entrepreneurial spirit of young girls, especially here in Texas! In today's post, I'll share some details about the benefits of supporting the girls, tell you about the 2020 Girl Scout Cookie lineup, and share a link so that you are able to search for a Girl Scout Cookie Booth near you! I'll also tell you about where to get a FREE box of Girl Scout cookies when you donate blood.

Let's start with the benefits.  The Girl Scout Cookie Program provides financial support to Girl Scouts. When you buy cookies, you help to support their activities which may include a variety of things such as STEM activities, leadership activities, or other skill-based activities with their local troops. In some cases the funds even support sending the girls to camps!  Of course, there is so much more to it on a personal level. Girls view themselves as entrepreneurs. They may think about their business strategy and put many hours into their cookie sales which may provide confidence and foster their interests in business pursuits. They see outcomes!  Hard work translates to success which is a real motivator for many girls.  When you buy a box of cookies, you add to their numbers and contribute to their success.  Many small acts of kindness to support the girls add up quickly! I read that over half (53 percent) of female entrepreneurs and business owners are Girl Scout alums – like local business owners Andrea Meyer of Bisous Bisous P√Ętisserie and Nina Vaca of Pinnacle Group – supporting Girl Scouts as they make sales and learn essential business skills is imperative to ensuring our country has a strong workforce and economy.   

The 2020 Girl Scout cookies lineup includes traditional favorites such as Thin Mints, Trefoils, Tagalongs, Samoas, and more.  The newest cookies are delicious and inspirational -- combining a delicious lemon infused recipe with motivational sayings that reflect Girl Scout traditions of encouraging success.


The 2020 List of Girl Scout Cookies is slightly different for the Dallas and Fort Worth regions and include:


Dallas:
Fort Worth:
Lemon-Ups (NEW!)
Lemonades
Samoas
Caramel de Lites
Thin Mints
Thin Mints
Do-si-does
Peanut Butter Sandwich
Tagalongs
Peanut Butter Patties
Trefoils
Shortbread
Toffee-tastic (gluten free)
Caramel Chocolate Chip (gluten free)

Thanks-A-Lot

If you live in the Girl Scouts of Northeast Texas (GSNETX) region, the photo below shows the fantastic variety of cookies available in our region. The cookies are $5/box for general and $6/box for specialty cookies.


Here is a closeup of the cookies. 


The newest cookies this year are the Lemon-Ups.  These cookies are delicious and inspiring on multiple levels.  Here is the cookie description:
"NEW Lemon-Ups™ are available in select areas now! When you purchase a box of our crispy, lemon cookies baked with motivational messages inspired by bold Girl Scout Cookie entrepreneurs, you're helping a girl learn money management. She handles money, keeps records, even tracks orders—activities that are essential to running a successful business."
We love the messages on these cookies that give inspiration! Plus, everyone in our family tried them and raves about how amazing they taste.



The S'mores cookies were new to our family this year. These sandwich style cookies are delicious! Here is the description:
"Our crunchy graham sandwich cookies with creamy chocolate and marshmallowy filling (YUM!) are one more delicious way to support her next adventure!"

Of course, all of the 2020 Girl Scout cookies are amazing!  Check out the sampling below.  These cookies are not only delicious, but you'll also make a difference in the lives of young girls who are building their leadership abilities. It's a win-win opportunity for your family to stock up on Girl Scout cookies!


 
Finally, the Girl Scouts organization has a big heart to help young girls to grow into leaders, but also to help those in our community. If you donate blood through Carter BloodCare on select days (January 3 to 17,2020), you'll receive a special treat, a FREE box of classic Girl Scout Cookies courtesy of Cumulus Media and Carter BloodCare!

If you would like to support Girl Scouts in Texas,  find a local cookie booth near you by 


  • Find a cookie booth. Locate a Girl Scout Cookie sale in your community by entering your zip code in the “Find Cookies!” tool.
  • Download the app. Looking for cookies on the go? Download the Girl Scout Cookie Finder app for your iOS and Android devices. 
  • Order cookies online. Do you know a Girl Scout? Ask her if you can buy your cookies from her online site using the Digital Cookie® platform, now in its fifth record-breaking year!

Read more »

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Big Little Lies: The Complete Second Season is now available on Blu-ray & DVD!


Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this blog post. The opinions I share are my own.

Big Little Lies: The Complete Second Season is coming to Blu-ray & DVD on January 7!

If you follow regularly, you may recall that I am a big fan of Big Little Lies. The all-star cast includes Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Meryl Streep, Shailene Woodley, Alexander Skarsgard, Adam Scott, Zoe Kravitz, Jeffrey Nordling, Laura Dern, Kathryn Newton, Sara Sokolovic, Crystal Fox, and more.   They do an amazing job in this series!





This is a quick summary of the show that doesn't spoil any surprises:
On the surface, in the tranquil seaside town of Monterey, California, everything seems the same. The mothers continue to dote, the husbands support, the children remain adorable and the houses are just as beautiful. But the night of the school fundraiser changed all that, leaving the community reeling as the “Monterey Five” — Madeline, Celeste, Jane, Renata and Bonnie — bond together to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives. The darkly comedic drama will continue to explore the malignancy of lies, the durability of friendships, the fragility of marriage and, of course, the vicious ferocity of sound parenting. Multiple characters will be dealing with Perry’s death, and the prospect of moving past a life-altering event.
Here is a quick overview of the new release.
DVD BONUS FEATURES
The Lies Revealed: A. Conversation with the Cast’ Meryl Streep, Shailene Woodley, Reese Witherspoon,Nicole Kidman, Zoe Kravitz and Laura Dern share laughs and mimosas as they look back at Season 2 
7 ONE-HOUR EPISODES
1.   What Have They Done?
2.   Tell-Tale Hearts
3.   The End of The World
4.   She Knows
5.   Kill Me
6.   The Bad Mother
7.   I Want To Know
DIGITAL
The second season of Big Little Lies is currently available to own on Digital. Digital purchase allows consumers to instantly stream and download to watch anywhere and anytime on their favorite devices. Digital movies and TV shows are available from various digital retailers including Amazon Video, iTunes, Google Play, Vudu and others.
BASICS
Street Date: January 7, 2020
Order Due Date: December 3, 2019
BD and DVD Presented in 16x9 widescreen format
Running Time: Feature: Approx. 420 min
Enhanced Content: Approx. 36 min
DVD
Price: $29.98 SRP ($34.99 in Canada)
2 DVD-9s
Audio – English (5.1), French
Subtitles – English, French
Big Little Lies: Season 1 & 2 Twin-Pack
Price: $49.99 SRP ($57.99 in Canada)
4 DVD-9s
Audio – English (5.1), French
Subtitles – English, French
We hope that you enjoy this series as much as us! Don't forget that the home release is on January 7th!


Read more »

Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Easy DIY Dash Cam Tips from a Mom


DIY Dash Cam Tips from a Mom

If you follow regularly, you may have noticed that the NextBase 122 Dash Cam was in our holiday gift guide. I installed it in my car and raved about how easy it was to install and use.  Unfortunately, I did not find the time to install one in my husband's SUV soon enough. Someone hit our vehicle while our family was in it and then sped off.  We were okay and the damage wasn't too bad, but we were shaken up when it happened.  We quickly called the police and an officer showed up.  The experience caught us off guard and was a blur as we tried to share as many details as possible with the officer. There were actually other witnesses too, but none of us caught the license plate of the vehicle that hit us and drove off quickly.  The officer asked if we had a dash cam that may have captured the license plate number of the vehicle. He said that since they drove off toward the highway, he could alert other officers in the area. However, we did not have the dash cam in my husband's SUV and could not provide that information. We are now firm believers in the importance of dash cams. Not only do we have to pay for the damage to our vehicle on our own, it's unsettling to know that there is someone out there who would knowingly hit a moving vehicle with people inside and drive off without checking to see if they were okay. A good dash cam would have allowed us to clearly identify and report the driver.  In today's post, I'll share tips for setting up and using a dash cam. 


1. Select a good dash cam model.
Personally, we use the Nextbase brand of dash cams because they have an excellent reputation. You've probably seen them mentioned on the Ellen show's 12 Days of Giveaways and in other media outlets. Others recommended it to me, so I gave this brand a try and was very happy.

I started with the the NextBase 122 Dash Cam for my car. It offers 720p HD recording on a 5 layer glass lens and has a 120 degree viewing angle. Nextbase offers free cloud storage so that you are able to protect and secure your footage in a safe location. I was able to set it up and figure out how to use it in less than 45 minutes. We've used it during the day and in the evening. The images were great at both times of day. The other reason that we love it is that it is the most competitively priced dash cam on the market at $59.99.  


Featured Image

After our accident, we got two additional dash cams for my husband's vehicle, including both a front and rear dash cam.  This was based on the recommendation of the police officer and one of the witnesses of the hit-and-run on our vehicle.  While the NextBase 122 Dash Cam is fantastic and economical, we have the NextBase 422 Dash Cam for the front of my husband's vehicle: 

Featured Image


and the NextBase 322 Dash Cam for the rear of his vehicle:


Featured Image


They are both amazing options and we wanted to see the difference between the two. We went with the 422 in the front because it has the Emergency SOS service option, 1440p HDE resolution, and integrates with Alexa. We put the 322 in the back and it has amazing 1080p resolution as well as a GPS to tag videos.

2. Buy a model that is easy to install.
The engineers at NextBase seem to be perfectionists who pay meticulous attention to detail. They seem to understand that we aren't all tech wizards or necessarily into DIY car hobbiest projects. We installed three different models and each one was an easy-peasy and clean installation. I was initially confused about whether the wires would be distracting, but the way that you tuck them into the vehicle panels with the little tool that they provided created a seamless experience and it's hard to notice the wires. They look natural in our vehicle and none are exposed in a way that our kids would grab a wire or trip over one.  Routing the wire to hide it and keep it out of the way took about five minutes.

Routing the charging cable in our vehicle involved a few simple steps:


First, mount the dash cam just under your rearview mirror using the provided suction cup or adhesive.  Connect the USB charging cable to the mounting bracket. Gently remove slack from the cable while pulling toward the top of the windshield.  



Next, push the cable between the head liner panel and the windshield.  Continue to push the cable into this crack while moving in the direction of the passenger side.





Continue pushing it into place. 




You'll also go around the area near the door. (I didn't even realize that you could put wires through like this until I installed the dash cam!)



Route the cable into the paneling and down the side until reaching the bottom of the dash.  Route the cable under the dash.


You'll continue to your outlet. Personally, we have one in our console and in the front of our car. You'll route it to the most convenient one in your car. You will then plug it into your outlet.

3. Spend time with the user manual.
As I mentioned earlier, the engineers behind the NextBase dash cams seem to have thought of everything. These devices are actually quite amazing and you may not realize how powerful they are and that they offer many features such as WiFi and Bluetooth connectivity, as well as live video monitoring on your phone, and GPS.

4. Consider installing both front and rear dash cams.
The officer that met with us after the hit-and-run accident recommended that we get both front and rear dash cams. He said that he has seen an increase in accidents with the extra holiday shopping traffic. While we were hit from the font, the officer reminded us that many people are rear ended.  He personally has front and rear dash cams on his vehicle.

5. Use a dash cam with GPS built-in.
The included GPS in the 422 and 322 displays your current coordinates to the dash cam display.  This allows you to keep up with where family members are located (and possibly help with directions!).  The GPS is helpful to provide additional context to your videos.  In the case of emergency, the built-in NextBase Emergency SOS service will also use your GPS to route responders to your location.

We hope that these tips help you in your search for the best dash cam for your vehicle.  I wish that we would have had these installed before our accident, but I'm just grateful that my family is healthy. In the meantime, I followed the advice of the police officer who arrived at the scene when we were in the accident by installing dash cams in both of our vehicles. It was much easier than I expected and I am glad that we took the short amount of time to install them.
Read more »

Sunday, December 29, 2019

Tips for Caring for the Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessories + The Best Organizer for the Pouchette Accessories NM


The Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessories is in scarce supply. They no longer take a waiting list for it. You have to keep checking your local stores or their website in case you are lucky enough to see one of these coveted little purses show up in their inventory. After 11.5 months, I finally purchased one and absolutely love it! In today's post, I'll share some tips for caring for the Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessories. 


The Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessoires has gone up in value over the years. If you search eBay, you will notice that even 10 or 20 year old versions of this purse are popular. It's amazing that the demand for this purse is so high. It's a nice little item to keep in good condition. Let me share some tips to think about as you care for your Pouchette Accessories.

1. First, visit the Louis Vuitton website to read their guidance.
Louis Vuitton has a lot of helpful tips here.

2. Purchase an organizer.
You may typically think that shapers and organizers are only for more expensive or larger bags. However, an organizer is also a good idea for smaller purses as well. Not only does it help to stay organized, but a good organizer will provide some help in keeping the inner lining of your purse clean. For instance, here is a photo of the inside of the purse without an organizer. 


Personally, I love one of the most popular brands that you'll see pop up on the first page of google results - KD Australia. I ordered the KD Australia Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessories Organizer in Light Pink. It also comes in a variety of other colors.  This felt organizer is pretty and practical. It fits my purse perfectly, the felt fabric is durable, and the stitching is fantastic.  It helps to add some protection to the inside of my purse while also making it easy to organize items. I feel like the designer of this organizer is a perfectionist who must have studied the purse closely and then used their talents to create the perfect organizer. 


3. Be careful with the zipper on the Pouchette Accessories.
This purse is excellent quality, but when you look at used versions, you may notice that some of them have wear on the leather that is located near the end of the zipper. Make sure that you aren't overfilling your purse and stressing the zipper and surrounding area. (I know that it's a small purse and difficult to do, but perhaps use a different purse when you need more space.)



4. Don't store liquids or anything that may stain your purse if possible.
I have to admit that I have a mom purse that contains everything from emergency snacks for my kids to odds-and-ends that they ask me to hold onto.  When I carry my Pouchette Accessories, I won't carry baby food pouches or other items that could leak and stain. However, I will carry lipstick and worry about the lid coming off . I use the KD Australia Lipstick Pouch to organize my lipstick and to protect my purse from a potential stain. This is a cute little pouch that makes it easy to separate your lipstick or lipgloss from your other items. It's also easy to use it in other purses as well. 



It's easy to tuck into your purse as shown below and you may turn it 90-degrees for it to fit sideways or upright.



5. Don't overstuff your purse
It's a small purse, so I understand the temptation, but try not to stress test your purse.  I've even read that you should give your purse vacation time and empty it out to allow it to breathe whenever possible.

6. Be careful where you set your purse.
Set your purse in a secure area away from anything that may damage it. If you look at many of the used bags out there, you may notice that some have wear and tear around the edges.  You may also noticed discoloration from oils, liquids, and more. For instance, I sometimes volunteer to teach an art class. I set one of my purses next the sink and later realized that when the kids were washing their hands, they splashed water all over and my purse was eventually sitting in a puddle of water since I left it next to the sink. You should also avoid rough surfaces and contact with liquids, even including perfume. I also just ordered an adjustable cross body strap from Louis Vuitton for when I don't want to set my purse down in different situations.

7. Visit your local Louis Vuitton store for repairs.
Louis Vuitton charges for repairs, but they are also the experts at repairing their own bags.  You may possibly void any warranties by having outside work done. Always contact Louis Vuitton for advice first.

I hope that you enjoyed these tips. While the tips are meant for the Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessories, many of the tips may apply to other purses as well!  If you haven't purchased a Louis Vuitton Pouchette Accessories yet, I wish you luck that the stars align for you to find one in stock at a local store or online.


Read more »

Recipe: Toffee Fruit Dip


Recipe: Toffee Fruit Dip
This recipe is great for after school snacks, play dates, and parties. It is a great way to entice everyone to eat their servings of fruit for the day. 

Ingredients
  • 8 oz. of whipped cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of crushed toffee candy bars
  • Optional: 2 Tablespoons of crushed toffee candy bars for garnish
  • Optional: Serve with apples, grapes, and your favorite fruits
Directions 
1. Add the 8 oz. of whipped cream cheese, 1/3 cup of packed brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1/2 cup of crushed toffee candy bars to a medium size bowl or container and stir until thoroughly mixed.



2. Serve the Toffee Fruit Dip with your favorite fruit. 



Read more »

Saturday, December 28, 2019

A 30 Day Decluttering Challenge with Calendar and How Decluttering Changed My Life



I recently took on a 30 Day Decluttering Challenge that surprisingly helped me with anxiety and helped me to feel much happier.  I didn't realize how much this decluttering challenge would boost my spirits until I was a bit over halfway through the challenge and saw major difference.  Let me start with a quick overview of the challenge:

  • What: 30 Day Decluttering Challenge
  • Time Allocation: A minimum of 15 minutes per day for the duration of the challenge
  • How: Remove items from your home that you no longer need and consider using these methods to get rid of them:
    • Gift items to friends and family (We gave a lot of items to friends with children who are younger than our children. We emailed photos of available items on a weekly basis for people to claim what they wanted!)
    • Sell items
    • Donate items
    • Recycle or track items
  • Measure your progress so that you are able to reflect on your accomplishments:
    • Cubic footage of items removed
    • Amount of money for selling items
    • Amount of time spent on tasks
    • Keep a journal of what you completed each day
Personally, the consistency was important to me. Whether it was the minimum 15 minutes/day or a super productive 8 hours/day, consistent contributions made me feel like I was moving forward. I had days where I spent the entire day decluttering a room and removed as much as 7 cubic feet worth of items. I had other days where I only did the bare minimum of 15 minutes and didn't even declutter 1 cubic foot, i.e., I went through papers and shredded things or took items that I sold on eBay to the post office.  I kept a journal because it helped my motivation to reflect on my progress.  The daily journal contained:
  • Day (1...30)
  • Description of progress
  • Measurement of the amount of items removed in cubic feet
  • Amount of money received for items that were sold
  • Cumulative cubic feet to-date
  • Cumulative money to-date
I kept a written journal, but let me share a few graphs that show my progress.  You'll notice that there isn't really a trend to the amount of decluttering or sales each day.  While I set a goal to spend a minimum of 15 minutes/day on decluttering, I informally set a goal in my head to try to reach one cubic foot of decluttering each day.  However, I wasn't strict with the one cubic foot/day goal because I didn't know how much clutter was in our house. (It became more challenging toward the end!) As I mentioned earlier, there were days when I didn't reach the goal of one cubic foot/day because it took me a while to go through papers to figure out what to shred or scan. I also had to take items to a donation center or the post office which took time.  In the end, we decluttered 58 cubic feet. (I feel embarrassed to admit this, but at least the majority of the items went to other people who could use them and very little went to the trash. Having two children that outgrew various things accounted for a large amount of the space.) 

Here is a graph of my daily progress in terms of cubic footage.


Here is a graph of my cumulative progress in terms of cubic footage.



Another measurement of my productivity was the amount of money from items that I sold.  This was not one of my primary goals because I was much happier to give things away.  I don't enjoy selling items because I find the "people aspect" of scheduling and meeting up to be a hassle. I am also not a big eBay fan because I was once scammed on eBay and they sided with the buyer.  In any case, I did sell some items and surprised myself that the money added up quickly. Sure, I lost money if you think about how much we spent on items compared to the peanuts that we sold them for, but they were sunk costs of things that we really didn't use anymore.  For instance, my baby never liked his baby swing and it was easy to sell for half of what we paid. We paid $100 and sold it for $50.  In the end, we collected a good amount of money by selling items that were taking space without being useful to us.   (Again, I feel guilty that we had that much stuff just sitting around, but am glad that the items went to people who could use them and that we received some of our investment back from the money spent on the items.)

Here is a graph of my daily progress in terms of dollars.


Here is a graph of my cumulative progress in terms of dollars.



Now that you've seen my progress, let me share my decluttering calendar.  In general, I recommend that you do whatever makes sense for your personal situation, but for me, I thought that a calendar like this would be helpful for those days when I felt like, "I don't know what to do today..."  You will be able to skim my calendar and see if there is anything that make sense for your personal situation. You will also notice that every Wednesday was an "*EMAIL DAY." Throughout my decluttering, I took photos of items that I was getting rid of and sent weekly photos to family and friends to offer for them to take anything that I was cleaning out.  This was a fun way to keep my momentum since others enjoyed being part of my decluttering mission.



After completing a 30 Day Decluttering Challenge, I feel happier and realize that the extra "stuff" was causing me anxiety and weighing me down.  In some ways, I understand how it happened. Our lives have changed in many ways over the years. When we were first married, we had more time for recreation such as riding our bicycles together or individual projects like crafts, sports, and more.  When our children were young, they needed various things that they quickly outgrew. (That baby bathtub was truly useful for the first few months! The special infant carrier was also handy.  I don't think that I could have lived without our Baby Bjorn at the time. The list is long...)   However, where we went wrong was that we did not regularly reflect on the changes in our lives and declutter at the appropriate phases of life. We allowed clutter to build for several years.  These were the downsides of not decluttering sooner:
  • The clutter cost us space. 
  • The clutter cost us time in terms of cleaning or even when we needed to search for items that were hidden behind clutter. We even moved clutter from one house to another.  
  • The clutter cost us money as we could have sold many items for more if we sold them when they weren't as old.  
  • The clutter cost us a bit in terms of anxiety as we were surrounded by "stuff" and an ongoing thought hanging over us that we needed to declutter.   
Now that the decluttering is done, our home is cleaner and life is more efficient.  The outcome was wonderful for us.  It was a lot of work, but there were some bright spots along the way:
  • We emailed or texted photos of random items to friends and family to ask if they wanted anything.  I'm sure that they thought that I was crazy at times (like, what are you doing with so many Star Wars costumes?), but they appreciated our thoughtfulness and were kind to support us with the Decluttering Challenge.  It was fun when people wanted items.
  • We dropped off donations and appreciated that the items would probably go to good use.
  • We sold items to people who were often excited and appreciated the great deals.
  • We collected several hundred dollars that we put to good use
  • We were able to reorganize our home, including everything from entire rooms to cabinets so that things looked nicer and were easier to find
Now that the 30 Day Decluttering Challenge is over, I feel proud of my accomplishments.  It was easier to let go of "things" than I imagined. I surprisingly let go over some anxiety too.  I'd like to say that we purchase fewer things after the decluttering challenge, but really, our habits were never that excessive.  We are just better about letting go of things sooner rather than later.  For instance, once my husband finishes playing a video game, he trades it in promptly rather than letting games fill a shelf. Once soccer season is over, we donate the uniform and move on.  I've also held on to the "consistency" aspect of the challenge, but instead of decluttering for a minimum of 15 minutes/day, I spend a minimum of 15 minutes/day speed cleaning. I set a timer and clean as much as possible in 15 minutes. It's a great way to direct some of my energy!

Good luck in your decluttering endeavors. I hope that you find bright spots along the way and feel a sense of accomplishment!



Read more »

Friday, December 27, 2019

Recipe: Easy Enchiladas Using 4 Ingredients from a Texas Mom


Ingredients

  • 10 corn tortillas
  • 1 jar of enchilada sauce (We use the Trader Joe's enchilada sauce)
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of shredded cheese
  • Optional: 1 teaspoon of taco seasoning
Directions
1. Add two chicken breasts to a crockpot and cook on high for approximately 4 hours or until tender and falls apart easily when you shred it. Optionally, add a teaspoon of taco seasoning to the chicken while it cooks.

2. Preheat the oven to 350-degrees.

3. Spray a baking dish with cooking spray.

4. Shred the chicken.

5. Wet a paper towel and wrap it around the corn tortillas. Microwave for approximately 20 to 30 seconds, until they are easy to bend without cracking.  (You may also heat each one in a frying pan if you prefer, but we promised a quick and easy recipe here. I actually think that the microwave method is awesome!)

6. Fill each tortilla with shredded chicken, roll closed, and place in the baking dish.

7. Once all of the tortillas are filled and placed in the baking dish, pour the enchilada sauce over the enchiladas.

8. Sprinkle with the cheese.

9. Cover with foil and bake for approximately 25 minutes.

10. Remove the foil and bake for another 10 minutes.

11. Allow to cool and enjoy!  Refrigerate leftovers. 
Read more »

Recipe: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas without Onions


Recipe: Creamy Chicken Enchiladas
This recipe is dedicated to everyone that wants to join Cinco de Mayo celebrations but cannot eat peppers, onions, or salsa. 
Ingredients:
  • 1 pound of chicken breast
  • 1/2 package of reduced fat cream cheese
  • 8 ounces of Mexican shredded cheese mix
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • 1 cup of corn
  • 12 corn tortillas
Directions:
1. Boil chicken breast for approximately 15 minutes (or until fully cooked) and then add to your mixer bowl.
2. Place cooked chicken breast in mixer bowl using a paddle attachment and shred by mixing on a low speed until fully shredded.
3. Add the cream cheese, 1/4 cup of the cheese, ground black pepper, and cooked corn to the mixer bowl. Mix on low speed until evenly distributed.
It will look like this:
 
5. Add approximately 1/4 cup of the chicken mixture to each corn tortilla, roll, and place in a greased pan.
6. Pour cream of chicken on top of the enchiladas.
7. Top with cheese.
8. Bake covered at 350-degrees for 25 minutes.
9. Uncover and bake an additional 5 minutes.
Read more »

ShareThis